We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Simon's Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sophea Gallery and Tibetan Teahouse

Sophea Gallery and Tibetan Teahouse
2 Harrington Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great find in Simon's Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spotted this place after visiting Boulders Beach, and it was a real find, especially for a pair of vegetarians.
Beautiful, peaceful house and garden, good food, and calm, friendly atmosphere. We sat by the window, and there was a lovely view of the bay.
Meeting the friendly resident cat, 18-year old Bella, was a bonus!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful atmosphere, quirky setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the lunch I had here. The selection was good, interesting and this extended to the drinks on offer as well. The venue is tastefully decorated. The service was a bit slow but we were a table of ten. Really really enjoyed it, great choice for vegans / vegetarians.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheongju, South Korea
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A unique gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We popped in for tea and coffee one afternoon. We were pleasantly surprised by all the Tibetan/Nepalese culture. At times it didn't feel like we were having tea and coffee in sleepy little Simon's Town but rather in a quiet suburb of Kathmandu a continent away.

The menu is small but unique in that one can try new foods and drinks that aren't popular in these parts of the world. Furthermore, it's healthy food and that was of much appeal to us.

We had organic coffee and the salt and butter tea -both of which I can recommend. We had a scone and a cupcake. The scone was the size of my face and was delicious.

How often can one have a cuppa in a spiritual art gallery? Exactly. It's definitely worth a visit. We'll be revisiting soon again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing tea, tasty food and great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to this place on our way back from Boulders Beach. Great tea, warm and spiritual atmosphere. I ordered chai tea and a fresh and tasty salad. I would absolutely recommend this place. Very very relaxing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophea Gallery and Tibetan Teahouse also viewed

 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Sophea Gallery and Tibetan Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophea Gallery and Tibetan Teahouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.