We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden luxury minutes from Fayetteville and springdale.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Mill to your Saves list
Inn at the Mill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3906 Johnson Mill Blvd, Springdale, AR 72741   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden luxury minutes from Fayetteville and springdale.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

One of the best night's sleep. Rooms were elegant and clean. Staff was very accomodating. Beautiful grounds and wonderful continental breakfast

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    61
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
73
125
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I booked one of the theme suites (the Disney Suite) at the last minute for a weekend away without our three children. When I read about the suites online, I called to check availability because, of all the suites, the Disney Suite sounded most unlike our taste. The person who answered the phone informed me that, unfortunately, the Disney Suite was the only one available for our dates. He assured me, however, that it was very tastefully and comfortably decorated. On his assurance, I booked the suite.

Upon arrival, we could not have been more disappointed. Initially, the decor seemed to be the biggest drawback. In my opinion, a Mickey Mouse shaped headboard surrounded with makeup lights is not tasteful. Regardless, we were prepared to find the decor not to our liking. As we would find, it was simply the tip of the proverbial iceberg.

To summarize, here are a few things we found unacceptable:

1. As mentioned, distasteful decor.
2. Dirty room (pubic hair and urine spots on the bathroom floor).
3. Antiquated shower runner upon which I cut my toe.
4. Wall patches that were clearly not painted to match.
5. Light streamed under and around the door such that, when the lights were off, it appeared as if a rectangular shaped nightlight were switched on.
6. Room key repeatedly didn't work.
7. The rear projection television (yes, you read that correctly - a rear projection T.V. in a so-called luxury hotel) was in a corner of the room away from the bed. In order to watch T.V. from the bed, we would have had to sit on the edge of the bed. The compromise seemed to be an incredibly uncomfortable couch placed in front of the T.V.
8. Condescending staff (more about this below).

We honestly would have overlooked any one - possibly two - of the above. But, on the morning after our first night, as the items kept adding up, we decided to speak to the front desk clerk. When we did, he simply managed to add insult to injury.

He offered to, "of course," check us out (because there was not an alternative room available). But, he said that we would be charged for our second night because of a 24 hour cancellation policy. I told him that, not only were we leaving and not using the room for the second night, we would not be charged for a second night because we didn't get the benefit of the luxury suite for which we had bargained. Almost implying that the poor state of the room was our fault, he told us that he wished we had said something the night before. He continued to insist that we would pay for our second night unless the room could be sold. I continued to insist that we would not and, after several more minutes, I asked to speak to the manager.

Fortunately, to his credit, the manager was more reasonable and agreed to refund our first night's charge and not charge us for the second night. Perhaps unnecessarily, I told the desk clerk that the manager had just saved the hotel a poor review on Tripadvisor. To which he responded curtly, "We are the number 1 hotel for Fayetteville on Tripadvisor." I said, "Nevermind."

Regardless, I hope folks don't read this and think that I'm a complainer. I'm genuinely not. In fact, I've traveled quite extensively throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, and South America. I feel like I understand what a good value in a hotel is. And, in fact, I don't mind to spend money on a luxury hotel (e.g., the Grand Prince Hotel Akasaka in Tokyo, the Cavo Tagoo on Mykonos, Hotel de Crillon in Paris, the Ritz on Maui). But when I do, I expect luxury accomodations. The Inn at the Mill is not luxury.

In fact, I've used Tripadvisor for years, and find the opinions of other traveler's invaluable when making travel decisions. Until my experience at the Inn at the Mill, I hadn't bothered to actually join and write any reviews. But now I feel that I owe it to all the wonderful (and even not so wonderful yet appropriately priced) hotels I've stayed at over the years to write reviews. And I plan to do that.

For now, though, please learn from my terrible experience and don't waste your time or money on the disappointment waiting at the Inn at the Mill.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Arkansas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

If you ever stay in NW Arkansas, book the Inn at the Mill in Johnson, AR. It is the state's top rated B & B (the only one in Arkansas listed in the Small Luxury Hotels of the World) due to it's marble bathrooms, plush bedding, high quality furnishings, very upscale on site restaraunt, and best of all-- complimentary wine and cheese parings every night of your stay. We were served local goat cheese with Chef Miles' herbs from his garden with white wine for our first paring followed by a surprisingly smooth blue cheese with a tangy red wine (parmesean slices were also a nice touch). Many B&B's offer complimentary hors devours, but few offer complimentary wine and caviar as this one does (yes, I said complimentary caviar was offered by Chef Miles James for all diners when we were at James at the Mill-- the top restaurant in the region). Pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizardlips48
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Traveling to Fayetteville strictly for business, and luckily happened upon this inn while searching for last-minute lodging. Their summer rates were a great value, but the service and quality made it an unbelievable deal. Large rooms with sofa and refrigerator, perfect beds with fine linens, utterly quiet in the room despite the easy proximity to the interstate and businesses, fresh-baked pastries for breakfast from the fine restaurant (and good coffee), fresh fruit and beverages out all day, wine & cheeses in the evening, and free strong wireless internet. What more could you ask? Well, how about the friendliest, most accommodating desk staff that I've ever encountered? Or the absolutely fantastic dinner at James at the Mill restaurant (breads, salads, quail, lemon tart with fresh blackberry sorbet, wine) with exceptional service for a price under $50? All in the ambience of creative architecture with the sound of flowing water . . . Remington sculptures in the lobby . . . I just couldn't make this stuff up!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the hotel, the people were fabulous, the room was clean, comfortable, nice linens, pillows and an amazing shower! We were just in for one night, but would love to come stay longer.

The restaurant was amazing, can't wait to get back! Only problem, when we requested a cab to take us to downtown Fayetteville, they called a limo service....needless to say the price when we arrived was twice as much as it should have been!

Oh well, everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I've traveled all over the country (stayed at 5-stars) and the 2 days at the Inn at the Mill was by far one the most relaxing and enjoyable stays ever! It was quaint with all modern amenities, great linens, comfortable beds, wonderful breakfast with fresh squeezed juice, wine and cheeses - you get the idea. ALL of the staff were fantastic and went out of their way to assist you! Mary Ellen is the best! We had never been to Fayetteville, Arkansas and I found this place on TripAdvisor and it is a winner! Did not want to leave. The property is pristine and very Frank Lloyd Wright-ish. AND THE RESTAURANT...I believe it is the only 5-star in Arkansas and it is hands-down the best cuisine I have ever had! Chef James and his team are fantastic - dinner was an incredible experience. I will be flying back from Tampa Bay FL JUST TO STAY THERE AND HAVE CHEF JAMES MAKE ME DINNER!!! Seriously was that good! Thanks to everyone for making a great trip to Fayetteville even more special! Eva :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This small, elegant Inn was absolutely perfect. We were greeted by Mary at the front desk who was absolutely delightful and courteous! The room was a perfect size and extremely comfortable. I didn't want to leave! All staff (front desk, chambermaids) were so polite and very accommodating. Anything we asked for, we received; directions, additional room supplies, recommendations of things to do in the area. Extemely loved the hotel restaurant "James At The Mill"! True 5 star dining with the chef and his staff cooking right in front of us. The food was tremendous, the best I've ever eaten! I highly recommend this lovely Inn to anyone staying in the Fayetteville area. Will definitely go back again!!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fayetteville North/Springdale
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springdale
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Springdale
Holiday Inn Springdale
#5 of 19 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Chancellor Hotel
The Chancellor Hotel
#7 of 24 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Springdale
Comfort Suites Springdale
#8 of 19 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Mill

Address: 3906 Johnson Mill Blvd, Springdale, AR 72741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Springdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Springdale
#3 Business Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at the Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Mill Hotel Fayetteville
Hotel At The Mill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.