We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Petra Moon Hotel to your Saves list
Petra Moon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Petra Moon Hotel in Jordan. It has a great location, recently renovated rooms, very friendly staff and overall a great value. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Petra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, and we thank you for posting such great review here.

The Petra moon hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Therefore, it is always a great pleasure to know that we have succeeded in doing our job.

We trust your stay in Jordan was pleasant, and hope to see you among our guests in the future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    380
    74
    16
    7
See reviews for
197
488
90
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

You can't do better in Petra than this hotel. We arrived around noon and our rooms weren't ready so we left our luggage and headed to Petra for a couple of hours. When we got back, our rooms were ready and supplied with plates of fresh fruit. The beds were comfortable and the pillows fluffy. Everything was very clean. The staff was very helpful and answered all our questions. We ate at their buffet the second night because we were too tired to think about going out and it was acceptable, not great food, but more than fine. The best thing though is the location-it is within easy walking distance to Petra. We went to Petra during the day twice and Petra by Night once. This hotel is the closest one to the entrance. Great location and value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for your kind review and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are joyful to read that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that you have singled out many positive elements as our rooms, our friendly employees and our convenient location.

On the other hand I was concerned in regards to your comment about our dinner buffet. Therefore,our Executive Chef is already working on enhancing the buffet with different varieties.


We all hope to welcome you soon again and we would like to thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a wonderful property, fairly new, very clean, very large rooms with big comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious. And the location of course can NOT be beat! This is THE place to stay in Petra. Only nice touch would be if the pool was heated!! Even when severely hot after a big long Petra hike, the pool is still too cold to enjoy for more than a few minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams.Rest assured that your valuable comment regarding the swimming pool will be addressed with the relative departments in order to enhance our provided services.

We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Heath, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were very pampered. We arrived early and our rooms were not ready. After our return from touring the antiquities, our luggage was in the room, and flowers and a fruit plate were waiting for us. Wonderful bed and lovely bathroom. Dinner menu was very good and breakfast buffet was wonderful. Loved the bed turn down and chocolates after an evening walk.

Definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are more than delighted to read your comments, as they are an invaluable source to us. We cherish your kind review and we have shared it with our team, as it is a great motivation to continue a high standard of service.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I didn't actually stay here, but they were kind enough to let me stash my luggage with them during my rush visit to Petra! I was on my way from Wadi Rum to Amman, and only had a few hours. I offered to pay, but they wouldn't accept my money. I don't know how I would have seen Petra otherwise, so I just wanted to write a note of appreciation. The lobby was very nice, and they even gave me a nice hibiscus drink while I was stuffing one of my bags. The location is great, they are very close to the entrance and the bus station. The next time I come to Petra for a longer visit I will certainly stay with them!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, even for a short time! and we thank you for posting such great review here.

The Petra moon hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Therefore, it is always nice to know that we have succeeded in doing our job.

We trust your stay in Jordan was pleasant, and hope to see you among our guests in the future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay when you are visiting Petra and are looking for a good price/quality hotel. We stayed at one of the family rooms with 5 seperate beds in a very big room but with a tiny bathroom. We stayed 3 nights here, enjoyed the buffet-style breakfast and also took advantagous of the buffet-style dinner (2 evenings). Food was great with a good local taste but no alcolhol (they serve tasty alcohol free beer). The top floor swimmingpool and area is very well done. Sadly enough freezing cold water at that time of the year but still enjoyable if you stay dry. The terrace must be great in summer time to enjoy the view, have a drink and take a splash in the pool. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had two problems with the room. One was a broken lamp (and consequent electrcity failure) and the other one was a smell in the bathroom. The electricity was fixed but they never got the smell out of the bathroom.
I really recommend this hotel but don't want to give it 5 stars given the minor problems we got and you cannot expect to have the same as in the nearby Movenpick. But given you pay 4 times more at the Movenpick, I know Petra Moon is where I will go back!

Room Tip: They have big family rooms for 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your kind words are much appreciated.

We have addressed the issue with the relevant departments in order to prevent any re occurrence in the future and we will certainly take your comment in consideration. We sincerely hope that this experience will not discourage you from staying with us in the near future, in order to demonstrate to you the improvements we have made as a result of your valuable comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

An adequate hotel. Room marred by size of bathroom - very small and towels were wet !!!. Note this hotel is "dry" as it is a family hotel. But you can get a drink at other hotels in the immediate vicinity. Ideally positioned within walking distance of the Petra visitor centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Yes, Petra Moon Hotel is a family business and we are proud of it...

We do apologize for any shortcomings, and your constructive comments will be taken to our consideration.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.