We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Job!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheriton Guest House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cheriton Guest House B&B to your Saves list
Cheriton Guest House B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Belmont Rd | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Job!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at the Cheriton as part of a business trip to Simonstown Naval Dockyard, Denise & Dirk made my stay an absolute pleasure, they're very friendly and made me feel at home from the outset. The Cheriton's position couldn't be better, central to all the Cape offers, 5 minutes from town and overlooking False bay with spectacular views from the Veranda and Bridge reflecting its location. I fully recommend a beer in the sun at the end of the day either in the lovely garden by the pool or on the balcony with the stunning scenery laid out before you. The guesthouse has a nautical (naval theme) with very interesting collections and curios displayed throughout the house. Breakfast is a time for a joke and stimulating conversation with Denise and fellow international guests, which some mornings made it hard to have to go to work. I fully recommend a stay at the Cheriton and garantee you will return as I'll be doing as soon as I can - Keep up the good work Denise & Dirk and many thanks for the excellent service and a fantastic two weeks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
88
22
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We spent 4 days in the area of Simon's Town and warmly recommend the B&B of Dirk and Denise. Warm welcome in a wonderful environment.

Feel free to stop in this charming little spot.

Fabienne, Paloma, Lyne, and Jean-Luc Philippe from Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stumbled onto Cheriton as I was searching for accommodation in Simonstown. Being a walk in I didn't had much hope of enjoying a peaceful evening with a spectacular view.. Much to my surprise, that was exactly what I experienced at Cheriton.. Denise and Dirk welcomed me into their peace of paradise in SA.. Beautiful garden, unique decor and excellent service.. Undoubtedly an experience I'll never forget and two extremely hospitable hosts.. Thank you Denise and Dirk for everything.. Can't wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: Denise knows the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you are staying in Simonstown, you simply could not do better than to stay with Dirk and Denise at the Cheriton Guest House. We stayed for two weeks while in town for Shark Diving Tours, but thanks to our wonderful hosts we got pointed in the right direction for much much more.
The Cheriton Guest House is such a unique place filled with character in every corner, and you instantly feel welcome. We were fortunate enough to spend every breakfast on the enclosed balcony with the most magnificent views of the bay. Binoculars or telescopes are always by your side (at no cost) and you will need them as there is always something happening out on the water.
Denise's breakfasts are simply sublime and just what the doctor ordered each day for your adventuring or relaxing and she and Dirk will always take the time out for a chat and a story. The facilities they offer are second to none and well above what you would expect of a regular B&B (HAVE to thank them for the use of the bikes and drop off out at Cape Point for a wonderful ride back and not to mention a vast collection of DVD's for when you just want to lock the door and relax at night) The Cheriton is not in any way "regular". It is a wonderful, cosy, entertaining and charming guest house about which we have only kind words and fond memories.
We came away not only in awe of the wonderful town and surrounding lands, but with the feeling we were well looked after and well entertained, while still being able to do our own thing - and the value for money would be hard to beat. A rare treat and a must stay location....what are you waiting for??!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiev
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

“We had a fabulous holiday in South Africa staying in Cheriton Hotel in Simon’s town. Highly recommend the place. The owners Dirk and Denise are very hospitable and friendly people who created charming family atmosphere, which makes you feel very comfortable and relaxed. The house has got a nice garden and veranda overlooking stunning view of the town and False bay. While having breakfast you may be even lucky to see whales in season. Rooms are cozy and comfortable, we lived in a garden bungalow with an isolated entrance ,very convenient as you don’t have to bother people coming back late.
The place is just 5 min walk from famous Boulders beach and fantastic Seafront restaurant. On the way back you may enjoy the company of penguins who wander lower streets in search for food.
It is advisable to rent a car though if you plan to travel to Stellenbosch, Cape of Good Hope or Hermanus. Lovely nearby towns (Fish Hoek, St.James, Kalk Bay) are easily reached by commuter train, however walking distance to the station is quite challenging (around 45 min) so car still be handy.”

Boris & Inna (Ukraine)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
WE are glad you had a good time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Spent three nights at the Cheriton whilst working in the Dockyard. Denise and Dirk are very hospitable and friendly and full of great advice, rooms and the whole guest house is immaculate and full of old and Naval memorabilia. Good value and highly recommended. 10 minute walk to the quay and dockyard. Back in November.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
It is always good to know that our guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were warmly greeted and welcomed by Denise upon arrival. When entering the B&B the first thing we noticed was how absolutely beautiful and sparkly everything looked. The carpets are so soft that we sank about 3cm into the floor. The little dog is very friendly and will come up to and greet you with much tail wagging and bouncing. The larger dog was less excitable but still friendly. From the bedroom decor and comfort to the breakfast and everything inbetween we can honestly say that every detail and aspect is warm and inviting. It is the small touches and complete easy-going nature of the B&B that makes the stay overwhelming.

Room Tip: The Honest Bar is superb. Something out of a dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Thanks for your review, we hope to see you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Address: 19 Belmont Rd | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheriton Guest House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.