We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was OK but not 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Upper Main Rd, Wadi Mousa | PO Box 184, Petra - Wadi Musa 71811, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Was OK but not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We were supposedly "upgraded" to this when we were supposed to be at the Guesthouse. We certainly didn't feel upgraded even though we had a suite which was enormous but with tiny bathroom. Breakfast very ordinary. I think our tour group were just about the only guests there on the second night. The wifi reception was very poor and very slow even when you could get a connection. I think almost everyone in our group asked for another blanket - I don't think I've ever stayed at a decent hotel with no spare blanket in the cupboard.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note of your comments and as they are an invaluable source to review our performance, I have shared them with the departments concerned to ensure future improvements and avoid reoccurrences.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra assuring you in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    34
    34
    15
See reviews for
26
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poggibonsi, Italy
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

It boasts five stars but obviously not really worth it. The lobby is airy and grand. When we arrived was really warm inside, despite some reviews saying the contrary even if the days were almost the same (arrived 2nd january for two nights). The first night we were given a standard room clearly in need of some urgente renovation. Beside that even furniture is outdated and lookin cheap. The buffett dinner was a nice surprise with some sweets amazingly good.
The drinks are outrageously expensive and we were charged more than 20 euros for a couple of draft beers. The next night, upon our request, we were upgraded to a suite with big lounge, very comfortable and with great view over the mountains , one of the best asset of this hotel.
Breakfast was good enough. Wi-fi only in the lobby. Other people in our group staying at Petra Moon said they were better off there.

Room Tip: Mountain front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel facilities and services provided met your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back should your travel plans bring you back Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. The rooms are OK, the staff is very kind and helkpfull.
The Buffet restaurant is unfortunately like a waiting hall from a train station. Very bad acoustic and a lot of peolple running around. The Foord from the buffet (dinner and breakfast) is not the best quality. therefore we decided to have a diner in the a la carte Restaurant which is really delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is well out of Petra so there is no question of going to a restaurant to eat out unless you get a taxi. However it is high on a hill with good views of the rocky landscape at the back of the hotel. I had a very large comfortable, clean room on the side of the hotel and despite the room facing onto the foyer there were no problems with noise from inside or outside.
A very good choice at breakfast, waiters most attentive. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back should be quieter and have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our group only stayed one night after visiting Petra and arrived at sunset and left early the next morning so a full assessment of the hotel cannot be made because we didn't have time to use any of the facilities. The hotel is set on a hill with fabulous views and sunsets looking towards the Red Sea. We were upgraded to a suite of rooms because the hotel was not 100% full and these were very good but the whole ambiance of the rooms was spoiled by a cramped bathroom. Dinner was a set menu on the day we arrived and a bit tasteless but breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate. The bar service generally was a bit slow. The hotel is impressive to look at and very close to the Petra entrance. It was very chilly on the night we arrived and there were no blankets in the room and the heating/ air conditioner did not work. Although we asked for a blanket this never arrived by the time we had got into bed so wejust had to make do with what spare clothes we had to keep warm.

Room Tip: A room with a west view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The lobby was beautiful. The room was adequate. It was clean and had all the basics. The buffet for breakfast was excellent. It had everything from western choices and local dishes. We also ate dinner at the buffet anf that had a huge selection to choose from. The location was the best part of this hotel. Petra was right there.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side right next to street and entrance to Petra and it was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really don't know understand some of the "excellent" reviews of this hotel. I paid more than $200 a night for this hotel, and got a room that hasn't been updated in at least 4 decades. That alone wouldn't be a problem, but the bathroom smelled, it was like stale urine, I really didn't even want to go barefoot in there, I wore slippers in the shower even. I really haven't seen a hotel rooms this bad in a very long time, and certainly not from a major chain like Moevenpick. I will never again book a Moevenpick just assuming it must be OK, because it is after all a Moevenpick hotel.

I will agree with other reviews the breakfast was nice with a lot of choices. But the dinner buffet was really not good at all, sure there were plenty of choices but the quality of the food, and the preparation of the dishes were minimal at best, and well, down-right cheep at worst. I've had better food from the freezer, which is where I suspect most of these dishes came from as well.

This is one of those hotels that plays the bait and switch game to an extreme. Bait customers with a beautiful lobby, restaurant and public areas, then switch them to a room that doesn't remotely compare in anyway. It's a deceptive practice I find most egregious.

Upon arrival, there was a lone security guard out front, and I actually thought the hotel was closed. Even in the lobby there were no lights, and I wasn't sure it was open for business.

As to location, I think some people are confusing this hotel with the other Moevenpick at Petra, since some reviewers are saying it's a 5-10 minute walk to Petra. There is no way you can walk to Petra from this hotel. It's a pretty decent drive, let alone walk. There is another Moevenpick right at the entrance to Petra, I haven't stayed there, but I am sure it HAS to be better than this one.

This is only the second hotel I've give a terrible rating to, it's something I genuinely reserve for the worst either for service or facilities. This property earned it on both counts.

Room Tip: The best rooms will be at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel

Address: Upper Main Rd, Wadi Mousa | PO Box 184, Petra - Wadi Musa 71811, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel is a 10 minute drive from the entrance to the historic site of Petra, situated in a breathtaking secluded position on a hillside at an altitude of 1,400 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Resort
Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.