We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Romantic Weekend Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barney Creek Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barney Creek Cottages to your Saves list
Barney Creek Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Seidenspinner Road, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Romantic Weekend Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent a lot of time shopping around for a romantic weekend away (Nov 15-17) for me and my boyfriend and the Barney Creek Cottages did not disappoint. We stayed at the Hill Station, and it was utterly gorgeous and perfectly clean throughout. It was a beautifully designed, renovated train station based on the Orient Express. The four-bed, double spa-bath and little dining nook that made you feel like you were dining by candlelight on a train, were the highlights. The front porch was our ideal spot for champagne breakfasts, and the back balcony was our go-to area on an evening after dinner to take in the moon and night sky.

I had a hard time deciding between the Lakeside Bungalow and the Hill Station, but ended up going for the latter because my boyfriend is pretty tall (6' 5") and the Hill Station was a little more roomy and had the double spa bath. We were told beforehand that the bathroom door couldn't close completely, but this wasn't a problem for us at all. We also got a free bottle of wine for the inconvenience!

We had the Wine & Dine package which came with a wine tasting, full breakfast baskets for both days, and we had a yummy lamb dinner waiting for us in the slow cooker when we arrived on Friday night. We also opted for the BBQ dinner basket for the second night. We had more than enough food for both days! I hear the massages are great value as well.

Tamara and Daniel were lovely hosts! They let us look at the Lakeside Bungalow before leaving, and it's also a little stunner, right on the lake full of lilypads. We're definitely going to stay there when we visit again next year! We highly recommend this place for any couples looking to escape, unwind and reconnect for a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosyMtBarney, Manager at Barney Creek Cottages, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Danielle
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. So glad to hear that you enjoyed the Wine & Dine weekend in the Hillstation. The wine tasting with you both was heaps of fun and certainly one we won't forget! It was lovely to meet you both and we really look forward to seeing you both again next year. :-)
Tamara & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A wonderful location, peaceful with great views but spoilt by rather dusty rooms and very poor kitchen equipment which needed washing before using, also the bathroom door would not close. What a pity to spoil a potentially stunning place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosyMtBarney, Manager at Barney Creek Cottages, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Firstly, we would like to say thank you for taking the time to write a review. They help us to determine our good points and also the not so good that need a bit of attention.
From the beginning it was clear to us that Barney Creek might not have been the ideal location for your holiday. We have the ideal location for people looking for peace, tranquility and seclusion away from the business of mainstream society, but not for those looking for attractions at the back door. And being from another country somewhere with more tourist attractions may have been preferable.
After booking in for a massage and then not showing up at all, we grew worried and came to make sure that you were both OK... It was at this point you advised us that you would not be attending or rescheduling. This would normally incur charges in accordance with our cancellation policy, as you seemed so unhappy with our facilities in this circumstance we decided not to charge the cancellation fees.
Due to severe weather recently some of the floor boards underneath the cottage have lifted slightly, which had prevented the door from closing easily during the length of your stay.
The issue with the bathroom door has been rectified but you will be glad to know that the Hill Station is up for an overhaul in the lead up to Christmas.
As for the kitchen equipment... we rely on guest feedback to continually improve our facilities and therefore appreciate your comments.
Living in the country has many perks but also some downfalls for example dirt roads that cause a lot of dust around the place. We do take care to dust while cleaning and also before guests arrive. Dust does resettle though no matter what we do!
We do meet 99.9% of our guests’ expectations and often exceed them, as can be seen on other trip advisor reviews both before and after this stay. We hope that these reviews will help others to determine whether Barney Creek is right for them.
We would have greatly appreciated the opportunity to rectify your concerns before your early departure.
Here at Barney Creek we want our guests to relax and rejuvenate, we do our best to make this possible - but communication is always the key.
We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels and have a safe trip back to England.
We appreciate feedback (both good and not so good) and we try to take positive action to rectify our shortcomings!

Cheerfully
Tamara & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Following up the review of my brother (Krispy in September) I'd heartily recommend the Garden Cottage for anyone in a family group (say 2 families with different-age children) wanting to have a relaxing holiday in the shadow of Mounts Barney and Maroon. We stayed there 2 nights over the last weekend of August.

The cottage was well-equipped and comfortable. A plus for us was being able to sit on the outside deck built to overlook Barney Creek, which is a real asset to the whole property. Also the outdoor fire pit provided everyone with an evening fire on which to roast marshmallows.

Our host Tamara was very receptive to our needs, and flexible wrt to children and sleeping arrangements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely weekend at the Lakeside Cottage at Barney Creek Cottages. We celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary. The cottage was so quaint and beautifully decorated with Balinese decorations. The small lake was relaxing to sit beside on our verandah and listen to the frogs call. We climbed Mt Maroon on the Saturday which had a great view. Tamarra looked after us with fresh bread and a delicious breakfast hamper and a yummy slow cooked meal to finish the day. It was a fantastic experience in a beautiful location. We would highly recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: The Lakeside cottage is the most private and tucked away, next to the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beside a beautiful creek, tucked into the foothills of Mt Barney and Mt Maroon, Barney Creek Vineyard Cottages was our base camp for a climb up Mt Barney and a great place for the children to hang out and have adventures. Two families stayed in the Garden Cottage which was more than big enough and rather delightful! We really liked the homely touches like the board games, indoor and outdoor fireplaces and the well equipped kitchen.

Tamara is a mother herself, and was extremely hospitable and caring to our kids, really going out of the way to make sure they had a great time. We spent hours in the creek that bubbles along the side of the property and playing in the gardens.

I cant't think of any negatives.

We will definitely be back for an annual fathers' day weekend away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden cottage. With three bedrooms, it has more than enough space for a family or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a fantastic weekend we just had! I already love the Barney area but staying at the Hill Station was just such a treat. The accommodation was cozy, unique and very comfortable. The views were amazing. The breakfast and dinner hampers were delicious. Tamara, Daniel, Jeni and Barry were very warm and accommodating hosts. Thank-you to you all for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The Hill Station is very private and sunny in winter with beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

To Tamara and Daniel, and fellow staff.

What a wonderful young couple you are to know. Michael and I have been doing the World Apart Food and Wine tour for the past two years. And Barney Creek Vineyards has been apart of this since we have been camping at Mt Barney Lodge.

When we first arrived at the vineyard we were impressed with the lay out of the cottages and vineyard. Sitting and relaxing in the vineyard gardens we were able to establish a friendship with another couple who were also camping up at Mt Barney Lodge.

We were able to sit and enjoy a tasty cheese platter and wine after the wine tasting which we found to be informative and relaxed as they explained there wines and gave you the opportunity to enjoy samples from the vineyard which is just a short walk up the pathway.

Deciding to have our "wedding reception" here was a big decision for any couple to make. Being able to sit and chat Michael and myself were so comfortable and reassured with the management we decided to have our reception at your vineyard.

The cottages are wonderfully set out and privacy is definitely something your guests are able to enjoy.

We thank you for your professionalism and kindness you have shown to Michael and myself. We would have no problems in recommending future guests to the vineyard and cottages. Michael and I will be back shortly to enjoy our engagement shoot and the World Apart Food and Wine tour in 2014.

Elizabeth and Michael

Room Tip: Choose any they are WONDERFUL
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barney Creek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barney Creek Cottages

Address: Seidenspinner Road, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Barney View
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Barney View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barney Creek Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barney Creek Vineyard Cottages has been offering guests secluded accommodation in a world heritage region for over 15 years. The Lakeside Bungalow & the Hill Station offer spas, bathrobes, and decks with stunning views & are ideal for couples looking for seclusion, romance & pampering. The Garden Cottage sleeps 6 in farmhouse comfort with its shingle roof verandah & a piano for rousing singalongs. Three bedrooms include 2 queen size beds & 2 single beds. All the cottages have full kitchens and barbeques for those who wish to self cater, along with woodfired heaters, CD and DVD players and a selection of music, movies, games and reading material. Breakfast, BBQ or Slow cooker hampers are available if required. Our wines are available in the cottages or join your hosts for a wine tasting and antipasto platter on Saturday afternoon. Enjoy quiet walks, birdwatching, swimming, fishing, spying the platypus at play or walk to the hilltop & watch the sun set on Mt Barney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Barney Creek Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barney Creek Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.