We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Point

Cape Point
Simon's Town, South Africa
Improve this listing
Visit Cape Point like an insider
$53*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cape Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Long drive from Cape Central, 1hr 30mins. Beautiful National park with animals indigenous to the Cape. Indeed The Cape of Good Hope.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    134
    22
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Where two oceans meet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The locals told me actually Cape Point is not the very far end of the Africa continent, but this point has the best views and it's indeed the place where the Atlantic Ocean meets the Indian Ocean. I think each person who has ever been there would be proud of themselves, to be able to stand at the specific location of the whole earth!

And you should gain the chance to be proud of yourself!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great drive and fab view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The National Park is great to go around, the landscapes are fabulous, and there is some wildlife, we spotted ostrich and antelope.
At the Point are all the facilities you expect at a major attraction (toilets, cafe, shop, etc) and one of my favourite things - a funicular. It doesn't matter where they are they are just fun! When you get out at the top there is a little walk up to the top view point and it's well worth it. Looking back to Table Mountain and across False Bay is outstanding.
We got there a bit late to explore the many path, but we'll be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cape Point Light House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We climbed the light house located on the hill top and because of winter rain we decided to take the R50 ride. Even though it was not the southern most tip of Africa, it felt like one with huge waves on Atlantic side and calm ocean on the other side.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was one of the most astonishing views I have ever seen. We got there in the evening and the sun was low in the sky and it was really breath-taking. I can only imagine what the sunrise would be like there. Its definitely a place to visit if you like landscape photography with the light house and "secret radar station" high up over massive cliffs. It really was worth the visit! It is a nice place just to come visit and relax there for the day taking it all in !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Point also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.