We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizzas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pescado

Cafe Pescado
118 St Georges Street, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
0217862272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Vibey local restaurant in the heart of Simon's Town with the best pizza's in down South.Prawns and Calamari are our specialities. Situated in the old Criterion cinema(est 1921) and 1st Anglican Church in S.A.(est.1814) creating memories in a wonderful historical building!
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very casual restraurant seving nice food. Pizzas were the best choice.busy and buzzy . Good choice for families and reasonably priced. Service was slow but friendly and no problem to enjoy a drink and wait.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    54
    23
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simon's Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always open for good food til late.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We often visit Pescados and send many of our guests there. Good italian food , fast efficient service, reasonable prices. What we like that they are always open sometimes we drive past at 23h00 and they are still serving customers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have visited Cafe Pescado a number of times over the last few years. Good casual pizza/seafood restaurant. Wood-fired pizzas are delicious. Service can be a little hit and miss, ordered 2 starters and 2 pizzas - pizzas arrived before the starters - took a bit of sorting out so as not to get re-heated pizza!! Popular with ship's crew visiting naval base - great atmosphere and live music on some Tuesdays/Fridays.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good Wood Fired Pizza and Wines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ate at this restaurant twice druing our stay in Simon's Town. There were few restaurant options open since it was a South African holiday (Reconcilitation Day-Dec 18th) and most of the naval staff were gone for the long weekend. Our young adult children (20 & 23) liked the pizzas, and the menu had something for everyone. There was even a "scratch off" ticket wine promotion with each glass. We won a lip conditioner stick one night, and a "free glass of wine" the next. Very fun for our competitive family! Special recognition for our waiter, Law, who kept a smile on his face during a very busy night. On Friday night, there was a man/woman singing team in the separateback room smoking section. The lady kept looking out into the main dining room with an expressive, singing/nodding "come hither" look at men-that was a little strange. Cheers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

we had dinner at Cafe Pescado, they have a good drinks list. the food menu is maily Seafood, some pastas and Pizza. They had some curries on special as well. For a started we sharded a pizza bread with garlc on it. They have a wood fired pizza oven and you can taste it in the pizza base. We will definately go back for just pizzas.
For mains I ordered the chicken salad and was very impressed. It came with a lovely honey mustard sauce, the avo was fresh and had just enough peppadews in. Hubby had the double burger and enjoyed his meal.
The espresso's were not the best but drinkable
The service was friendly and fast.
The decor looks a bit dated like its from the 70's but it add character to the place

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pescado also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Pescado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pescado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.