We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base to visit Petra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Petra Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Petra Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
JOD22 (JOD)
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent base to visit Petra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This family-run hotel in Wadi Musa was a great base to visit Petra.
As soon as we were ready to go after a basic home-made breakfast, they kindly drove us to the visitors entrance of Petra to give us a much-needed very early start to our day. We caught a quick taxi ride back up the hill - don't pay more than 2 Dinar for this trip. The rooftop terrace is a lovely place to relax and watch the sunset, before indulging in their delicious home-cooked dinner.
This hotel is right next door to a mosque. If you are a light sleeper, the 4.09am wake-up call can be tough!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    70
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
12
68
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Consider this hotel if you are looking for a budget hotel which is very close to the main attraction - Petra. They arrange our pick up from the Amman airport in a very reasonable price, driver (Mohammad) old chubby and extremely funny guy knows all the good places to eat local food. They arranged our entire Petra and Wadi rum tour. Small but clean room - very helpful staff. Overall great place in very cheap price.
I will not recommend you to take their dinner package as there are many options available outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the reception are quieter and has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A big thank you to Nazeer and his team for making our stay an absolute bliss! It's the best hotel with great price and so friendly staff. Rooms are very clean, hot water available throughout the day, clean bathroom. Breakfast and Dinner was great at such price.
Hotel arranged taxi for our entire trip and would like to extend our heartfelt thank you to Mohammed, the cab driver. He's the BEST!!!!
Thanks again!
People travelling with low budget and looking for great location, good price and good hospitality, please just book Petra Gate Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel team is very friendly and always available to provide excellent travel advice and make individual arrangements. Rooms are clean with comfortable mattresses. The rooftop terrace with a great view (especially at sunset!) makes you feel at home. In the evening, a tasty home-cooked dinner is served.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Shmona, Israel
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hands down, the best place to stay in Petra. The staff was extremely helpful and tended to our every needs. The food was great, the rooms were clean, and the price was fantastic, what more could you want! Very convenient as well, the hotel is located minutes from shops and not far from Petra's main gate at all. The staff arranged a cab to pick us up from the Aqaba border and saved us a bunch of money and time, not to mention the headache of not having to haggle with the cab drivers at the border. If you are going to Petra, pick the Petra Gate Hotel and you won't regret it one bit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Staff very accommodating and friendly, going out of their way many times to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They were very helpful in organising travel to other areas in Jordan - Taxi from Amman 70JD, bus to/from Wadi Rum 7JD and half day tour of Wadi Rum (including stay in camp site) for 40 JD or 50JD for full day tour.
Food was great and value for money costing 6JD with a hugh selection of dishes.
Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with hot water and heating. 15-20 min walk to the gates of Petra. Would defiantly recommend Petra Gate to backpackers, as two female travellers we felt very comfortable here.
Thanks Nasser!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

+ The staff in Petra Gate H&H was very helpful and friendly, food tasted fantastic and it was able to walk from the hostel down to Petra in about 20min.
- The owner told us dinner would cost 6€ but for some reason once charged 8. Plus, it's called buffet, but actually never refilled, so have to be punctual otherwise there is only certain food left. Breakfast is cheap (2€), if you are picky, however, you better buy your own food since there is not a lot of choice.
All in all we felt very comfortable and safe staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naser A, Owner at Petra Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your comment , Yes , you are right , The price for the Mansaf is 8 JD ,, and we only do this food when more tourist ask a bout it , because the cost is more expansive ,
I thing we told all our customers about the price , i am sorry if you not ,
Our breakfast is Jam , cheese ,butter , yogurt , Egg boil and fritz , saniora ,tomato, bread , Milk , tea , coffee , sorry if that a varied breakfast ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Gate Hotel

Address: Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Gate Hotel is located in the city , center and same street to the site 10-15 Minutes walk to the site , we can pick you up from Amman airport or Aqaba border to Petra for cheaper price , and every day we arrange a tour to the desert of Wadi Rum, camping sleep , and there is a kind of tour with the kings highway via Dead Sea back to Amman In our hotel our customers can enjoy the setting in our roof terrace and see the most beautiful view of Petra Mountin and same time can enjoy the buffet dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Petra Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Gate Hotel And Hostel
Petra Gate Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Gate Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.