We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Shark Expeditions

Apex Shark Expeditions
Quayside Buidling | Shop no 3, Main Road, Simon's Town, South Africa
+27 79 051 8558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 attractions in Simon's Town
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Join Chris & Monique Fallows of Discovery Channel's Air Jaws series on your own AIR JAWS shark tour. Experience a morning or afternoon trip to see the Great White Sharks of Seal Island breaching and hunting.Get up close and personal, view the sharks in their own watery environment from the safety of a cage - all this in one trip!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An extraordinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I spent a day with Chris Fallows and his team out of Simon's Town on Sept 11. This was an absolutely unforgettable experience that exceed my expectations in every way. These are top-quality people who genuinely care about the sharks and all the other wildlife in the bay. We observed the full range from Humpback whales to White Shark seal predation. The water was incredibly cold but ultimately very much worth it. If you have the chance to do this, do not miss it. And then, when you get home, carry on trying to protect sharks in every possible way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateAirJaws, Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Lovely pic! Thank you for the review.
Here's to looking after sharks and all marine life!
Karyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    9
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Chris and Monique were out of town, but their crew was top notch even without them. Besides the fact that the air and water were both identical 14C (chillllly!), everything else was spectacular. On the way out from Simon's Town we saw whales and dolphines, then we got to see two actual seal kills with breaches, and one more decoy breach. Sitting in a cage and having a great white come up to within one foot of your face was an unforgettable experience.
Karyn planned everything out, the crew took care of us on the boat, and the whole experience was amazing. Highly recommend APEX - they are the true keepers of these spectacular creatures.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stewards of the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Chris and Monique are not driven by money, but by exposing people to the wonderment and majesty of the great white and other marine life. They worked with me when the weather was not cooperating to switch days and found a schedule that worked. Karyn booked my trip online and the hotels that she chose for me were top notch and so affordable. Renee, who works in the shop was so helpful and approachable when I needed to change reservations on the spot. The crew that Chris chooses are male and female and are very knowledgable-but also local. Many of them grew up in the area and know it intimately-which is a bonus for people who want to know more about the area.
I saw predation, breaching from the boat, and several great whites from the cage on both days that I went-it was AWESOME.
To use another company would be to make the wrong decision for the experience. The best and by the way-not the biggest company. I also saw a group of humpbacks, seals, right whales, cormorants and penguins.
Unforgettable!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateAirJaws, Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
It has certainly been a stormy September and juggling schedules to accommodate guests whose trips has been cancelled is all part of the service. It helps if guests book their shark trips at the beginning of their vacation so that in the event of weather cancellation, and if there is space, we can reschedule them.
Thanks for the review.
Karyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Great White Trail, August 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I returned to South Africa in August 2013 to do another shark expedition with Apex. The Great White Trail began in Simon's Town and False Bay, and then we traveled to Mossel Bay and Gansbaai.

Once again, Chris and Monique and their crew were incredibly hospitable, knowledgable about the sharks, glad to answer questions, and were helpful in getting me and other guests suited up and in and out of the cage. They also had safety in mind throughout every trip; both the safety of the guests as well as the safety of the sharks and not letting them get too close to the boat or cage where they could get injured.

After seeing how another shark/cage diving operation was run in Mossel Bay, my opinion of Apex was made even more favorable. Chris and Monique strive to make their trips personal and go out of their way for their guests. From remembering guests' names to going to multiple spots in False Bay to try and find the best shark activity, their commitment is second to none. For them, this is more than a job, it is their life and you can tell they love sharks and all animals. That was the biggest difference between Apex and some of the other dive operations we encountered.

The crew was also very helpful and friendly, in addition to the office staff. The office staff was happy to arrange for drivers to take us on excursions when we weren't on the boat. I can't recommend Apex enough. I would be honored to return a third time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well Done APEX!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I can not say enough great things about our adventure with Apex in August 2013!!! Starting with Karyn who did an amazing job planning, organizing and coordinating a trip for our party of 6 coming from Ohio, California and Virginia. We booked a 5 day shark safari and only had one day cancelled due to weather, which is obviously beyond their control. Karyn even helped our friends plan their wedding at beautiful Boulder Beach! Chris, Jimi, Kat and the rest of the crew on the boat were fantastic! They seemed as excited as we were to see a shark as if it were their first time as well! Their enthusiasm for sharks and all marine life is contagious, evidenced by the fact there were several repeat customers on our trip! We also had an amazing land guide in Alistar who took us everywhere we wanted to go and filled us with knowledge of the area! GREAT TRIP!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateAirJaws, Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Apex thanks you for your recognition. We pride ourselves on our service, our passion for people and sharks alike.
Hope to see you back soon
Karyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apex Shark Expeditions also viewed

 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Apex Shark Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Shark Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Apex Shark Expeditions to your Saves list