We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-Standard Marriott Property” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville

Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East Harrell Drive, Russellville, AR 72802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Russellville
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sub-Standard Marriott Property”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent two weeks here in Feb '13. I spend half the year in Marriotts across the US, and am usually very pleased. However, this Fairfield is one of the worst Marriott properties I've seen.

First, at check in I was told there wasn't an upgrade for the duration of my stay. No big deal: I understand that such things are situational. But then they give me one of the smallest rooms in the hotel, perhaps the smallest. I immediately searched Marriott.com for a suite at the same hotel and was able to book one for the duration of my stay. I went to the front desk and told them I was displeased with the room, and gave them the reservation number for the suite, which they booked me into. Of course, there was no explanation provided for the initial 'we have no suite available' statement.

The suite was suitable, but had a leak that popped up during some bad weather. Based on the appearance of the ceiling the leak was old. Didn't bother me, but it did illustrate the state of part of the hotel. The front desk called that night and offered to move me to another room. I declined.

The internet is terrible. They actually have two wireless services, and both are sporadic and relatively slow. The TV channel selection is decent (they have TCM, a rare thing) but the picture quality is poor (non-digital I presume).

Maid service was just bad. rare vacuuming, even rarer table-wiping, sloppy bed making, and no attempt to tidy up. A co-worker came back one afternoon to find the door left open via the swing-latch. Unbelievable.

As in almost all Marriotts I've been in, the front desk employees were courteous and friendly. The problems in this hotel stems from mismanagement and infrastructure neglect, which seems to be the most common cause of sub-standard Marriotts (The Goshen, Indiana Courtyard and the Marrietta, Alabama Courtyard are both perfect examples of this: Front desk employees were great but could not overcome incompetent management and property neglect)

The exception would be the maid service, it just seemed bad. But even that comes down to management in the end: management should periodically inspect rooms to confirm that standards are maintained and remind employees of their obligation.

Of course, the Fairfield is the only Marriott property in Russellville, so Marriott point junkies like me just suck it up.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces south: a room in front will be flooded by the huge lights shining on the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
12
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

As a seasoned traveler(100+ nights per year in a hotel), I look for reliability and quality. I stick with brands I know and trust. After a long drive, I don't want surprises, especially bad ones. This hotel delivered for me. Marriott quality and class. All the things you look for in the brand. Clean, modern, comfortable, and no surprises. Good solid hotel!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here about a year ago and it was a "lucky find." This year wasn't quite the same story, but I can't really fault the hotel for noisy guests that let their kids run WILD in the room above us! I did visit the front desk and they were willing to move us. I declined since my family was already asleep, but they did call up to try to quiet them. The staff was great overall. I think the hotel is starting to show some wear. The pool was fine, hot tub was ok. I don't think it was running properly, but it was ok for a quick dip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hotel was good bargain. Breakfast was a continental, but quite a few options. Pool was indoor and the kids (6, 4 and 2) enjoyed it. The Hotel was quite and very easy to get to. Researched alot for a cheap stay on our way to MO and thought we were getting a cheap hotel. exceeeded our expectations. We had 2 queen beds and staff was quick to get us extra pillos and blankets for the kids and make recommendations for area. Everything was clean and staff were very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on first flood west side and had adsitional door to exit vs thru lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had to stay at this hotel unexpectedly because of construction delays. I would recommend an improvement in the cleanliness of the bathroom and ensuring that the breakfast items are better stocked. Nice clean bed and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was an average Fairfield Inn, The room was clean enough and it wasn't too dated. The staff was friendly. If I remember the alternatives I would most probably stay there again if I stopped in Russellville again (not too likely). Maybe a little pricey for where it is

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

When I stay at any hotel, I always ask for a quiet room away from elevator and stairs. Kudos to Fairfield Inn for honoring our request. My husband and I stayed for a reunion and were happy with the second floor room.

Firstly, the layout of the King room is one of the best we've stayed in. The bed is separated by a closet and a half wall from the TV watching area. The bathroom is at the front by the entry door, so you don't hear the shower when someone else gets in there early morning. All of which makes for a quiet room.

The pillows and king bed were comfy, and we slept well. Breakfast was typical, except for the excellent waffles.
My only complaint was that twice we were unable to use our keys to get into the rooms, since they mysteriously didn't work.

Room Tip: ask for a middle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville

Address: 120 East Harrell Drive, Russellville, AR 72802
Location: United States > Arkansas > Russellville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Russellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Russellville
Fairfield Russellville
Russellville Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Russellville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.