We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place in the Normandie countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Coq aux Champs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Petit Coq aux Champs to your Saves list
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   400 Chemin du Petit Coq, 27500 Campigny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Campigny B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Magical place in the Normandie countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This hotel is appropriately named: Surrounded by verdant meadows and fields, it is tucked away at the end of a country road. The thatched Norman houses that make up the hotel and restaurant complex seem from another era altogether. Inside, though, the hotel is modern and the rooms recently refurbished. We enjoyed the peace and quiet while lounging at the good-sized pool. Food at the restaurant was excellent and the creme brulee the best we have ever tasted.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    56
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
9
139
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I went there for lunch with family and friends and we were terribly disappointed. This place is hell. After sitting one hour, close to neighbours in a room with no soul, we had finished our first bottle of wine without seeing any other food but cheap butter and pistachio...
After the delay, the worst was to come with our meal. A real disgrace. Nothing was worth a quarter of the price we had to pay. Food had no taste, was dry and we were still hungry after lunch. And needless to say, the service is worst than in a parisian café.
Avoid this place. There are good and honest restaurants around.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We spent a very pleasant night in this small and attractive hotel with large restaurants, bars and sun lounges which look out on a well kept garden. We enjoyed the degustation menu which was competently cooked and served. The patronne was very charming and, when I rang to ask if I had mislaid an earring in the hotel, made great efforts to look for it, even taking the vacuum bag to pieces. She eventually rang and emailed me several days later to say that it had been found.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

Our first stay was during "la canicule" of early August 2003.

Beautiful surroundings and brilliant experience - (a swimming pool should be made a legal requirement in such conditions - no enforcement needed here).

Mme. Fabienne Desmonts and M. Jean-Marie Huard were / are fantastic hosts. Mme. Desmonts speaks faultless English and graciously allowed us to try our French (myself, wife and, then, 9 year-old daughter) without any sign of sniggering!

Food was superb using really fresh produce "du terroir". Even our daughter ate dishes that were free of fries or "chicken-based" fried products. On a more liquid front, for me, the zenith was my introduction to "Le Prestige" - if you know, you know!!

What should I say? Tempted to report that it wasn't worth the visit (hopefully to make sure that our favourite room is free for our next stay - not saying when) - but I can't - not sorry. M. KH

  • Liked — Setting, hosts, food, wine
  • Disliked — Some bits might need a little TLC to restore
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

Tend to agree with the earlier review.

An idyllic situation and very peaceful. There the pluses tend to dry up.

The room was small with no room for seating and the clothes cupboard smelt of damp. The bathromm had - curiously- two adjacent sinks but no means of inserting two people simultaneously. Common parts in need of a makeover with a depressing indoor garden and dark furniture-some of the armchairs too low to extracty yourself from, once inserted.

Pleasant dining room and OK cooking- though my partner's lamb had to visit the kitchen twice, really undercooked.

A pricey experience for a generally unmemorable night's stay.

  • Liked — peaceful environment
  • Disliked — undercapitalised and tired
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

We really enjoyed our three night break in April. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful spot. Beautifully maintained gardens. Food and service both excellent. Very attentive and helpful staff. The reception and lounge/ bar area does need updating but the restaurant and rooms are very pretty and typically French. Excellent shower. A couple of well signposted country walks from the doorstep and excellent access to the attractions of Normandy.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

Hmmmm. It looked great in the photos - picturesque and quaint - and on arrival we were impressed ...... until we looked closer. We only stayed one night but it was enough for us to decide never to return.

Good points: Quiet. Good, tasty food (but the service wasn't up to much). Pretty, 'picture postcard' appearance. Er .... that's about it.

Bad points: Closer inspection revealed a very jaded hotel that seems to be living on past glories. It really is in need of money being spent on a big refurbishment. The room looked OK but was cold and quite damp (and heating was refused because 'it isn't yet September'. Yes, really!). The extractor fans didn't work in the loo or bathroom (which had a twee, open window into the bedroom, causing additional dampness). The shower screen was expertly constructed to deliver copious quantities of water all over the floor - ten minute shower, twenty minute mopping up exercise. No tea-making facilities (although we now know that this is normal in France). Thoughtless, tired decor and a very odd mix of gloomy and 1950's glaring lighting. And DOGS IN THE RESTAURANT! For goodness sake! Are they kidding?

Worst point: Ridiculous cost of stay for what you actually get (both room and food). I honestly think that the owners must be laughing up their sleeves at how much money they are raking in, without feeling the need to spend any of it on providing their guests with either decent, well maintained surroundings or proper, friendly service (I accept that we are English and maybe are not treated with the same deference as other nationalities!).

One to avoid for a couple of years until they wake up and invest in an upgrade of both the building and their attitude to the people who give them a living.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Petit Coq aux Champs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Coq aux Champs

Address: 400 Chemin du Petit Coq, 27500 Campigny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Campigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Campigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Petit Coq aux Champs 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Pont Audemer in Haute Normandie, the good life in normandie is not a myth. The Petit Coq aux Champs is nestled in the heart of the countryside between Deauville, Honfleur and Etretat. Let us share with you our vision of a relaxing stay in our privileged natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Petit Coq aux Champs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Coq aux Champs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.