We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location For Petra Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort Petra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort Petra to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort Petra
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tourism Street | Wadi Mousa, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
112 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Perfect Location For Petra Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed in March 2013 for two nights the day in between was my 65th birthday and I always wanted to visit Petra and my birthday was a good reason to go then.

Was worried a few days before arriving as President Obama was due to visit and I would have been hacked off if was the same days as me. Fortunately, he arrived three days later.

It is almost at the entrance to the Visitors Centre but this was not a problem with noise. Little time was spent in the hotel apart from sleeping and meals. The food was OK.

Whilst I will not be returning to Petra as it has been crossed off my "bucket list", I would have no problem recommending this, purely on its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided and hotel facilities met your satisfaction.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    732
    264
    80
    40
See reviews for
430
894
108
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

One of the best hotels we've stayed at and right door to the Petra Unesco world heritage site. The hotel has 5 star dinning, spectacular pool and great security. We'll definitely go back and we highly recommend Moevenpick Resort Petra, when you are in Jordan.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us; the hotel facilities and services provided met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salalah, Oman
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A two minute stroll from the Visitor's Centre, Moevenpick Resort Petra, is at the best possible location to visit the majestic Petra. My wife and I stayed overnight with little time in the hotel, but the time spent there was comfortable and most importantly relaxing. The room, relatively small was intelligently designed and the decor much comforting. The room service was prompt, efficient and food (beef burger) was delicious. Little choice for vegetarians, but a decent Margaritas Pizza did keep my wife pleased. The very important morning breakfast was decent, a bit scattered in the layout but an expert hand at the omelette station made up for it. The spaces in the hotel are well arranged for relaxing and has a good open roof bar. The staff are cordial and willing to lend a helping hand. We enjoyed our short stay and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Uppermost level, so that less distance to travel from the roof top bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.


Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Closest possible location for visiting the old Petra site. It's literally a stone throw from the entrance to the Petra site. Excellent market area with many shops full of friendly, non-pushy merchants. Very clean rooms and extremely safe, friendly environment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us; the hotel facilities and services provided met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.
Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Best thing about this hotel is the location.. We just had to walk 40 steps to reach the entry gate to Petra.
This is a small, niche hotel.
Frankly, the fun is to spend as much time in old Petra instead of hotel hence I recommend this hotel as the location is strategic !
Go for it :))

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your explicit review on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We toured Israel and Petra and this hotel was the best of the 5 we visited. The location is perfect, the rooms were beautiful as were the entire facilities in the hotel. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Both served excellent food with plenty of choices. If you are visiting the Petra historical site, there cannot be a better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your explicit review on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We chose to stay at the Moevenpick in Petra due to its location next to the visitors centre. It is indeed 100 metres from where you buy the ticket to enter... and since you are going to walk A LOT it is really appreciated to have your hotel next door when you finish.

Other than that, our stay there for 2 nights was very pleasant. The room was smallish but very nice, comfortable bed and good quality amenities. We tried the room service which was ok and the buffet breakfast which was very good.

Don't forget to try the Moevenpick ice creams!! They even deliver them to the room 24/7!!

I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Petra and looking for a 4* or 5* option to choose this property!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,



Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moevenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street | Wadi Mousa, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Mövenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moevenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Moevenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort Petra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.