We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY helpful, good for the budget traveler - Best driver EVER!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Petra Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Petra Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
JOD22 (JOD)
Trier, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“VERY helpful, good for the budget traveler - Best driver EVER!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this hostel due to the good reviews and a friend's recommendation. The hostel is very basic and not in perfect, top-notch shape, but is is an excellent place to crash if you are on a budget and looking to spend most of the time out in Petra and the surrounding areas anyway, coming here to store your luggage and sleep. Nasser from the reception and management was EXTREMELY helpful giving me some information on the site, a ride from the hostel to Petra, and also arranging for a cab to pick me up from Wadi Rum to the hostel and from the hostel to Amman Airport, stopping at Little Petra, Shawbak, and the Dead Sea for a fair price, so my days were used to the max. As a woman traveling alone, it was of utmost importance to be safe and well taken care of, and he didn't fail in selecting the drivers and checking in to see if everything was fine. If you need a cab driver for either around Petra or long-distance in Jordan, ask the reception to contact IBRAHIM (+962 777511514). You won't regret it. He was extremely pleasant, his English was great, he had a lot of interesting things to share, and it is enough to say that he was the most respectful and courteous driver I have had the fortune to ride with. I felt very, very safe driving around with him. Tip: REMEMBER to leave the key at the reception when you are out! I forgot and could have saved them some headaches. ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    70
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
12
68
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lokeren, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at the Petra Gate hostel for two nights. The hostel keeper, Naser Farajat, was most helpful to provide any information we wanted and helped out with all of our practical needs, and he even called up someone to find out actual information he didn't know himself. He helped us organize out visit to Wadi Rum. He is very honest and personally engages with you as a guest, and we paid a reasonable amount for the comfort we got in a two-bed room.
I don't know what other hostels in Petra new town are like but I am confident that we made a very good choice to stay at the Petra Gate hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good stay at a hostel that was clean and well run, and all rooms have en-suite and hot water. Spent two comfortable nights there and the staff were friendly and helpful and even helped arrange the bus to come and pick us up from the hostel to take us on to wadi-rum. It is a bit rugged around the edges, for instance the curtains had tears and the bathroom door was broken, this is not a 5 star establishment, but for somewhere inexpensive and practical to spend a few nights while you explore the surrounding area it was very good. The hostel is on a hill outside petra, it is 10-15 minutes away downhill along the main road to the main gate, but it will be more like 20-25 (especially after a tiring day) to get back up the hill, alternatively take a taxi, but do not pay more than 2JD for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in the hotel for 2 days on our travels through Jordan, this is a great cheap and cheerful hotel. The rooms are quiet small and the shower was interesting. But the guy who runs the place made up for everything he couldnt do enough for us, he gave us a lift to the site in the morning, the sell lunchboxes for you to take out for the day. He recommended little Petra which is well worth a visit. When we checked out he gave us a lift to the minibus but we missed it by 10 mins he called the driver and got him to stop then drove us to the bus. He wouldn't take any money he did it as he wants his guests to have a positive experience. I would 100% recommend this hotel, there are some really good cafe's within a short walk too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just stayed together with my wife in this hotel. I would totally not recommend this place. The rooms were small and old. Hot water was not available, so we had to take a cold shower. Furthermore there was no AC/fan and the window could not be opened so we were soaking wet of our own sweat at the end of the night. If you want to wake up multiple times due to the call of the nearby mosque, this is the place to be. If you want to have a decent rest, please go to another place. The other night we stayed at the valley stars inn hotel which was around 16 dinar more, with more than ten times the quality of this place.

The owner of this place arranged a trip for us, without mentioning additional costs which were considerable. After confronting him with these facts he replied that arranging a trip in his opinion only includes transport. We were told we would be taken to the dead sea and had to pay around 20 euro per person for just dipping into the dead sea.

In conclusion; don't stay at this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammersmith, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staff were amazingly helpful, went out of their way to get us cheap taxis and the best contacts for the rest of our trip, and provided an amazing packed lunch for 3.50 JD for us to take into Petra. Breakfast was included and we could have it at anytime - on the morning we left for Petra at 6am, he packed it up for us to take with us as he wouldn't be there to serve it! Very close to restaurants and about a 20 minute walk to the Petra site, or a 1JD taxi ride. Has a fantastic roof terrace overlooking the town and mountains. However the time we were there it was incredibly quiet - I think we may have been the only people staying there so not great if you're looking to socialise. The room itself was clean enough but a little shabby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great service and hospitality! Very helfull, friendly and good english speaking staff. Clean and comfortable room with a nice shower. On the rooftop of this hotel you will find the most beautifull view across the valley. 1 minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Gate Hotel

Address: Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Gate Hotel is located in the city , center and same street to the site 10-15 Minutes walk to the site , we can pick you up from Amman airport or Aqaba border to Petra for cheaper price , and every day we arrange a tour to the desert of Wadi Rum, camping sleep , and there is a kind of tour with the kings highway via Dead Sea back to Amman In our hotel our customers can enjoy the setting in our roof terrace and see the most beautiful view of Petra Mountin and same time can enjoy the buffet dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Petra Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Gate Hotel And Hostel
Petra Gate Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Gate Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.