We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liwonde National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp
Save
You added Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp to your Saves list
Liwonde National Park, Liwonde National Park, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

really enjoyed the overnight stay at mvuu camp, lovely ghalet, just sitting the on the veranda watching the elephants was terrific. our guide, macleod was excellent; do get up for the early morning walk, sneaking up on elephants in the early hours can't be beaten.

Room Tip: get a chalet facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

If we look back at our stay at Mvuu camp, we enjoyed perhaps the boattaxi drive the most. It says nothing about the experience of Mvuu itself, but all the more about the mighty river Shire. If you travel by public transport, like we did, you can be picked up in Liwonde town for roughly the price of a regular safaritrip. 45 minutes cruising the river, deeper and deeper into the heart of the park.

Countless hippo's (really, heaps of flesh on the riverbanks) and other animals drawn to the water and the lush banks. We had to slow down the boat and let a group of 40-50 elephants cross the river. Speechless. ' A rare sighting' the driver said, without looking up from his cell phone. I guess every job becomes a drag at some point.

We were impressed by the smoothness by which the to Malawian standards large camp is run. And the management is pleasantly present in the background, leaving the floor to the personel. They're very attentive, remembering the particularities of every single guest. Food was lovely.

Lovers of a quiet place away from civilisation might be surprised: when we were here in Juli, it was more busy then a Malawian town. There was even a souvenirmarket on the grounds and live music during the day. We shared the camping grounds with three British school classes. We were assured however, Mvuu can be more quiet off season.

If you have to choose one safariexcursion, go by boat, not by car. The river is what makes Liwonde so special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you Nienke for the great review. The boat ride along the Shire River is a great way to get into camp and it provides an exciting start to any stay at our camp. As you mentioned, the boat transfer is a 45 minutes trip on the Shire River where guests have the opportunity to view large populations of hippo lying scattered in pods, many crocodiles lazing on the sandbanks of the river and an array of bird life also make for an interesting trip. Often elephants come to the banks to graze and quench their thirst, and occasionally enter the river to cool off from the day’s heat. Whether coming in or going out by boat transfer, the experience is unique and a great addition to the wilderness experience.
Our camp can get quite busy during the high season we hope this did not deter you during your stay and would love to have you return and experience the quiet peacefulness we also readily enjoy.
Thank you again, The Mvuu Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is fab. Rooms are really comfortable, staff welcoming and accommodating, and the food is fantastic. I loved the chalets, right in the middle of the wildlife, the sound of hippos at night is something else...

The safari experience is also amazing. Having been elsewhere in Africa and seen the "big five", I didnt know what to expect - there's no big cats here. But wow, hippos and crocs galore, loads of elephants, and the experience of viewing from the water is brilliant. The wildlife experience is fab, especially if you like hippos walking past your chalet at night and warthogs playing in the kids playground!!

Right from the word go it feels a real experience - the approach by boat gives a wow factor that doesn't let up!

We travelled there with 4 kids, Mvuu went out of their way to accommodate their needs - we had our own boat and vehicle for safaris, so we were happy, and probably more so were the other guests!!!

Brilliant, well worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked the Mvuu Camp in Blantyre via Wilderness Safaris - an agent in town who was excellent. The drive to the camp was good. Arriving at Mvuu the receptionist - Veronica was absolutely wonderful and we had the best welcome ever. In our room we has a had written card welcoming us ahhhhh! Food was good, our driver and guide Danger and Sanford, the nicest men ever to have take you on a tour! It was my birthday and the camp leaders sang 'happy birthday' and presented me with a lovely cake!!!!! Unexpected and wonderful!

After a restful sleep in a clean, comfortable spacious bed(s), breakfast was nice and eventful - monkies trying to get food - brilliant. Knowledgeable Sanford took us on boat ride, saw birds, elephants, crocs, hippos, baboons etc Great, Great, Great!! Worth ever cent spent and more....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a great place to visit as a family. We were very well looked after from the moment we arrived and all staff were extremely helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable (we stayed in a family chalet) with all the amenities one would wish for. Their location is stunning as they are right on the river.
The game drives and boat safari were interesting and we saw plenty of wildlife, as well as enjoying the beautiful scenery. The best part was that we were grouped with other young families, which made the experience more enjoyable for our children.

And to top it all the food was always fresh and delicious, and the children were well catered for.

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have undertaken safaris before with Wilderness and this one too did not disappoint. The personal service is second to none - from the moment you arrive everyone (from the porter to receptionist to waiter to guide) introduces themselves and, remarkably given how many people they must see, they all remember your name! The chalets are spacious and comfortable and a nice combination of fixed and open (open enough that I could easily watch the herd of elephants eating about 2 metres from my tent in the middle of one night!), with views over the Shire. Game walks, game drives and boat safaris are on offer - as well as, I believe, opportunities to visit the local villages and sample some Malawian culture. Mvuu is great for seeing wildlife, given the proximity to the river (and late September is a great time of year, before the rains start) - in fact I've rarely seen game with such frequency in other places. Although they don't have big cats, I did see a couple of things I've never seen before (a genet, sable antelope and a huge variety of birds). I would definitely recommend Mvuu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Took visiting family to Mvuu for a few days and had a wonderful time. The chalets are comfortable and have a lovely little veranda to sit on facing the river - with great views of hippos, elephants and crocodiles.
The game drives were also great with a lot of game: elephant, waterbuck, warthog, impala, kudu, hippo and much more. The night drives were full of surprises: mongoose, porcupine, vivet & serval cat.
The kids had a wonderful time and enjoyed playing in the kids playground and being spoilt during meals.

Room Tip: The family room at the end (no. 10) is great for spotting wildlife from all directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp

Address: Liwonde National Park, Liwonde National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Liwonde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Liwonde National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst large, shady trees along the banks of the surging Shire River, Mvuu Camp offers a charming setting for those wishing to explore the country’s premier wildlife haven. Being Malawi’s largest river, the Shire attracts hordes of mammals and birds. Whether you are staying in one of our 12 attractive en-suite units or in the nearby campsite, you will find the atmosphere lively and dynamic. The impressive thatched dining and lounge area offers magnificent vistas over the river, framed by two large baobab trees. For those wishing to cool off in the midday heat there is an inviting pool. The camp is completed by a traditional boma for dining under the stars. Did you know?Since our inception into Liwonde in 1994, large areas of the Park have been rehabilitated; some 500 local people currently benefit financially from our camps.The diverse landscape includes relatively dry mopane woodlands interspersed with candelabra trees, patches of miombo, palm savannah and numerous baobabs on extensive floodplains and dense riverine vegetation.Your activities will include boating, game drives (day and night) and cultural visits to villages.Mvuu means ‘hippo’ in Tonga, referring to the large numbers that occur here. The Park is also home to elephant, rare black rhino, sable, waterbuck, Lichtenstein’s hartebeest and, rarely, lion.The prolific bird life seen include African Skimmer, Palmnut Vulture and White-backed Night-Heron. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp Malawi/Liwonde National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.