We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Petra Moon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Petra Moon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Ajman, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel is excellent,quiet,clean,suitable for families
very near to Petra no need for transportation,you just cross the street
wide options for breakfast
stuff were excellent
the rooms were wide and big

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    319
    57
    15
    5
See reviews for
170
419
76
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with good service and close to the entrance to Petra. I left one of my favourite jackets behind and when I emailed the hotel to see whether they could locate it, they were very helpful indeed and arranged to have it sent to me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The front desk really shone through. They were very helpful and sincerely wanted to be of service. They recommended a good hamam and a decent restaurant and gave good directions.

Room was nice with some free soda, water and fruit. Wifi was fine (and we heard very bad things about the wifi at the Movenpick). Very good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Petra Moon Hotel for only a couple of days, 11th March to 13th. We had regular contact with the hotel leading up to our stay( which i recommend you do, they respond quickly and are very helpful), regarding the best possible route from Airport to hotel. We arranged transport via the hotel to pick us up from the airport. We were greeted at the airport by our driver who was the perfect person to take us to the hotel. Unfortunately it was dark and could not see many of the surroundings. This didn't stop the driver telling anything we needed to know, and allowed to feel comfortable enough to relax from our flight. The journey to the hotel was about 2-3 hours which sounds a lot, but if you are going to Jordan to see Petra, then you are going to have to make this trip if you come from the airport. We also had the same driver on the way back to the airport, stopping along the way to see some sights, which was great to see!( including the Dead Sea)

We arrived at the hotel at around 7pm, checked in. We were greeted very well, welcomed and well received. Luckily, we were in time for the buffet dinner service they had. The evening buffet was 18JD and you can eat as much as much of the great food they have on offer. each time i had this, i was full. Breakfast was included and again, a huge range of food was on offer that i could not fault.

The rooms were perfect, large bed, tv, good bathroom etc. everything you want from a hotel. the view outside neither amazing or bad so we were not fussed about that, as during the day we were rarely there as we were off in the Petra site. Over the Road, once it was light, you could see the entrance to the Petra tourist office. This is the place you to get tickets( if you haven't already got them).

Any problems, questions we had within our stay was easily answered from a call or visit to the front desk who were always willing to help and assist!

Overall i am surprised this hotel isn't classed with more stars. If you go to Petra, then this is the place to stay, you cant go wrong!

Room Tip: not saying this is the best room, but we had 214 and was good, spacious and looked over towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluche
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived in Petra by car with no booking.
We were lucky to find (near the gate of the site) this clean 4 stars hotel.
From there you can just walk to the gate to visit this ancient fantastic Nabatean capital.
No frills but essential and good value

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced and only a minute's walk to the Petra site. The room was comfortable and clean. The shower was poor with very little water pressure. When the breakfast buffet items ran out (milk, cereal, bread), it could be slow getting them replenished. However, if you are looking for somewhere close to Petra that is comfortable and reasonable value, Petra Moon is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were here last week, and although front of house is impressive, our room just didn't have the finish of our previous hotel in Aqaba.The small bin in our room had not been emptied ( used tissues/ bits of rubbish) the shower over the bath was very inadequate although the water was hot, broken toilet seat and television didn't work, we were told someone would come to sort it while we were out, nobody came, and it never worked.
There was a nice bowl of complimentary fruit.
Maybe we had one of the rooms due for refurbishment?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.