We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“petra trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Petra Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Petra Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Petra St., Petra - Wadi Musa 155, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
uae
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“petra trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

The Hotel is clean and close to the gate of Petra and the services is excellent, >> the price is cheap >>> the staff is very nice

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    16
    12
    16
See reviews for
4
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The hotel has one and only one advantadge: its great location, just behind de Mövenpick you are three minutes away from the entrance to Petra, but management hasn't done much else for the hotel. Considering its medium range price you sort of get what you pay for (plus the proximity to Petra). We got a room with two single beds (we had requested one queen), lightning was a bit awkward (hospital-like), and satellite TV was fine (but mostly arab channels), given the time of the year A/C was not required but when turned on was noisy. The bathroom was acceptable, towels and linens were just OK (as all else), only "general cleaning liquid soap" was provided (the stuff you wash dishes with), additional toilet paper (we stayed for two nights) was given solely under request at the front-desk. The included breakfast is nothing to write home about (but helpful for a morning in Petra) and the staff was not what you would call helpful. Overall I would say this place is to be recommended onfly if you are looking to spend most of the time inside Petra and just need a place to go sleep (and wake up early the following morning).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

The Petra Inn was the most disguisting place I had ever stayed in. Petra being one of the Seven wonders of the World one would assume that every hotel would be up to normal standards. Very far from the truth. My friends and I recently stayed in the Petra Inn and we were very disguisted. When we arrived in the room there was:
1. Astray with cigarette butt
2. The mini fridge had a half a bottle of water
3. Floor in the bathroom wet
4. The built in wardrobe falling apart
5. The floor was dirty
6. The bed looked dirty
7. Towels were hard and old
8. Bathroom hadn't been cleaned
9. There wasn't any handwash or body wash in the bathroom
10. The breakfast contained a piece of cheese, two slices of cucumber and tomato, a small slice of processed meat, toast and when it was bought to our room there was no cutlery.
As soon as we checked in we no joke contacted the front desk every five minutes with an issue.
My advice is to spend the extra cash in Jordan and stay at the well known hotels like Marriott or Crowne Plaza as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

My room was filthy, the tv didnt work, my room was pokey & looked out onto a brick wall. The bed was terrible & not the cleanest & it had masty nylon covers from the 1960's. The shower dripped contantly, the toilet leaked, the sink faucet was noisy, the bathroom door squeeked constantly, the lock to my room would not work properly...took me about 3 mins to open it. The lift were temperamental. The maids would not clean the bathroom, sand from being in petra remained in my shower for days. I would not eat in the restaurant as the tablecloths were filthy as were the crockery & cutlery AND when I saw the waiters fold up the USED napkins for re-use I nearly threw up. Avoid this hotel at all cost... I had no option as I was on a tour with Intrepid...who I sincerely hope have stopped using this horrific hotel. it makes my skin crawl when I remember this place.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Absolutely horrid experience from start to finish. This place should not be in the business of renting rooms or serving food to anyone!

Dark, dank rooms where everything is mis-built and/or not working. The accomodations come complete with dodgy service and no hot water.

Had no choice in my booking as I was part of an OAT tour (OAT has lost a customer on this one), but if you have any choice in the matter pick somewhere else - anywhere - else to stay.

  • Liked — Early Check-out
  • Disliked — Everything..........tear it down and start over.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

this hotel is a disgrace to the Jordanian tourism. It is dirty;nothing functions properly. The door handles do not fit the door opening; the commode fell to the side when it was used. Go to the top floor, and all the trash is dumped there. The beds are uncomfortable and it is a surprise that we do not have bedbugs in the meantime. The carpet is dirty; there is no hot water; the rooms are cold until you complain.

We were there with an OAT group, and we were all ready to move to another hotel. It was disgusting.

Dinner and Breakfast are not any better than the rooms are!

  • Liked — to leave in the morning
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We escaped to Petra Inn after staying one night in the horrific Petra Moon next door.

The lobby, the rooms, breakfast were acceptable. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Location is great - very close to Petra gate.

Since it was winter, we had problem with the hotel staff always trying to economize on the heating and hot water. If you select this hotel, be firm with the staff in insisting on having hot water in the morning or whenever case may be.

I can't understand why can't they increase the price a bit and stop tempering with heating and hot water, which seems to be Jordanian national sport in the hotels.

Unfortunately, I did not find any other viable midrange hotel options in Petra, close to the gate. Maybe you'll be luckier.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unstable heat & hot water
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petra Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Inn Hotel

Address: Petra St., Petra - Wadi Musa 155, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Petra Inn. The tans may fade, the memories will not. Put smiles on your clients'€™ Faces They'll remember Petra Inn and the Agent who sent them there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Petra Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Hotel Wadi Musa
Petra Inn Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.