We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great away from town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotham's Mercantile

Cotham's Mercantile
5301 Hwy 161, Scott, AR 72142
501-961-9284
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Scott
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
little rock
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great away from town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great burgers, onion ringsand service was great just wished they served beer. Gets crowded quick get there early or after 1.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Dirty Dive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fifteen years ago we ate at Cotham's and it was clean and great! With that fond memory, we called some friends that live in Arkansas, near Cotham's and ask them to go with us! I should have reassessed the situation when our friend said, "Why do you want to go to that dump"?
We went anyway, because of the great memory....Big Mistake....It was very dirty, the service was slow, inaccurate (a couple of us didn't get what we had ordered), the food was not good quality, with heavy grease, and the price was much more than it was worth! It has some good history but if they don't change some things, we will never return and I really can't recommend you eat there!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hubcap burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We love a good burger and we love a good dive! This place is both. It made for a wonderful Saturday afternoon drive of site-seeing in unfamiliar territory to visit this landmark. We both had the hubcap burgers, but the home cooked plate lunches we saw as they passed by our table en route to others looked tempting too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ATrip Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been going to Cothams for decades. I used to run inot Gov. Clinton and other state officials there. Local TV personalities grazr there as well. The old Mercantile Resturant is just the was it has been for 50 years,complete with farm animals out side and a swamp in the back! The Catfish is to die for!!!! They specialize in "The Hub Cap" ,a hamburger that really takes two stronge hands to lift and "The Mississippi Mud Pie" that is a dessert that only a connoisseur of fine Southern Desserts can apprieciate!!!! The atmosphere lends itself to talk of simpler times and a host of unusual sites from the past. Go, eat,enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Down home dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good home cooking. Famous for their huge hub-cap burgers. Daily plate lunch with meat and 2. Very good fried catfish. Mississippi Mud Pie is awesome

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotham's Mercantile also viewed

 

Been to Cotham's Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotham's Mercantile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.