We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover on the way to Samburu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serena Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Serena Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Serena Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 48690, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stopover on the way to Samburu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We used Mountain Lodge as a stopover for our journey from Amboseli to Samburu. The lodge is a very old school, wooden property and feels just amazing to live in. Our rooms were a bit cramped though and the triple we got didn't feel like a triple. It felt more like a twin with a third bed thrown in. That said, it's a nice place to just relax. There's birds around all day and right outside our rooms was a view to the waterhole. We also had a great balcony from which we could view the genets at night. The lodge has created a game viewing tunnel to see and photograph the animals that come to the waterhole and I can imagine that would be quite productive at times. I was a little disappointed by the baiting though. It seemed like a lot of animal behaviour had changed because of the bait. For example, the genet cats came each night to find the piece of meat the resort staff tie up for them on the platform. Similarly the floodlights changed the behaviour for the slaty flycatchers who were now active at night trying to catch the insects that the lights were attracting.

The food was decent, but like other Kenyan lodges, they kept forgetting my meal preferences.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    106
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
112
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mtwapa, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Its a lovely wooden lodge set on the foot of mount Kenya. It was my first in june last year. We went on a weekend with my hubby for a night, not more as it was tooo cold for me. The rooms are small lovely and just beautiful. The food was so nice, different variety and so tasty and nice. I Did not see many animals because of the forest cover, only a few elephants, birds and in the night a serval cat came to its feeding point. Am glad as much as it was cold, the staff did try warming up the room and coffee, tea or hot chocolate was always available all day.
The only dissapontment is some men from the British army did come and they were just ruthless and noisy and the management could not do anything about this, so we had to complain to the head office.
But i love this place and will definately be back again.

Room Tip: They are all nice no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The lodge itself was really nicely set with the animals visiting the watering holes the food was nice and so was the bar.
The main issue we had was when we booked we were guaranteed a room with a balcony as these have easy access to the main facilities and my mum is classed as disabled and theres no lifts in the building. We got put on the bottom of the lodge down three flights of stairs with no balcony just a window. The gentleman on reception did not care and said they were full even though other people in our tour were given these rooms and had no problems with stairs etc. This meant we just stayed in our room with just a window no balcony till breakfast lunch and dinner as my mum could not do the stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We traveled form Masai Mara to Mt. Kenya and were greeted by lush foliage and monkeys! The "Do Not Feed" signs were completely ignored. This is a more rustic Serena property as it had been recently purchased by the chain. What Serena did do, was train their staff. We were greeted w fresh juice and towels to freshen up. Room was adequate, but the view..OUTSTANDING! We had a glass wall overlooking the animal watering hole in back. As we were relaxing, we spotted elephants, and water buffalo coming out of the forest to the hole. Priceless. Again, room and hotel..eh, but clean and service impeccable. Food was excellent and a great variety. There was plenty of bottled water throughout the room and hotel. Highly recommend !

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking watering hole!! We had one w a glass wall, but others have balconys. Monkey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is located at excellent location near a water hole, overlooking Mount Kenya. They have a very good concept. There are many viewing galleries including the balcony of your own room. You do not go on game drive, but you can watch animals from your room or the other galleries. The restaurant is very good. They offer nature walk (at extra cost) & slide show (free). Both are worth attending. Free Wi-Fi is available in the room.

Room Tip: It is fun watching animals at night from your room. Go for the slide slow - very informative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPaso
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our stay here was at the beginning of our journey. It offered a peaceful, quiet and relaxing atmosphere which we needed since we arrived in Nairobi the night before and was still experiencing jet lag. The Mountain Lodge is in the mountainous rainforest area so the weather during the day is cool and damp with some showered and nights are cooler with rain. The dining area has a homey atmosphere and the food was fresh and all delicious. Evenings are spent exchanging photos and stories of the day with other guests while enjoying a Tuskers Beer at the bar area. A great place to rest to view and listen to the beauty of nature.

Room Tip: No tip needed to select a room. They are all similar and all have the same view to watch the wildlif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was there the week after Easter. As people have stated, the lodge is quiet, relaxing and peaceful. All of the employees are wondeful and the food was great. However, the structure is made of wood and noise goes straight through the walls. We were there during a slow week and they should have place guest with empty rooms in between. One of our fellow guests had a room next to a quest that snored all night and kept them up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serena Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Mountain Lodge

Address: PO Box 48690, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serena Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 2,194 metres on the slopes of Mount Kenya, Serena Mountain Lodge is surrounded by a dense rainforest that comes alive at dusk with a myriad of sounds that make the African bush so special and exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Serena Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Hotel Mount Kenya National Park
Serena Mountain Lodge Kenya/Mount Kenya National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serena Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.