We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Malawi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn
Lake Malawi shore, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Short but Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for 1 day & night. What a pleasure. The food was great, the workers were very nice and the rooms were great (for the price and location). We were in a large group and they took great care of us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Used as a stop-over betwen Nyika and Mvuu Lodge, Liwonde. Very comfortable, rooms overlook the lake and beach. Good food, our lake Catfish Fillet in Beer batter was delicious. Worth a couple of days for relaxation if the trip has been busy.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a beautiful small resort situated on a lovely stretch of beach on lake Malawi. The beach has white sand, plenty of rees and very nicely furnished with local crafts. Food was also great. A bit pricey, but you certainly get your money's worth. All the staff were very polite and helpful. The only con was that none of the boats were working to explore more of the lake, so we did some kayaking instead. A memorable stay even if its pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a simple lakeside property in a stunning location. The beach is long and powdery sand. The rooms are unpretentious but clean and comfortable. The food is tasty and fresh and the service was amongst the best we saw in Malawi. The hosts, Donna and Steve, made the stay for us, being so friendly and helpful.
One caveat is that there is a campsite on the property which was empty when we stayed but I imagine if full could dramatically change the peace of the location.
Thank you Donna and Steve, see you again.

Room Tip: Number 1 has two rooms in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The view is fantastic, the grounds cared for, the beds comfy, rooms w patio doors facing the lake, lots of hot water, tasty food, and a down to earth lady managing the place, with an attentive assistant. The rooms are maybe the size you'd find at a Holiday Inn Express in the US, simple in furnishings, but has that tropical African feel. From the back (beachside) the rooms next to each other made me think of those simple motels in Kauai. From the front, the rooms were under a long terraced porch, and in the shade of trees that invited you in to relax. The seating on the property seemed to allow for space n privacy - on the grass and the beach. We worked out the price w the attentive assistant for 5 rooms, and had no regrets from that point on. Maybe it's b/c our team had been working for the last 14 days, in tight quarters, with about 500 lovely locals that this seemed such a height of luxurious rest for us. I think all 9 of us would stay here again! The only reason I did not give it an "excellent", is b/c the food, which was fresh, did take a long time to come. So we suffered in the warm sun on comfy chairs while we waited. :) Oh and I would add, that it is rocky beneath the shore line. If you get knocked down, that what you'll

Room Tip: You can ask to see the rooms. And look at the location of the building in relation to the beach, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I didn't stay here as we had already booked into the Samabani Lodge on a friend's recomendation - which was much cheaper and ok (separate review). But we came here to catch some sport on their TV and to eat. And they couldn't have been more welcoming!
We arrived on a Saturday just before 2. We told the waiter we would like lunch, but could we just see the end of the Lions Rugby Test against Australia on the TV first, please? Of course - he walked across to the camp site bar - maybe 150 metres - and opened up the TV for us. What was especially good is that he did it off his own bat, without having to ask.
We enjoyed an excellent toasted sandwich (with salad & chips/fries) for lunch and then returned in the evening for steak (probably the least exciting meal we had there).
On the following day, we walked to the Inn along the beach, enjoyed another toastie and sat down to enjoy the Wimbledon men's final - with sweet potato chips/fries! Dinner of fried kampango was excellent.
We did not see the rooms, so cannot comment on the accommodation, but the key thing for me was the warmth of the welcome and the level of service. We weren't going to stay, but that didn't stop them! Donna & Steve make an excellent management team and they have good staff, so I would have no doubt that you would not be disappointed if you go there.
Yes - I understand it is expensive to stay in a Wilderness Safaris place, but if you score people (both management and staff!!) for effort, then this deserves commending!
(Note - I rate this good value for food and drink, but cannot comment on accommodation value)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed for one night at the Chintheche Inn on my way back from Nkhata Bay to Lilongwe (business trip). The location is stunning and I can well believe the claims that it Lake Malawi's nicest beach. The staff was also very welcoming and professional. That said, I believe Wilderness Safaris rent the property from government, and the buildings are very dated. They've done their best to improve them in terms of contents (the bed was very comfortable, for example) - and I guess they are limited with the structure itself, but it could do with a thorough overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. Chintheche Inn’s location is truly stunning – probably the best beach on the northern lakeshore. Chintheche Inn is leased from government as a complete unit, the bedroom structures therefore cannot be altered or changed but we are in the process of soft refurbishments and a few little touches here and there will hopefully add to the charm of this great place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn

Address: Lake Malawi shore, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Malawi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its white sands, warm crystal clear waters and age-old fishing villages, the area around Chintheche Inn boasts some of the finest beaches on the lakeshore. With a backdrop of the Viphya Mountains, this shoreline is dotted with remnant patches of lowland tropical forest – a haven of bird life. Your accommodation is comfortably furnished with en-suite facilities and a patio leading out onto our lush garden with shady trees. The lawn slopes down onto the lake where you can spend hours either soaking up the sun or busying yourself with one of the many activities on offer. Meals and drinks are served in the dining area and bar, while in the evenings we regularly dine under the spectacular African skies. Did you know?Chintheche Inn closes for a month each year to host Children in the Wilderness programmes, dedicated to helping local children nurture life skills along with a love of their natural heritage. Palm-fringed beaches and soaring mountains surround the waters of Lake Malawi. Miombo woodland and baobabs are present.Water sports at Chintheche include diving, snorkelling, windsurfing and sailing. Land-based activities such as guided walks, mountain biking or cultural visits are fascinating.Mammals such as baboon, vervet monkey, dassies and hippo are most commonly sighted.Over 100 bird species are found here, particularly waterbirds such as African Fish-Eagle and White-breasted Cormorant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn Lake Malawi National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn to your Saves list