We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but housekeeping?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa to your Saves list
Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Chome 5jodori, Asahikawa, Hokkaido 070-0035, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but housekeeping?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is not near to the JR station; if you walk it takes a good 15 minutes. No fuss from us since we like to take a look at our surrounding. Very near to shopping street with a few departmental stores along the way. There is free car park as mention by some reviewers as well as free ramen every night from 9.30 onwards. The breakfast spread was awesome and it was by far the best that I had in my 14 days in Hokkaido. I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights and I had a queen size bed room but as with all hotels in Japan, it was a tad small but no complaints.
The hotel is clean and cosy and the onsen is good but not great if you had been to others in Noboribetsu or Toya.

Now for the minus; the housekeeping was inconsistent. We had to place a "Make up room" on the door before we leave every morning. On the first day, the bed was made, towels were changed and cups were washed. Spick and span. On the second day, the bed was somewhat made, the towels were left in a pile on the bed? and the cups were left in the sink?! I went to the reception and requested for clean towels which they obliged happily and then I asked about the cups. Actually I wanted to know why the room was not "clean" but I gave up as the staff had trouble understanding me and I did not want to appear "confrontational". So I left and went back up. The front office came up shortly after with the clean washed cups. I couldn't fault him as he really tried his best; I could tell and I was somewhat less annoyed. On the 3rd day, housekeeping was good but on the 4th day, the cups were again left in the sink? I couldn't understand what it meant. Was I suppose to wash the cups? I have no problem doing it but I was just curious why so. Anyway, I still recommend this hotel as I think they are value for money and a number of others such as car park, service, breakfast are commendable. Overall a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    85
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
38
27
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friendly staff, small but nicely decorated rooms. Quiet interior because of a second sliding door to the bedroom interior, which was the same design for all three Dormy Inns I've been to in Hokkaido. There were enough choice of restaurants within walking distance, walking everywhere seemed so easy and stress free in this city. The Asahikawa train station is also within walking distance if you're not carrying heavy luggages.

Room Tip: There is a TALL TV station transmission tower right outside the hotel, request rooms on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Dormy Inn is very new and nicely decorated. It has free parking and the car park is just right behind the back entrance which is good to know if you are carrying quite a few luggage.

Rooms are standard size, a sliding door is used to separate the 'entrance' area of the room and the bedroom area which makes the room feel more cozy. The public bath is standard sized but very clean and comfortable.

3-5 minutes walk toward the JR station direction you will find a lot of restaurants or japanese pub which open til late. It seems like lots of Karaoke and night clubs are within 10 minutes walk from the hotel too.

Reason for a 4* rating to the room is due to a even better Dormy Inn which we have stayed in Otaru.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I'm glad that I have chosen to stay in this hotel after reading the reviews from tripadvisor and I certainly have to agree with the positive comments here.

Location: not too near to the jr station but still within walking distance (along the street full of restaurants and shops). For those who are driving, free parking is available. There is a huge 7-11 across the street from the hotel.

Room: well decorated. The room is small but has everything that you will need. There is a charger available near the bed that can be used to charge your iphone or other devices. The toilet/shower area is of a good size. Oh... Not forgetting, the bed is very comfortable! there is Internet available as well.

Service: like most Japanese hotels, service is fantastic. Though the staff speaks limited English, but they will try.

Facilities: The onsen on the 10th floor is very well maintained and clean which can be accessed from 3pmto 10 am. It can be crowded on weekends. For the ladies, you will need a password to access the changing room and bath area. This password will change everyday. The laundry area is within the changing room and can be challenging to use if you do not understand instructions (there is a small instruction sheet in English pasted on the dryer actually, but I took a long time to locate it). The washing machine is free to use but the dryer will require 100 yen for 20 minutes. not forgetting the wonderful free ramen available from 9.30 to 11 pm every night. It is a simple ramen but absolutely delicious!

Given this wonderful experience, I would certainly book another dormy inn as part of my stay for my next Japan trip.

Room Tip: Do book early for a good deal. There are vending machines, microwave ovens, ice machine on the 4th a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Dormy inn in Asahikawa is a nice little hotel. It has free parking and a free public bath on the 10th floor. The bath is clean and big and comfortable. The room itself is small but clean. Good for the price you pay. Location is also within walking distance to major department stores and train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Dormy Inn is my top choice in Japan having stayed several times in Chubu and now in Hokkaido. There is only good things to say:
- the hotel is new, clean and comfortable
- the onsen is fabulous, with both indoor and outdoor pools
- staff are always helpful and friendly
- breakfast spread good
- wifi is always available
- prices are attractive, I booked 3 rooms for the family

The standard across the chain seems very consistent indeed. In future, I may only travel where there are Dormy Inns :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed in three different Dormy Inns (two in Hokkaido and one in Tokyo) and really liked this business hotel chain. The hotels are in convenient locations, are clean, attractively priced (by Japanese standards) and have nice baths. The rooms are a decent size. The wife liked the free ramen noodles for guests every night around 8 pm or so. I liked the baths and the comfy shirt and sweatpants they give you to lounge around in your room, to wear up to the hot baths or even lounge around in the lobby, surfing the free internet. A big plus here was that the windows in the room could open (though there was some street noise). As I noted in other Japan hotel reviews, they do have a problem during the change of seasons from September through October. Many hotels have rooms with windows that cannot open and the aircon has been shut off, but the heating was not on yet either, and there was no fan to even circulate the stuffy air. It makes for a lousy, very uncomfortable night. Though the city itself is eerily quiet, I'd recommend this place for a night or two while you explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa

Address: 6 Chome 5jodori, Asahikawa, Hokkaido 070-0035, Japan
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Asahikawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels / Ryokan in Asahikawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.