We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit but come prepared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ozark-St. Francis National Forests

Ozark-St. Francis National Forests
Russellville, AR
Improve this listing
Type: Forests, Outdoors
Attraction details
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good place to visit but come prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Main Forest and trail options were huge. However unlike other outdoor parks, on-the-spot camping information and maps/directions were not readily available. Gas stations are old and spread out far from each other. Most importantly, Diesel is just as in demand in this place as Gasoline, so one can easily mistake one fuel pump for another when fueling a vehicle (so be vigilant when fueling in this area). Nice quiet hiking spots though.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London,Ky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“love Highway 7”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Love to ride my Harley from Russellville to Jasper for breakfast or lunch at the Ozark Cafe in Jasper.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Rugged Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A beautiful change of scenery from Texas. It was quiet, secluded, and a rugged breath of fresh air from everyday stresses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
980 reviews 980 reviews
358 attraction reviews
Reviews in 263 cities Reviews in 263 cities
2,083 helpful votes 2,083 helpful votes
“Another beautiful national forest in AR...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The various national forests/state forests tend to run together in AR, but they sure do provide some awesome scenery and quiet places to explore. We drove through different sections of this national forest on our drive up Scenic Highway 7. We saw some sandstone bluffs, some streams/rivers, some wonderful vistas (often with turnouts) and a few deer. We made a quick stop in the Cove Lake Recreation area, off of Scenic 309. This would be a great weekend spot to enjoy the lake and hike in the forest. It was very quiet, but of course, we went in January! No matter the time of year, this area of Arkansas provides a nice getaway and I am glad we took the time to discover it on our way home to Michigan. Hope one day to be back and explore more in depth.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We drove the Great River Road through the forest and were treated the whole way with wildlife, water, and trees. A deer darted in front of us at one point, and we also saw a fox. In one area the water was almost up to the road.

Not very far into the area was Mississippi River State Park, which has camping sites and a dock you can walk on.

The roads quickly turn to gravel, so your vehicle should be up for that. There is plenty of shade, so you'll stay on the cool side.

if you go, be sure to take in the Great River Road portion that takes you by Horseshoe Lake.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozark-St. Francis National Forests also viewed

 

Been to Ozark-St. Francis National Forests? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ozark-St. Francis National Forests, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.