We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simonstown Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Simonstown Guest House to your Saves list
Simonstown Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   20 Bennett Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent service and accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I chose this place based on the comments on tripadvisor, and it exceeded my high expectations. The whole place is beautifully set out, very clean and equipped with virtually any item you might need during your stay. My room had a full view on to the ocean, which was really special. It is also a very convenient location for spending time on the peninsula and within the broader Cape Town area. On top of this, Amanda and Mischa were perfect hosts, friendly, attentive, genuine and extremely helpful. Overall, a very professionally run establishment, with a relaxed, pleasant atmosphere, which I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
164
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great first impression of this lovely guest house. The staff were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. The rooms were very clean, comfomy beds and great showers. Good views out to see and an excellent breakfast served to start the day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms very comfortable with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is our Second stay at Amanda's Place & I must commend her for the excellent service and feel at Home way she always makes her Guests Feels. My Husband and I feel this will always be our little getaway place... Home from Home. We cannot wait for our next adventure there! We live in Cape Town in the Northern Suburbs & we feel like we've had a Special Holiday after spending some time here. Thanks Amanda you are a very special Lady!

Room Tip: All of the Rooms are beautiful & eceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Simon town is a lovely little town near Cape Town, where the pinguins are. It was a real joy staying there in this beutiful guesthouse that has huge windows overlooking the beach. The house is beautiful and our room was lovely. Tuely done in perfection. both the room itself as well as the bathroom were upmaket. So great to stay there. Amanda, our host is a lovely lady, she gave us excellent tips of where to go and what to do and we loved it. Breakfast was also very nice, including omlet, yogurt and great bread.
Its a real great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited Simon's Town Guest House for a three night break and were impressed from the start. Our emails with questions were answered quickly and efficiently and our room was soon booked. Upon arriving at the guest house we were welcomed by Amanda the owner and checked in very quickly. She gave us a tour of the hotel and the room which was very useful in showing us where everything was and how everything worked. We had chosen to stay in the Shawu room which was beautiful. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There was also a seating area in the room and both the bed and the seating area had magnificent views out over the ocean. There is a dressing area with wardrobe and dressing table leading into a massive bathroom which has not only a fantastic shower but also a large bathtub from which there are also views over the ocean. The room was very well equipped with laptop safe, hair drier, WIFI, tea/coffee making facilities and well stocked (and very reasonably priced) mini-bar.

Our tariff included breakfast in the morning which could be taken either in the stylish dining area or out on the terrace which was a real sun trap and had yet another stunning ocean view. We opted each morning to have breakfast on the terrace. Breakfast was very fresh and tasty. There were pastries, yoghurt, cereals, fruit and toast as well as hot options. The Full English breakfast was delicious and very filling - no need for lunch afterwards thats for sure!

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in Simon's Town. Amanda and her staff were always on hand to provide local information and recommendations of restaurants. We ate in some great places including the Food Barn at Nooerdhoek, Habour House Restaurant and Seaforth Restaurant all thanks to Amanda's recommendations.

We will most likely be visiting Simon's Town Guest House again next year :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Positives:
Big, comfortable room, with floor to ceiling windows looking out across the bay. Quiet neighbourhood.
Fantastic location from which to fully explore the sights/parks/beaches etc south of Cape Town.
Quite a new building, good breakfast and Mischa/Amanda are very welcoming hosts.
Negatives:
Not a lot within walking distance. Limited restaurant choices in Kalk/Simonstown but still enough to do the job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Absolute pleasure to stay at Simon's Town Guest house - our every need was catered for in the most professional manner - and the view from our rooms was amazing!!! We stay in Simon's Town at least 4 times a year and I will definitly be going back!! Thanks Micsha and Wonderful for meeting all our needs.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend that you take a sea facing room - the view over the bay is to BRILLIANT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simonstown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstown Guest House

Address: 20 Bennett Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonstown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for a relaxing beach holiday. Simon's Town Guest is comfortable, luxurious, modern and peaceful. All rooms are luxurious with supurb ocean views and ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have Air-Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Laptop Safe, Mini-Bar Fridge, Flat Screen T.V.'s with Satelite channels, Tea/Coffee/Kettle/Biscuits, Hairdryer, extra length beds, block out curtains, percale linen, percale linen, feather/down duvets, towels and some toiletries. Each room also has 2 single lounge chairs and a coffee table positoned by the large floor to ceiling windows for the perfect views. Whales can be seen from your room in Season and the most wonderful Sunrises and Moon shines!Breakfast is included and offers a very filling Continental and Full English (including Omelettes and French Toast) Breakfast. This can be eaten in the Guest Dining Room or the outdoor sea-facing courtyard.We even have a lift to help those with heavy luggage and off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Simonstown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstown Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simonstown Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.