We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Amra Palace and we were very pleasantly surprised.The hotel was clean and tidy but the staff were the best, always very friendly and helpful. We had dinner that evening and it was a banquet with great variety of food available. It is very close Petra and they have a free shuttle bus for guests.Such a great place to stay I would highly recommend this hotel and is excellent value for money. They kindly arranged for a taxi to pick us from Petra to bring us back to the hotel to collect our luggage and they even let us freshen up before we left even though we had checked out. On our 6 day trip to Jordan and Isreal/Palestine this was the cheapest hotel that we stayed in but by far the most enjoyable and best hotel. Bravo! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Your excellent review of your stay at our hotel is most appreciated. We are flattered to hear that on your recent holiday that you found our hotel to be the best value for money and the best hotel that you stayed at. We will pass on your feedback and complements to the staff so that they continue to provide a level of customer service that makes for a pleasant stay for our guests. They work very hard and it's nice for them to have this hard work and dedication recognised.
Offering guests the option of being able to freshen up before their onward journey, even though they have checked out, is another one of the services that we like to be able to provide to ensure that our guests leave happy and comfortable and not feeling like they are carrying half the dust of Petra with them.
Thank you again for your complements and praise.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    333
    100
    25
    7
See reviews for
149
375
70
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Amra Palace is about 30 minutes from Petra, by foot. They have a shuttle 3 times in the morning and evening but it is difficult to go for dinner near the Petra site when staying there. The rooms are a good size, clean and quiet but most of all, the service is absolutely wonderful. Everybody went out of their way to help, with no expectation of a tip. Breakfast (included) is very good and varied : eggs (including an egg station), cereals, breads, yogourts, fruits, juices, etc. We took advantage of the hamman and the poll while we were there. The service was excellent, the place was clean and we felt safe all along. Women masseuses are assigned to women.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your experiences when staying with us. It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed such things as the quality of the food at breakfast including the freshly cooked eggs to order. All our staff work very hard to make our guests feel welcomed, comfortable and safe and we will pass on your complements to them that they achieved this during your stay.
Please come back and stay with us again.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just five minutes drive from entrance to the Petra archeological site, Amra Palace is a great place to stay and relax. Good service, excelent turkish bath and swimming pool, comfortable rooms, good food. After leaving for Aqaba I realized that I left my camera at the hotel, they took care to send it to my new location. Thanks!.

Room Tip: View to the west with nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about your recent stay at our hotel. We love hearing from guests that they enjoyed all the services and facilities that our hotel offers and that these helped to make for an enjoyable stay. Helping out guests and organising onward transport or the return of belongings that have been left behind is just one of the customer service offerings that we pride ourselves on being able to provide to guests.
Please come back and stay with us again in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amra Palace Hotel in Wadi Musa is an excellent chiose if you want to combine Petra with local life. The hotel is in the center of Wadi Musa and the hotel has free busses down to Petra Visitor Center. The standard is good and you have the best possible value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Your review on TripAdvisor is most appreciated. It's great to hear that you appreciated the location of our hotel in the centre of the town to be able to take advantage of all the local facilities.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Jordan.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Jordan. The service was excellent, everyone from the reception staff, the waiters, the shuttle bus drivers to the owner who clearly believes in old-fashioned proper hospitality and actually chats to his guests and wants to be sure that his guests are happy. The dinner buffet was excellent and good value too. The breakfast buffet was generous with plenty of variety. The rooms are tastefully decorated. The bed was actually the most comfortable bed I've slept in since I started travelling 4 months ago. I really like the double glazed windows which made the room nice and quiet. Free shuttle down the hill is very useful. Laundry service very efficient. Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Your positive review is very much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to write it.
We are delighted to hear that you found out hotel to be the best you stayed at in Jordan and that you really enjoyed the beds. We pride ourselves on being able to offer guests the highest quality and most comfortable mattresses available as we know that guests need to get a good nights sleeps after a long day walking in Petra.
We would love to welcome you back to Amra Palace again in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed two nights here based on trip advisor reviews and not disappointed.
Staff were incredibly helpful from check in to organising our onward travel and wadi rum trip.
The hotel grounds are very well thought out with an inviting cool lobby, pretty courtyard with spa, swimming pool and jacuzzi.
The outdoor terrace for dining is great for relaxing and watching the sunset over wadi musa.
The hotel was able to organise petra by night and they have free shuttles to petra itself too.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and what you would expect in a much more expensive establishment.
The breakfast selection is impressive and plentiful, as is the dinner buffet.
The owner makes a point of speaking to all his new guests which lends an element of familiarity that a larger chain hotel would not portray.
A particular point about organising a stay overnight in wadi rum - the owner arranged for us to have a tour and stay at the rum magic camp which they use. He explained that they had previously used 3 camps but due to complaints had had to find another. So far, in the last 6 months they had had no complaints.
Read my review of rum magic camp to see if it's your kind of thing. For us, it was the favourite part of our trip to Jordan, due in most part to the owner of Rum Magic and our bedouin guide. Though, it may not be to everyone's taste.
Overall, Amra Palace lives up to its reputation. Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
We would like to express our sincere gratitude for you writing such a wonderful review of your stay at our hotel. The level of detail with which you have described the services and facilities that we offer really helps us to attract future business.
The staff and management like for our guests to be able to make the hotel their home away from home. As management we find that if we are able to talk to our guests and get first hand from them how they are enjoying their stay that we are able to truly offer a level of service and facilities that guests expect.
Organising onward travel arrangements is just one of the services that we like to be able to offer our guests so that the rest of their time in Jordan is as enjoyable as their stay at Amra Palace. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated this and had a good stay in Wadi Rum.
We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to stay with us in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I just got back from an amazing trip to Jordan. We stayed in this gem of hotel near Petra. The staff from the bellmen to the dining room to the front desk were all friendly, helpful and professional. The rooms were cozy, the food excellent and the Turkish massage fantastic after a day trekking in Petra. The people of Jordan are some of the warmest in all my travels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor.
We love hearing that your guest enjoyed all aspects of their stay at our hotel from the wonderful customer service of the staff to the meals. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the Turkish bath to relieve your tired muscles after a long day trekking in Petra.
It's great to hear that you had a fantastic holiday in Jordan and that your stay at our hotel contributed to this.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.