We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment for the price and ambience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant

Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant
4 Boulders Place, Boulders Beach, Simon's Town, South Africa
021 786 1758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 27 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Price range: $40 - $150
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
W. Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Disappointment for the price and ambience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was a wet and windy night and this restaurant was well known locally and abroad. he 6 person table we had 3 people pinned to the wall we coud not get out We had prebooked by phone the number Our menu choice was limited and did not represent the prices.listed
The Ice bucket for the white wines was placed on the floor and after asking for it to be on the table it remained so ,The view and Penguins is lovely. .Maybe our night was a difficult one

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    64
    13
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seafood palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Perfect location just in front of Boulder's Beach Parking. Therefore not to miss if you are planning to see the Penguin colony or swim in a small beach when penguins are coming back to shore (3 PM).

Seafood platter won't dissapoint you, R500.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lunch in a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a lovely morning on Boulders beach with the penguins and decided to have lunch at the Boulders Beach Lodge Restaurant. It was fantastic. We sat overlooking False Bay (saw a couple of penguins running around in the car park while we were there!) The lunch was delicious, all with really fresh ingredients ( and the other diner's lunches looked pretty good too!). The service wasn't particularly fast, but we didn't mind. It was such a great place to sit and enjoy the view. Also, we thought it was very good value. Recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality food with great sea views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have only had breakfasts here but it has always been excellent and the waiters are very friendly and give excellent service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I only had dessert (which was very good) and coffee, but my husband had a burger which he said was very nice. It was a nice looking restaurant, though the toilet wasn't as clean as I would have liked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant also viewed

 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.