We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Year in a Row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat to your Saves list
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
1093 Upper Logan Road, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Third Year in a Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Mt Barney Lodge never fails to deliver. This was our third year with 6 other families and we had a great time. We booked both camper trailers and the other families set up tents around our trailers. Innes and Tracey are wonderful hosts and very accommodating. They share a wealth of knowledge regarding all adventures around the Scenic Rim. This trip we had some of our younger members of our group doing the beginner rock climb for the first time. Cameron was great with the kids. (Tracey's Lemon Meringue Pie was a treat with hot chocolate up at the climb). The older teenagers of the group did the Golden Staircase Abseil and were not disappointed with the event. Once again Cameron was on hand to offer his expertise in the activity. As parents of the boy's we were able to trek in with them and watch the abseil. Once again our younger children did the night adventure.... the scream from the group at the start is the sound of pure enjoyment by the participants. We had 5 nights at the campsite and the kids always looked forward to the toasting of marshmallows each night around the campfire.....as well as some spooky stories. Lot's of space for the daily game of touch football in the camp site as well. The amenities as usual were very clean and tidy. Rubbish is collected each day from the campsites. We had daily visitors also... a kangaroo, goanna and the possums at night. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our trip away. Thanks Innes and Tracey

Room Tip: The camper trailers have a great view each morning of Mt Barney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hubby and I took our 2 kids (2 year old and 2 months old) and our campervan for its maiden voyage to Mt Barney lodge. What a wonderful place it is. Apparently the campground was 1/3 full but it is one of these magical bushcamps where you barley notice there are neighbours around. The amenities were fantastic and there even was a fresh bunch of wild flower in the wc and fresh towels to use).

We stayed the weekend and just relaxed (no climbing Mt Barney for us). We went and swam in the creek (wonderful with kids, just a 6 min walk from the campground) and went for a 1h bushwalk to the rockwall in the late afternoon where we found 2 wild lemon trees.

The evenings were spent around the fire pit where we ate our 12h slow cooked lamb in the camp oven.

Couldn't have been better. Thanks Innes and Tracey and their team for making this place so wonderful,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We trekked up Mt Barney with Innes and Cam - amazing experience! Wonderful caring guides, beautiful sights and a sense of achievement when we reached the top. Really strongly recommend this if you stay at the Lodge!

Room Tip: Recommend booking this trek in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The owners at Mt Barney Lodge were wonderful. They were more than happy to help us plan the best way to get around the national park and gave us heaps of useful advice. Location was awesome. Facilities were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have very stressful jobs in the city and our escape to Mt Barney Lodge camping is a perfect weekend in the country We arrived just before dark there was wood available for a warm cosy fire . The camp site is always clean the showers always hot . The managers are friendly and available for a good service. i feel it is a really peaceful place, relaxing and close for several scenic trips and bush walking this is our fourth visit here.we have been here all seasons and each time it is not too crowded and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be guided up Mt Barney by Inness Larkin and Cameron via the south east route. It was a challenging trail but led with great expertise and with respect for the environment. Those of us who were less keen on altitude were guided with great care and we all summitted inspite of our fears! The views were majestic and so worth the journey!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our stay was to celebrate my husband and son's birthday. My hubby and I stayed in the camper trailer while the other faamily members bought there own tents and camper trailers. As we sat down at the camper trailer the view of Mt Barney was a site to behold, it took our breath away. The camper was well set up only bringing food and bedding and was amazingly warm even though it was really cold and windy outside. Some of us did a walk up one of the trails and felt so refreshed with the wonderful clean and fresh air. We are now planning another trip back in the warmer months.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat

Address: 1093 Upper Logan Road, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Barney View
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Barney View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Barney Lodge is family friendly, and has adventure activities for kids and adults including rock climbing, abseiling, kids night adventures, guided and self-guided bushwalking tracks, sunset ecotours and mountain guiding and expeditions. Situated at the base of Mt Barney within the Scenic Rim, Mt Barney Lodge is an Ecotourism retreat that offers self contained accommodation and optional meals. Relax in one of our Queenslander Homesteads, Rustic Cabins, Deluxe Camper Trailers, or try camping. Mt Barney Lodge is the perfect family destination with full creek frontage, open fireplaces, shade and a grassy camp ground. Qualified outdoor leaders run childrens’ adventure activities during holiday periods and weekends. Kids can play independently, ride their bike, and visit the farm animals who are helping with the permaculture garden. Mt Barney Lodge is perfect for small conferences, meetings and team building workshops. Groups are welcome with 46 people able to be accommodated in beds across the 6 venues.This wilderness experience is 90 minutes drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.