We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try going in and coming out empty handed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sweetest Thing

The Sweetest Thing
82 St Georges Street, Simon's Town, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Try going in and coming out empty handed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I don't recall this little gem the first time I was in Simonstown 2 years ago, but I'm glad they're here now. Someone had recommended trying the patisserie so we had to check it out. I had an amazing almond croissant: soft pastry, delicious marzipan creme and sprinkled with almonds. Shame I did not discover it earlier on in my trip, I would have been in there everyday (not good for the waist line)!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pricey for the item that we purchased and not that good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

the custard tart was pricey too sweet and lacked flavor

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

A small confectionary coffee-shop on the main road of Simon's Town. The carrot cake and chocolate mouse browny was unbelievable! Don't miss it!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A sweet treat indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

For a sweet treat, excellent pastries, and also try their salmon scrambled eggs try this place. Easily overlooked, on the right when coming into Simons Town (yellow umbrella's) treat yourselves for a "sweet treat", well worth the stop

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Lovely little spot for coffee and 'sweet'. Really enjoyed it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweetest Thing also viewed

 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Sweetest Thing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sweetest Thing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.