We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for a family reunion.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake Point Conference Center

The Lake Point Conference Center
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Russellville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake Point Conference Center
Save Saved
You added The Lake Point Conference Center to your Saves list
61 Lake Point Dr, Russellville, AR 72802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Russellville
Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a family reunion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This makes the second family reunion we have held at the Lake Points Conference Center. The Hickory Lodge is excellent for reunions. There is a huge "great room" for everyone to gather and visit. There is a pool table and many board games. The rooms are on two levels and located around the perimeter, opening to the great room. There is only a small kitchenette, with only a microwave and refrigerator in this building. You have to bring your own snacks and drinks. The food served by the foodstaff in the adjoining dining hall is excellent. The presentation and service are top notch. There is also a conference room, which looked great, but we did not use during our stay. The rooms are extremely clean and neat. They have a bed, tv, desk, dresser and nightstand. Nothing fancy, but clean, neat, more than adequate. I think our room had new carpet.
The large patio is the perfect place to relax and take in the gorgeous view of the lake.

Room Tip: The noise from the great room is audible in the bedrooms. Beware if you turn in early. Best to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Arkansas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had to stay at the Lake Point Conference Center as part of a business trip. I found the place to be a tad to primitive. There were no vending machines of any kind so if you want a soft drink or bag of chips you will have to drive about fifteen minutes to the nearest town. The same is true if you want a meal or need anything else that you did not bring with you.

The accommodations were nothing special either. One room controlled the heating and air for several rooms so my comfort was determined by the whims of a total stranger. I wonder if they charge extra for a room with thermostat controls. The bed spreads, pillows, sheets, etc. seemed to be cheap and old.

There is a lake right outside the lodge, but they don't have any boating or fishing equipment available for guests to use. You can clearly see the plume of water vapor for the nearby nuclear plant right up the street from the conference center. There is not fitness center or pool available for guests.

The modest accommodations and lack of activities makes this lodge just one step up from camping in tent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Last September 2009 The Russellville Board of Education hosted a countywide Teen Leadership Summit for all area high schools at the Lake Point Conference Center. With 70 students, parents, counselors, and volunteers we offered a day and half conference to address distractive driving, underage drinking and other risky behaviors. During a recent survey with students that attended last year we asked for input about the event. The highest score given by the students was concerning the wonderful food served. Following closely were facilities: conference center, atrium pool table, big screen TV, and the sleeping quarters. The students gave rave reviews and requested we return if funding was available.
We have received notice we are funded again for this year and plan to increase the length to two full days this September 2010. We have also added the four high schools in Yell County bring our total this year to approximately 80 attendees. Not having done anything of this magnitude I relied on the Event Planner, who was very gracious and helpful in making suggestions to achieve our goals. She was very resourceful and made positive suggestions. One was to utilize the outdoor pavilion with a cookout for the group which also saved money on one of our meals and the youth loved being outside. On the first day of our conference we wanted to have a Celebration luncheon to acknowledge the outstanding group of young people selected to attend the Summit. This year we plan to do this event on the second day with over 130 people in attendance. Because the staff worked above and beyond our expectations and created a delightful setting for over 100 people with a stunning view of the lake in the background we look forward to year’s event. The food was magnificent and we are sure it will be the same this year.
The lodging coordinator worked with me on assigning rooms and provided a list in advance of room sizes and their accommodations to insure that we optimize space. On the day of the event sign in he had our room keys in packets for each room. The process was very organized and the room assignment process went very smoothly. The rooms were clean with fresh towels and new bedding and simple decorations to ensure comfort. The Teen Leadership Summit members, parents, counselors, and volunteers want to thank Lake Point for a great conference and look forward to our return in September 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

I have lived in Russellville, Arkansas for most of my life and consider this part of Arkansas to be one of the most beautiful areas. I consider myself well versed on the veritably delightful water front locations in my town. I did not in fact know, before this visit, of a gem hidden half way between Russellville and London. Lake Point Conference Center seems to be perfectly nestled on a stretch of peninsula jutting into Lake Dardanelle. In all my years I was less for not knowing of this secret hideaway. I understand this was once the Tyson Training Center, but in recent years was purchased by Arkansas Tech University. This type of facility is desperately needed for events such as the one I attended.

After attending a wedding last summer we drove from the church down Main Street and across the causeway I remember thinking what a beautiful day for a wedding. When we arrived at the Lake Point Conference Center, which was the location for the reception, the outside decorations were simple but elegant. When I entered the door I was met by the staff and directed into the large room for the reception. The decorations and flowers took my breath away, everything was fabulously done. The female staffer was very attentive explaining where extra tables and chairs were available and explained that the guests were to serve themselves. The food was displayed very attractively easily accessible. The staff again was very polite and thoughtful offering to help those that needed extra assistance. The whole experience was delightful and relaxing for everyone attending from the chatter I heard.

Later I was given a tour of the lodges and other buildings. I loved the atrium layout of the rooms facing the lake. In the middle of the open area were a baby grand piano, pool table, and a large screen TV for the guest’s use. The young man giving the tour also showed our group the kitchenette with snacks provided for guests if requested. I thought what a perfect place for a family reunion, church retreats and small parties or even showers. In the Guest House VIP Suite new linens, furniture, and light fixtures created a wonderful haven. I’m pleased to know this is available in our community. I’m thrilled to write this review for others to note.
Rebecca Gosnell

  • Liked — The Natural Setting...It felt like it belonged there
  • Disliked — Tat i didn't have the chance to stay longer on campus....which will change asap!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

First of all, this is a Conference Center run by the Arkansas Tech University at Russellville. The complex is on a beautiful lake just west of Russellville Arkansas. There are multiple 2-story buildings in the complex, each with about 30 rooms and an open atrium facing the lake for group activities or meetings. The University purchased the center in 2006 from Tyson Foods with the mission of training hotel and food service professionals. Tyson built the facility and used it for corporate training.

The facility is available to groups for meetings, retreats, weddings, reunions, training, etc. I was there for a wedding, with the rehersal dinner one night and the reception the next night. Check in is like a resort - you drive to the admin building and check in, pick up a key to your building nearby and then park in front of your building. When I got into my room, it was freezing. I searched for the thermostat and instead found a small sign below the light switch that said: "The thermostat for your room is located in room # xxx" I called the front desk and said that I would have to come back for the key to the room with the thermostat. They explained that room was occupied and that I should just knock on the door and ask the occupants to adjust the temp. I said that this was contrary to any experience that I had ever had in a hotel and that I'd take a different room - one with a thermostat. They explained that all of those rooms were already taken, and I began my entry into the "Alice in Wonderland" weekend of staying at Lake Point.

The Low Lights:

1. Paper thin walls - sneeze and your neighbor will say "God Bless You"
2. Limited supply of towels and linens
3. Requested extra pillow from the front desk: "We'll see if we have any"
4. No door hanger for "Do not disturb"
5. No peep hole to see who's knocking on your door
6. Filthy, filthy, filthy room - floors, chairs, walls, hair in shower, etc
7. No bath mat - asked housekeeping: "We don't have bathmats"
8. Cold air return in bathroom created a draft powerful enough to suck a towel off the floor.
9. Requested a call or meeting with the manager - never saw him
10. Staff that was mystified and defensive with the smallest request. "We've never done it that way" "It was like this when we bought it", etc...
11. The brochure explains that each room has a desk (It's a CONFERENCE center) - not mine. I had a room FULL of furniture too big for the room and chairs too filthy to sit on.

I guess if you're part of a corporate group and you're not paying for anything, this would be endurable and you wouldn't comment. But to bill this as a corporate retreat and charge $75 per night for such minimal accomodations is just wrong.

If the university is using this as a training ground for future hotel managers, God help them. If the Desk clerk can't make contact with the Facilities Manager for three days to discuss an unhappy guest, God help them. There is no Customer Service presence anythere on site. Stay here is you must, but you'll be very uncomfortable in a day or two.

  • Liked — Great location, right on the lake but without any fishing, boating activities
  • Disliked — Totally incompent staff, FILTHY rooms, Thermostat located in room down the hall (---???)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake Point Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Point Conference Center

Address: 61 Lake Point Dr, Russellville, AR 72802
Location: United States > Arkansas > Russellville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Russellville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake Point Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.