We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat to your Saves list
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
1093 Upper Logan Road, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
1 review
“Easter 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This was our 4th Easter at Mt Barney and has now become a tradition for our group of craft enthusiasts. We love sharing our time with Caitlyn, who has become a very talented and inspirational artist - she gives us all encouragement and advice and I'm sure she will become a budding artist in her journey of life. The Boat Race organised by Tracey & Innes, is not only a chance to explore their beautiful property for suitable products to use in constructing our boat, but a fun time to mix with the other campers and enjoy their company. Rathdowney Show on Sunday was also lots of fun and reminds us what country hospitality is all about. The only activity we missed this year was our hike, so we're hoping to climb Mt Maroon next Easter.

Room Tip: Booloomoola has 3 beautiful bedrooms so perfect for our group of 6. One of the rooms is perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

What a wonderful setting, at the base of Mt Barney and near a lovely creek ideal for rockhopping. Hosts were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

As always the stay was fantastic. Adding a couple of extra days to the usual easter creative stay was just what was needed. Relaxing on the verandah taking in the sights of Mt Barney what better to spend our time. Joining the other guests for the annual boat race was the highlight of Easter Sunday and we came in second place. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

What a glorious Easter!
Fabulous weather, excellent surroundings, exciting events shared with fantastic friends. It was so wonderful to catch up after being away for more then 18 months. Oh the withdrawals!

Who would have thought that there were 100 people staying there? It was only at the annual eco boat race down the Baby Logan River that we met up with everyone!

Innes, Tracey and the team have a wonderful tradition for looking after their guests and I know it will continue for a very, very long time!

Room Tip: Check the website for weather conditions as the temperatures can vary greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This homestead at Mt Barney Lodge was a perfect spot for our large family gathering. The accomodation was clean, cosy and well equipped. The large verandah provided a beautiful area to relax and look at the view. All our email enquiries were answered efficiently by Nea who also provided plenty more information regarding bushwalks on our arrival.
We will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a lovely place to get away for the night. Super friendly staff, beautiful clean facilities and a view that takes your breath away. We have stayed here 3 times in the last 6 months and plan to return many times more.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Can't praise the location, accommodation and facilities too highly. Owners Innes and Tracy were a pleasure to meet and converse with. They are also deeply committed to environmental protection and preservation of the ecosystem.

We stayed 2 nights in Henry's Hut, which was simple, very clean and comfortable. Everything needed in the kitchen and for the patio barbeque was provided (except for matches to light the gas stove). The innerspring matresses on bunks and double bed were really comfortable. The amenities blocks were very clean and spacious.

The DIY barbeque breakfast was superb. Next time, we'll order ahead from the Menu rather than bringing pre-prepared meals to microwave. The Lodge is quite a distance from shops and service stations, so travel prepared and drive carefully on the unsealed sections of road, watching out for cattle as you go.

Our stay was primarily for relaxation and serious photography. We left feeling we'd like to have stayed longer, but also feeling we'd been away from the city much longer than 3 days. Can't wait to return to this beautiful location and wonderful Mt. Barney Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat

Address: 1093 Upper Logan Road, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Barney View
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Barney View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Barney Lodge is family friendly, and has adventure activities for kids and adults including rock climbing, abseiling, kids night adventures, guided and self-guided bushwalking tracks, sunset ecotours and mountain guiding and expeditions. Situated at the base of Mt Barney within the Scenic Rim, Mt Barney Lodge is an Ecotourism retreat that offers self contained accommodation and optional meals. Relax in one of our Queenslander Homesteads, Rustic Cabins, Deluxe Camper Trailers, or try camping. Mt Barney Lodge is the perfect family destination with full creek frontage, open fireplaces, shade and a grassy camp ground. Qualified outdoor leaders run childrens’ adventure activities during holiday periods and weekends. Kids can play independently, ride their bike, and visit the farm animals who are helping with the permaculture garden. Mt Barney Lodge is perfect for small conferences, meetings and team building workshops. Groups are welcome with 46 people able to be accommodated in beds across the 6 venues.This wilderness experience is 90 minutes drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.