We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel at top of Petra mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Amra Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top notch hotel at top of Petra mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

As often happens on a busy vacation schedule we spent little time in our room, but the accomodations were spacious and bright, with very comfortable bedding. The entry courtyard catches your attention upon arrival - the ascending staircase is elegantly landscaped, wrapping around a soothing central fountain. We appreciated the calm, relaxing courtyard atmosphere even more after spending a hectic, dusty day at the Petra heritage site avoiding galloping Arabian stallions, negotiating with persistent street vendors, and careening around carts, camels, and donkeys attended by feckless adolescent boys. The indoor, heated Amra pool and Jacuzzi was a veritable desert oasis for our tired muscles, stiff joints, and shattered nerves at the end of the day. Also be sure treat yourself with a body scrub and massage in the adjacent hotel Turkish bath at an extremely attractive price. When we checked out the next day the Amra staff made arrangements to storage our luggage until the end of the day. When our tour return trip was delayed, the hotel staff invited us to enjoy the pool, Jacuzzi, and Turkish bath facilities without charge until our tour resumed. The staff members were very courteous, attentive, and gregarious. Top notch place to stay on the top of Petra mountain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Our garden setting provides a lovely environment for our guests to relax in after a long hot day in Petra away from the hustle and bustle.
We love hearing that you enjoyed relaxing in our swimming pool and took up the special offer for the Turkish bath.
Being able to provide guests with the facilities to shower when they return from Petra even if they have checked out is just one of the extra things that we are able to do.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Jordan as much as you enjoyed Petra and your stay at our hotel.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    361
    121
    29
    7
See reviews for
169
396
82
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is located at the gates of the Wadi Musa town, therefore a little far from a walking distance to Petra. Yet, they provide a free shuttle both morning and evenings, thus making it feasible and comfortable. Moreover, i actually recommend staying a little far from the town center or the gate of Petra, to avoid inconveniences and noises. The rooms are comfortable an cozy. Breakfast is huge and abundant and at very good standards. Also will recommend dinner at the hotel ,yet I guess at double price than eating outside. Basically a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor.
We enjoy hearing that you enjoyed the facilities and services such as the free shuttle bus and the selection available at the buffet breakfast. Thank you for your recommendation to others and we look forward to welcoming your friends and family to Amra Palace in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having stayed in some basic accommodation during our trip, and the night before at a Bedouin camp, we wanted to tick a few boxes for a night at Wadi Musa. This ticked them all for us: reasonably priced, a lovely (warm) pool for my youngest teenager, internet connection in the room for my oldest teenager, Turkish bath for me. We had spent a long day at Petra and knew that we had the opportunity of an unfriendly, more expensive hotel with a cold pool (moaned youngest teenager), and internet in the lobby (not in the room for exam revision) just outside Petra. Having seen some good reviews, we thought we'd look at The Amra Palace in comparison. We liked it, so decided to stay, and I'm so glad we did. We only stayed one night, slept well, and had a good breakfast before heading off to Wadi Rum the next day. It's far from 5* luxury but in comparison to other hotels in this price bracket in Jordan, it was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for writing such a great review about your stay.
There is nothing we like hearing more than from a satisfied guest and knowing that your stay at our hotel contributed to you having a fantastic holiday in Jordan. It's great that you were able to enjoy the facilities offered at our hotel such as the indoor swimming pool and the free Wifi.
Please come and stay with again in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I chose this hotel after reading such good reviews on TripAdvisor (where I always try to read between the lines, anyway), and was disappointed. We are two couples who stayed 4 nights during November. Our friends' television did not work and it took three demands and two days to get it fixed. As for our own room, it was impossible to take a bath rather than a shower as the water when emptying gushed out of the water disposal outlet in the floor and flooded the bathroom. When I reported it, a hapless attendant arrived with two loo rolls. "You'll need more than that," I quipped, and he returned with the necessary equipment to mop up the floor. The attendant was a lovely chap who seems to have been stuck with every job going - from baggage handling to maintenance. Then the shower head broke so we could only shower holding it. After that, the clothes rail in the wardrobe fell on top of my wife covering her in jackets and trousers. (Stupid rail design - at right angles to the back wall rather than along the length of the wardrobe and fixed by one screw susceptible to being pulled out by the weight of clothes). No apology from the front desk receptionist who merely asked why I hadn't called maintenance. "Because I'm telling you," I said. This is the same receptionist who moaned when I requested two card keys for the door, and handed the extra one to me reluctantly, saying "We don't have many cards." Oh, and on our departure day, the clothes rail fell out again...

On a positive note, the staff, apart from the one receptionist, were really friendly, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were both substantial and economically priced. However, If you're vegetarian (which my wife is) you'll have to stick with salad - even the vegetable soups were made with chicken stock. On the downside, if there isn't a tour group staying, a dinner buffet is not provided (happened to us on one night) and the a la carte menu is very meagre (and, relative to the buffet cost, expensive for what it offers). Room cleaning appeared to be efficient (my higgledy-piggledy bits and pieces were always re-arranged neatly on the desk...) though it's not always possible to tell with carpeted rooms. A tiled floor would be preferable, considering the dirt and dust people carry in from Petra). There's a nice terrace to relax on, but we didn't use the swimming pool. The morning call to prayer is LOUD, but it's a sound I love so no problems with that. Basically, as far as I'm concerned, the hotel needs to up its game where maintenance is concerned.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are sorry that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. In regards to the issues that you had with your room we have spoken to our housekeeping staff in order to improve the process of when issues are detected in rooms. We have also spoken to the reception staff to ensure that they handle guests requests in an efficient and professional manner. We are reviewing how all of our maintenance requests are handled to ensure that the the turnaround is quick and also the outcome is satisfactory for the guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Good value for money. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast selection. Fantastic SPA and pool. Evening buffet with good choices and we loved the complementary tea mix.
Owner/manager interacting with guess to make sure you are having a good time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor.
We enjoy hearing that you enjoyed the facilities and services such as the selection available for the buffet breakfast and the friendly helpful nature of our staff.
We look forward to welcoming your friends and family to Amra Palace in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a very pretty hotel, but it was an awful place to stay.....first the A/C was not working therefore we had to keep our windows open, at 5:00am the call to prayer woke us, every morning. The service was very poor, our towels were not refolded and the toilet paper not refilled, so I am not sure then other then making the bed they did anything in our room. I paid for hotel wide wifi but was only able to use it the lobby and I asked for a refund it was refused....The food was poor and some of the food that was supposed to be hot was cold and the quality was only okay.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are sorry that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Our housekeeping staff change all towels daily so we are unsure of what happened with your room. We have spoken to the staff to ensure that they continue to provide fresh towels to each and every room. Also our Wifi is free therefore it is not possible to provide a refund for something which is provided free of charge to all guests.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Head
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in Amra Palace for a few days. It is a great hotel - the reception staff were extremely nice and helpful always - and good fun as well. The hotel breakfast is a fabulous spread and there was an evening buffet each night which was also excellent. The hotel provides shuttle buses to the Petra site each morning and afternoon. There is a beautiful under cover pool and spa with the option of massages and steam rooms…perfect after a long day walking around the Petra site. There is a lovely terrace with great views - a perfect place to relax. We really had a great stay - the only small issue was intermittent internet in the room, however there was always internet access in the lobby area with lovely couches to sit on - so not a big issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Your excellent review on TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated.
We have passed on your complements to the chefs about enjoying the food that was on offer for the buffet dinner and breakfast. It's great that you were able to make use of our garden terrace and relax after a long day of walking in Petra.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Jordan as much as you did at Petra and our hotel.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.