We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTAL DUMP!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Lacrosse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Lacrosse to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Lacrosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5100 North Stateline Ave, Texarkana, AR 71854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Texarkana
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“TOTAL DUMP!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place was a Disaster! We were traveling through on the way home from a business trip and decided to stop in Texarkana for the night. I called ahead to the Clarion and checked on avalailability and reserved 2 rooms. When we pulled into the parking lot the outside of the building looked pretty nice and thought we had made a good choice. BOY WAS I WRONG!
The clerk was friendly at check in and gave us our room keys and told us of a side entrance close to our rooms. When we opened the door to the hallway we were immediatley hit with a very STRONG Smoke odor. Our entire team immediatley went.."Ewwww!!" It was horrible smelling. Once in our room we immediatley noticed how small the beds were and how old and outdated everything was. I could hear traffic outside very clearly as if the window were open. I walked over and pulled the curtain back to discover that the entire window casing was broken and the window was sitting there tilted. There was about a 1/2 inch opening at the top that was opened straight to outdoors. There was no way that window was shutting. Upon touching it I realized that the entire window pane was just sitting there propped. If I woould have pushed forward the whole thing would have fallen out. The back of the door was in desperate need of a paint job. There were marks and stains all over it. In the bathroom I shut the door and there was a long black hair stuck to it. When I went to turn on the water at the sink the entire faucet was undone and loose. You could pick up the whole faucet out of the sink. There was a hole in the wall behaind the toilet. I mean this place was literally falling apart and old. Like i said earlier. A DUMP!! I realized I had forgotten to ask if there was a rollaway cot available for our room. I travel a lot and all over the country and the typical price for renting a cot is usually anywhere from $10.00-$12.00. I go to the front desk and ask about one and they said let me check and see if we have one. So I wait there in the lobby for 15 minutes and finally they tell me they have one. I asked how much was it and they said $25.00!! Unbelievable! That was half the price of the room almost for a crappy old broken down cot. Of course I told them to keep it!
In the morning when we opened the door to our room to leave, once again, we were hit with that STINKING SMOKE odor in the hallway. Take my advice. This place may look nice on the outside but it is A COMPLETE BROKEN DOWN, OUTDATED. STINKING NASTY DUMP!! There are several other hotels in the Texarkana area. GO TO ONE OF THEM!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    25
    11
    18
    27
See reviews for
52
19
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Room smells, no elevator that is working, door locks on both rooms are loose and nearly broken. Carpet design is from 60's. Have construction going on but still trying to get full price. Are they hiring people to pump up their ratings? A dump.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The free Wifi is one of the great points of staying there, plus the indoor pool is great in any weather.Upon arrival the front desk clerk Colin made us feel very welcome and confident that we would be looked after no matter what our needs where, Fridge and microwave in the room a plus

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLaCrosse, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Lacrosse, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review of our Hotel! We appeciate your compliments of both the hotel and staff which lets us know that we are providing the best service possible! We want our guests to feel at home - away from home and we are so glad that you were made to feel that way! We look forward to seeing you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The only issue that I had was the floors weren't clean, they didn't look dirty, however, when I took a shower dirt came off my feet (i wore shoes outside). The staff was friendly and very helpful. Room attendants were very cordial and did a great job (not sure if the floor was their responsibility). Upon check-out Colin provided me with his sincerest apologies and made sure that I left a happy and a confident customer.
Room bonus was refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLaCrosse, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Lacrosse, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are really glad you had such a "great stay" with us and that you enjoyed your time here! We hold our saff to very high standards and it is great to hear that they are doing an excellent job. We apologize for the issues with the floors but will make sure that is remedied immediately. We look forward to your next visit with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We walked in our room and walked right back out. The whole place is nothing like the pictures. They must be of a different one. The sliding door chain lock was coming out of the wall. The room hadn't been cleaned and we got there at around 5 p.m. We never should have checked in just by the appearance of the lobby and the people milling around.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLaCrosse, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Lacrosse, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent visit and we would like to apologize for your unpleasant feelings towards our hotel. While we appreciate candid comments from our guests, we are confident that our rooms do not deserve the title of "Nasty". We did an immediate inspection of these rooms upon your leaving our facility to insure that they were up to our standards and found that there were no problems with the rooms. We sincerely hope that you were able to find a hotel that you were more comfortable in and that was more appealing to you but we would like to invite you to give our hotel another try in the future if you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We recently stayed at the Clarion - unfortunately during a "beauty" contest for girls from infants - early teens. The noise was horrible. Loud music and microphone enhanced announcements went on until approximately 11:30 pm on Friday night and until 9:00 pm on Saturday night. Our room was on the fourth floor next to the atrium opening on the first floor where the "festivities" were held. In addition, shrieking children ran up and down the halls. Breakfast was a paper sack with a piece of fruit and a cinnamon roll.

Please, please let customers know about such scheduled activities before accepting reservations. Or alternatively, place their rooms away from the noise!

Tired

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLaCrosse, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Lacrosse, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
On behalf of the Owners and staff of the Clarion Hotel La Crosse, we would like to extend our apologies for the difficulties you experienced at our hotel. Unfortunately, big events tend to make it difficult for hotels to be able to control every part of the environment, but we do the best that we can to make all our guests comfortable during their stay. We appreciate your suggestion that our guests be made aware of big events at reservation time and we will do our best to follow that suggestion in the future. We hope that you will stay with us again and that we will be able to make your stay the best it can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

As a Navy Chief Warrant Officer, there are frequent occasions where "pop-up" requirements arise making short-notice overnight stays necessary. Clarion Hotel LaCrosse Texarkana Arkansas went "above and beyond" in every area by responding perfectly to just such a need. Walking in without a reservation, Desk Clerk Felicia C. cheerfully greeted me and provided the best (and excellent!) room value--and did so quickly. She noted the numerous hotel services available--including the early morning airport shuttle. General Manager Tracy V. led and directed the staff will skill, cheer, and enthusiasm. Sherry C., as the the night Desk Clerk, enthusisastically provided information about the various activities and stores in the immediate vicinity as well as suggesting eating arrangements within the Clarion; she also set up the necessary "red-eye" 4:30 AM wake-up call! All other personnel have done an outstanding job as far as I am concerned and I am very well pleased to be able to recognize this hotel as one of the best in my literally global travels with the Navy: Thanks to each and every one of you!! JamesPM

Room Tip: Trust the staff!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLaCrosse, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Lacrosse, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and great review of our hotel! We are honored to have our Military men and women as guests of our hotel and we are always glad to hear that our staff is doing the best job they can do to make our guests feel at home - away from home! We hope that you will join us again in the near future and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Lacrosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Lacrosse

Address: 5100 North Stateline Ave, Texarkana, AR 71854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Texarkana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Lacrosse 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a guest of this Texarkana, AR hotel, you can enjoy features including:•Free Wi-Fi and wired high-speed Internet access •Free weekday newspaper •Indoor heated pool •Hot tub •Exercise room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Lacrosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Texarkana
Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Lacrosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.