We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside dinning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bertha's Restaurant

Bertha's Restaurant
Quayside Centre, 1 Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
021-786-2138
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 27 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Outside dinning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

What good value you get here it he food is always good and by cape town standard is quick, the staff are nice and willing to help you pick your food and wine to go with it

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    109
    49
    34
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location and the Melva pudding and chicken breasts are a MUST!
Staff are friendly and service was very good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location of this restaurant is very nice. The food less than average. Service is mediocre but staff quite nice. Salad small and came without any dressing. Fish not very tasty. if I am back in Simmons Town I will definitely not eat here as I am sure there are better options.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bertha's is back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have been eating off and on at Bertha's for the last 15 years. I am so happy to report that it is back!!!! 15 years ago, when I was first introduced to Bertha's, it was THE place to come for a quality meal in a superb location, on the Simon's Town Waterfront. Over the years I have been performing ( i am a musician) and sampling the food, and the Restaurant went through a serious dip, where I wouldn't look forward to my meal!

I am so happy to say, that under the management of Kerry Van Vuuren, the place has turned around completely! I haven't been here for the winter (since May this year) and Kerry has worked miracles! The food today was spectacular! The place looks amazing and I will definitely be back with my wife, to enjoy the setting, food and service.

Of particular mention was the beef fillet which was cooked to perfection! The desert was chocolate peanut springroll, so balanced when served with French vanilla cream and banana. Too delicious to count the calories!

Well done Bertha's and well done Kerry! Keep up the great work!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Popped in one evening for dinner and enjoyed our meal, service could have been a bit better, although our waitress was pleasant enough, we had to look for her a few times - she was a bit scarce! Otherwise a good restaurant and we shall probably return sometime.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertha's Restaurant also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Bertha's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertha's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.