We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel steps from Petra entrance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Petra Moon Hotel to your Saves list
Petra Moon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel steps from Petra entrance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This renovated hotel is really trying to do things right. And they are succeeding, with an excellent breakfast spread, (including made-to-order omelettes), fresh fruit snack, cold juice upon arrival, clean and comfortable rooms. Highly recommended, with an unbeatable location and very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, and we thank you for posting such a great review on TripAdvisor.

The Petra Moon Hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Therefore, it is always nice to know that we have succeeded in doing our job!
We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    347
    65
    15
    5
See reviews for
184
447
81
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First of all Hi Sameer Nwaflleh,
As promised here is my review the holiday now seems so long ago and England is bitterly cold

Hi all
I thought I would let you know I work in travel industry as Hotel Contractor so it is my job to assess hotels.

Ideally located.

The staff attention detail, made me feel I was staying at Movenpick Petra without the silly prices and unnecessary security.
Free water in the rooms. The hotel has a Boutique feel
The only negative thing after a long day in Petra I really fancied a bath, but they had no plugs in the room to take it. This is due to severe shortage in water, so I could only take a shower.
The breakfast is a "banquet".
The hotel can also organise drivers for excursions etc and guides for Petra. Mine was exceptional you know who you are. I would highly recommend taking one and I suggest nothing less than 2 full days in Petra " it really is the Jewel of Jordan"

Finally the Jordanian people are the icing on the cake and unfortunately Petra will soon not be a hidden Jewel, I am sure more development will occur in the new future

p.s Sameer please look at my new facebook picture.
.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your kind review posted on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel!

Thank you for acknowledging the service you received from our great team. We have shared your comments with each of them as they truly are the driving force!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Petra Moon Hotel to exceed your expectations on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently spent two nights in Wadi Musa so we could spend a full, unhurried day at Petra. This is a beautiful, well-located, hotel with spacious, modern, clean and comfortable rooms (we were traveling with our college-age son, and our triple room provided plenty of separation), serving a very tasty breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The hotel staff are unusually gracious and welcoming. The staff was also very helpful in explaining the Petra site and in directing us to a very good nearby hammam (Turkish bath). A good value and overall a delightful experience. One word of advice - don't expect to take a bath in the room. Showers are the order of the day because water shortages prevent luxuriating baths.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Petra Moon Hotel and for posting a review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read such an incredible review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in order for us to exceed your expectations at Petra Moon on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Since the crown plaza is closed for renovations, this hotel seems like the best bet in town. I was next door at the Edom and this has a much more boutique feel, with a great location minutes from petra, and the main strip downtown. I would save the money from the crown plaza and put it towards a mule ride (not donkey) up petra, night petra and a visit to the crowns cave bar to make a perfect stay in petra. This is a very cute hotel in a good price point

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit to Petra Moon Hotel.

We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future!

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for our Petra visit. Service was excellent - our luggage was carried to and from our car which was parked safely up the street for us. We received a welcome drink on arrival which was a nice touch
The room was great - big and very clean with a great bathroom with some nice smellies. The mini bar is full of soft drinks and water and was free of charge. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast spread was really good - everything you could want to set you up for a full day in Petra!
You are just minutes from the entrance to Petra - this hotel is just up the hill behind the Movenpick
There are a few choices of places to eat at night but you don't come here for the nighlife.

Our Petra tip: Do Petra at night first (the hotel will prebook tickets for you) it only runs Mon/Weds/Thurs. You really need more than one day at Petra - it is a very long, dusty, hot day. There is only one route in and out so you have to walk all the way back after a very long climb to the Monastery. If you can, try to buy a 3 day ticket (only 10JD more than a 1 day ticket) That way you can do Petra on days 1 and 3 with a day off in between! Unfortunately our itinerary didn't allow for this and the ticket does have to be used on consecutive days so you can't do Petra, then leave and come back again later in the holiday - if you buy a 3 day ticket then it has to be used over the next 3 days!
Unmissable site and a great hotel to use as a base

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Petra Moon Hotel and for posting a review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read such an incredible review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in order for us to exceed your expectations at Petra Moon on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent location - just a few minutes walk from the entrance to Petra, but fairly quiet at night.
Friendly, cheerful and welcoming staff, even on arrival at 5.30am !
Clean, comfortable rooms.
Excellent breakfast and dinner buffets - very good variety of food, both "local" and "international" dishes, and very well presented.
Good value for money.
I would certainly be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel!
It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience with us, thanks in part to our comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We are thrilled that you definitely plan on staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for your generous compliments, and we look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

a 5 minute walk from the entrance to the petra site, great amenities, comfy beds, nice sheets, clean, great attentive service. didnt make it to the pool. there was some confusion with our booking before our arrival-- my friend had booked months in advance of our stay and was contacted that due to overbooking, they would move us to their partner hotel. my friend rebuffed and demanded they honor our original booking, and they did, and gave us complimentary access to the mini bar. fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Petra Moon Hotel and for posting a review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read such an incredible review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in order for us to exceed your expectations at Petra Moon on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.