We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great White Shark Excitement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Shark Eco-Charters

African Shark Eco-Charters
Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
27828382309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Simon's Town
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great White Shark Excitement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Your day begins at sunrise with a greeting from cheerful staff and a snug ride out to an island filled with seals and birds. Immediately upon arrival the crew begins spotting for great white sharks apexing in the area. When a shark is sighted the captain quickly moves the boat into a good viewing range. Following this exercise the boat began towing a seal decoy in hopes of attracting some shark action. On our two outings we were able to view a shark breaching the water. All the crew helped position passengers for views of the action and suggested spots for the keen photographers.
The last stage of the outing was shark cage viewing. This operation provides a dive mask and a dive breathing apparatus connected to an oxygen tank. This is real plus as the snorkelers are able to fully submerge and get a long observation of the sharks circling the boat. There was an excellent observation area on the upper deck over the cabin.
Staff gave great explanations about what was going to happen so that guests could position themselves and fully enjoy the experience. Nice simple lunch of meat or cheese sandwiches were available all morning.
Book two mornings if you have the time. Second outing is just as much fun and sometimes the weather will knock you off your scheduled departure. Very safe and competent organization.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for joining us here at African Shark Eco-Charters. Thanks for your review and we are so glad you had a good time with us and our wonderful sharks of False Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    17
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exciting stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you're thinking about maybe doing a great white shark dive, stop thinking and just book it! It's definitely worth it. Such a great experience.

Even though the water was choppy as hell and the weather was freezing cold (dress warm and then put another couple of layers on top of what you're already wearing), it was still worth it! Definitely take sea-sick tablets. Being sea-sick and missing the whole thing was my biggest fear (forget about the sharks...) but the tablets did their job and I was clear-headed and able to enjoy the scenery and the animals. Apart from the sharks, we also saw fish, seals, penguins and whales.

The sharks were a little sporadic on our trip and we didn't get many chances to view them for long periods of time, but we still saw them close up from time to time and were very impressed by the whole thing. We had friends do the dive the day before us and they got plenty of chances to take photos and film the sharks swiming around the cage, so it all depends on luck and what happens on the day you go out. Don't go expecting to see the perfect shark close-up, just hope to and you shouldn't be disappointed.

The staff are lovely and helpful, the banana muffins were a nice little extra and the smell of seal island was, well, gross, but they anchored the boat out of the smell so everything was great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for joining us here at African Shark Eco-Charters. Thanks for your review and we are so glad you had a good time with us and our wonderful sharks of False Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hudson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Must while in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a crazy fun experience! I will start out by saying, if you get motion sickness be sure to take your meds! The sea looked extremely calm on shore but was very different once out where we anchored.

The entire crew is very professional and provided good instruction throughout the entire morning. The journey begins with a 25 minute boat ride to Seal Island where you can see thousands of seals and begin to watch for shark kills. After awhile a decoy seal is pulled behind the boat and we were lucky enough to see a shark attack it which was very neat. We then suited up with our wet suits and all the accessories while the crew lures in sharks directly next to the boat. The view from the cage is incredible and is something you must experience if you are traveling to Cape Town. We would definitely recommend Eco-Charters to anyone!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for joining us here at African Shark Eco-Charters. Thanks for your review and we are so glad you had a good time with us and our wonderful sharks of False Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow! Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It's was amazing. Bring warm clothes... It's freezing! Saw 11 different sharks. Recommend, for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for joining us here at African Shark Eco-Charters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not even Speilberg could have written a better script”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

So I contacted ASEC before my travels to SA they organized transfers from my friends house contacted me the day before to confirm the trip was going ahead. I was picked up nice and early with some other potential bait and we were taken down to Simons town. We were quickly introduced to everyone and bordered the boat. The vessel was very well maintained clean with a small change rm and head it was a very nice boat. We were informed the day before to expect some chopy weather. We were taken straight out to Seal Island and managed to view 3 kills by sharks on seals they were explosive and fast. We had a shark attack our decoy seal. All through the morning the weather kept picking up and we had 3-4 mt swells running though rain and a bit of wind but we were able to anchor up and deploy the cage all the crew were very safety conscious and every step was explained in detail. we were provided with wet suits and had about 15mins each in cage with max 2 people. we had several sharks around the boat taking baits. Thankfully ASEC are the only company that supply you with a breathing line so you can stay underwater the whole time. The other company who were out on the day were ill equipt to anchor up so they were unable to dive and returned to shore early.

The dive it self was amazing i counted over a dozen sightings of 3 sharks taking baits comeing out of the murk and disapearing into the beyond.

Snacks and drinks were also provided on the boat.

Why go for the rest stick with the best will defiantly go again next time i cross the globe

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Wow, what an awesome review of African Shark Eco-Charters. Thanks a mill!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Shark Eco-Charters also viewed

 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to African Shark Eco-Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Shark Eco-Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.