We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Texarkana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Texarkana to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Texarkana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5420 Crossroads Parkway, Texarkana, AR 71854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Texarkana
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was impressed as I walked into the hotel. When I got to the front desk the girl there did her job but was not welcoming at all. She was on the phone with her friend (Shea) and handed me my key and then walked off. I was waiting for her to tell me what room I was in and where the elevators were but she stood off to the side looking through reservation papers. I stood there unacknowledged until I finally asked the girl "Are you done with me?" she said yes without looking up. Good thing I can read because that's how I found out what room I was in and the wifi code. I came back to the front desk to purchase a candy bar and she had to put her dear friend Shea on hold again.

What counts here for the rating is that the hotel and rooms are really nice and spacious. I'm attaching some pics. I was very impressed with the rate received. My checkout experience with your staff was much more pleasant.

Room Tip: This hotel is right off I-30 and is close to several restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Manager at Comfort Suites Texarkana, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Suites while in Texarkana, AR. We aim to supply our guests with a clean, comfortable environment while they are away from home. To achieve this I must speak with the staff to address certain issues while I am not on the property. In the hotel industry a manager's day is never complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
33
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, mo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

this is a very nice hotel. fairly new. large rooms. very well decorated and appointed. very reasonable rates. check in clerk could have been a little nicer and more professional. free breakfast wasnt bad at all. elevator and cart for luggage very handy. i would definately stay here again if in area. not sure if they dont give AAA discounts or wouldnt give me mine, most hotels do. lobby area is very large and very nice. bed and pillows very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Manager at Comfort Suites Texarkana, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We take much pride in our hotel being well decorated, clean, and comfortable for each of our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stay at Comfort Suites every time we travel and this one is very new and in a nice area. However we didn't feel any of the staff were welcoming or friendly, but that didn't affect our stay as far as the quality of the place itself. The lobby is modern and colorful, breakfast is the usual for this hotel chain, good. Everything was clean, bedding comfortable. There are restaurants nearby. We booked online at Choicehotels.com and got an excellent price.

Room Tip: We chose a king bed suite and plenty of room because it had a sitting area also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Manager at Comfort Suites Texarkana, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so happy that you choose to stay at the Comfort Suites while you and your family are in the Texarkana, Arkansas area. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Recently made a reservation for two nights at this hotel. Having finished business early I checked out early the next morning. Upon receiving my credit card statement I discovered they had charged me for two nights instead of one that reflected on my reciept. Contacted the hotel and was informed that it was their policy to charge for the full reserved stay and credit the credit card later, which could take up 5 business days. I am an elite diamond member with Choice Hotels and this is first time I have heard of this kind of policy, having checked out early many times over the years. Choice Hotels was of no help, guess its time find a different hotel chain.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Manager at Comfort Suites Texarkana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Sir, there is no credit card abuse happening here. You said yourself that your reservation was for 2 nights. Upon checkin you paid for two nights and decided later that you wanted to leave early. You were refunded for the second night before even leaving the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have stayed at this location a couple of times this year and it amazes me the amount of wear and tear that has already been done to such a new hotel. I travel quite often, so when I find a hotel I like, I stay there as much as I can. However, my previous stay at this hotel will be my last.

The staff has always been a bit aloof, but it has gotten worse. "Please" and "Thank you" do not seem to be in their vocabulary and they treat you more like a burden than a welcomed customer. This is particularly odd since this is one of several hotels on the same street, so you would think they would show appreciation that you chose them. That has never seemed to be the case, but I overlooked that before because the hotel was so nice.

The rooms are spacious and clean for the most part, but attention to detail does not seem to be a strong suit at this establishment. There are scuff marks and even stains on the walls already. In the bathroom, the corners of the tub are already getting moldy and when I went to grab the bathroom door knob, it fell off in my hand! When I reported it to the front desk, the man acted nonchalant about it as if that were not a surprise.

This is supposed to be a relatively new hotel. They still have the "Now Open" Banner proudly hanging and yet you can already tell it is not being maintained properly. I love the furniture in the rooms, but when I first walked in one of the sofas had big, white drippings on it. I was already fed up with the staff, so I just grabbed a rag and scrubbed it. It came right off, so the problem seems to be housekeeping more than anything else. I plan on coming back to the area soon, but will definitely stay at another hotel on the strip. They lost a loyal customer during this trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Manager at Comfort Suites Texarkana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for being a loyal customer of ours. We are situated amongst other hotels, however we aim to provide our guests with the comforts of home as well as clean accommadations. You may decide to try some other locations while in the area however, you will return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had been up to visit family in Indiana for the Memorial Weekend. We were returning home to Dallas, and usually are able to make it all the way thru, but construction and severe weather along the way slowed us down. We decided to just stop to relax for the night and finish up the last leg in the morning. Wife got on phone looking for places and found this one online and I believe for $59 for a King suite. At that price, we weren't expecting Bellagio quality of course. So we finally arrived, and found this was a very newly built place amongst a few other chains (Best Western, etc) set well back from the highway. Which was a good thing as far as noise elimination! It made it a little confusing to see how to get to, but a simple call to them and they guided us in! As others have said, parking was a little tight. They had 2 tour buses taking up multiple spots! And also a full length semi and trailer (They may want to rethink having buses drop off guests and park elsewhere, as well as semis). But that may be a rare occurrence.

We got to the room which was very conveniently located on 1st floor, just down from the enclosed indoor pool. They had a laundry area and workout room. We didnt use these but they were very neat and well maintained looking.

The room was laid out nicely, and extemely clean. i.e. no stains on furniture, bed, carpet etc. That you would typically find at the older lower end, pricier places. Bed was very comfortable, and room was quiet. I usually don't sleep well in motels and actually was comfortable enough to get some zzz's! The one thing that was noticeable, not too bad, but something some may complain about, lol, was the low pressure spray from shower. It was plenty hot, but the shower head was a Delta and just had one setting and it was not very powerful. It may have been a low flow head also to save water. Overall, you can not beat the quality for the price! This was a Tuesday night. We had always stayed at Best Westerns out of habit. But if Comfort Suites can maintain this level of cleanliness and comfort at this great price, we will definitely convert!

I have to add though, there is also another Comfort Suites on the Texas side of the State Line, we had gone to by mistake. The girl at the Front Desk at that one is in the wrong biz. Very rude and Snide. We are residents of Texas, and she was an embarrassment. The girl at the Arkansas side was VERY sweet and helpful, and if I can get her 1st name, I will give her props on here.

Sorry for the TLDR post. And I rarely get on to post here on TA, unless it was a really BAD experience, but I felt this place deserved to get a GREAT review! Hopefully they can maintain the quality, and set a higher standard for other places to follow!

Room Tip: All rooms are non smoking. But they have convenient designated smoking areas outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Manager at Comfort Suites Texarkana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Our goal is for all of our guests to experience a clean comfortable stay while they are in our area. We are located amongst other hotel chains. The front desk staff is always happy to help guide guests to our location. Next time you visit your family, please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is nestled amongst many brand new chain hotels. As other reviewers said the hotel is a little hard to get to, but if you pay attention you'll not have a problem. Break fast was better than typical fare, but I'm not a big fan of hotel breakfasts. The room was spacious, clean, and at a steal considering the price of 47.00! Would stay here again no questions asked.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Manager at Comfort Suites Texarkana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
AJ, thank you for choosing to stay with us as you traveled through our city. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Texarkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Texarkana

Address: 5420 Crossroads Parkway, Texarkana, AR 71854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Texarkana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Texarkana 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms at this non-smoking hotel offer high-definition cable television, a coffee maker, desk, refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.Its location with convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Suites the perfect for business and leisure travelers. Close to Central Mall, A&M University and Texarkana Airport(TXK). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Texarkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Texarkana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.