We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Wadi Musa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Berkshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Wadi Musa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in the Amra Palace for two nights whilst visiting Petra. We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel and found the staff friendly, willing and very helpful. For example, we had stayed in a Bedouin camp in Wadi Rum the night before and wanted to shower and change before heading into Petra. So we phoned the hotel and asked if we could check in early (10am) and they ensured that our room was cleaned and available for when we arrived.

We ate in the hotel both nights and found the buffet varied, tasty and good quality. As others have mentioned the hotel does not serve alcohol, but this was not a concern. The owner came and spoke to us both nights during dinner to ensure that everything was fine and we liked this personal touch.

The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom is not at the level of a 5 Star hotel but was perfectly nice and was very clean. There is not much storage space in the room, but I guess as most people only stay 1 or 2 nights, this does not concern most people.

We had our own hire car and could park outside the hotel and it was an easy drive down to Petra.

The price for our stay was very reasonable and I think overall offered great value for money. My only criticism is that the doors are a little noisy and so you could hear doors closing whilst in your room. This did not detract from a really nice stay and I would stay there again if we return to Petra, which we hope we will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for writing a great review of your experience when you stayed at our hotel. We appreciate the level of detail that you provided in this review.
We aim to be able to fulfill our guests requests and accommodating early check in is certainly possible especially when you have rung us to let us know that you are on your way.
We are pleased to hear that you found the bed comfortable. We provide our guests with the most comfortable mattresses available in Jordan to ensure that they sleep soundly after long days in Petra.
Please do come back and stay with us again. We love having repeat guests who become part of the Amra hotel family.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    328
    98
    24
    7
See reviews for
147
366
69
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a good value hotel. Yes the room is a little small and it is dated but it is clean and the bedding was comfortable. The pool is fantastic at the end of the day after walking in the sun all day at Petra. The highlight are the friendly staff who make you feel so welcome. The breakfast is extensive but the quality is only just passable. However you should find something you like given the large amount of options available. The wifi signal is poor but if you sit near the door or in the lobby it is better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and providing some great feedback.
Our staff are by far our greatest asset at the hotel and we enjoy hearing from our guests that they found them to be friendly and welcoming. A refreshing swim in the pool is a great way to finish your long hot and dusty day walking around the site of Petra.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Jordan.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The management at the Amra Palace are exceptional, and it is the friendly, welcoming and personal touches that make any stay at this hotel so enjoyable. If you are looking for a 5 star international hotel, then this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, hospitable, pretty boutique hotel then look no further. Our two nights at the Amra Palace became an integral part of our memorable and wonderful visit to Petra and Jordan (rather than just putting our heads on pillows to sleep) - the staff even looked after my 7 month old baby at dinner so that I could try and eat! We loved our stay, and would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
We are so happy to hear that your time at Amra Palace Hotel was such a memorable and wonderful part of your holiday in Jordan. We like for all guests to be able to feel like our hotel is their home away from home. Our staff want to make sure that everyone has an enjoyable time including children and love to spend time with them.
Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and taking the time to write such a glowing review.
Please come back and stay with us again.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is operated for the 3 stars it claims. Also claims certificate of excellence, but we found the rooms to be very small, unclean carpets, tiny bathroom and overall very disappointing stay.
The breakfast spread was reasonable, wifi connectivity in room difficult and there was extra fee for us of all additional facilities like Swimming pool, turkish bath, steam room etc.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
We are sorry that your stay at our hotel wasn't up to your expectation.
Our housekeeping staff work very hard to ensure that all the rooms are clean and tidy and we take on board your feedback that you didn't think your room was up to standard.
Just to clarify the swimming pool is free to use and is a heated indoor swimming poor so that our guests can use this facility all year round. We offer guests a special offer which for 13JD (approx $20) you get use of the Turkish bath which includes the steam room, scrub and massage and also unlimited access to the internet. We think this represents very good value and the majority of our guests love this special offer and find it within their budget and a great price compared with other hotels that offer spa treatments.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice staff, good meal, nice place !
Top for visiting Petra !
Great breakfast with nice omelette and pancakes.
The swimming pool was really nice and a great break after a hot day hinking
You can't go wrong if you stay there, I thoroughly and strongly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for your positive review on your stay at our hotel. The freshly cooked pancakes and omelettes at breakfast time are a favourite with our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed them.
We appreciate your recommendation.
We would love to welcome you, your family and friends to our hotel anytime.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel offered a quiet and comfortable location away from the entrance to Petra, You can relax with a Turkish bath and massage and a great swim in the pool after a long 6 km walk in Petra. A really enjoyable stay and a pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The rooms and bath are small but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable and quiet. Our location away from the hustle and bustle of the entrance gate allows our guests to relax in our pleasant garden surrounds or out on the terrace.
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we welcome you back in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Phenomenally friendly, helpful and professional staff! We had to change our booking on very short notice and had the penalty waived without even asking for it. The rooms are smallish but clean and comfortable, the indoor pool and jacuzzi sparkling - and great after a days walking in Petra! We thoroughly and strongly recommend the place.

Room Tip: One tip, though, for light sleepers: you may want to bring earplugs - there are three mosques in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
We love hearing that the friendly and helpful nature of our staff contributed to you enjoying your stay at our hotel. We will certainly pass on your praise to them so that they know that they are doing a great job. We are pleased that you were able to utilise the pool and jacuzzi to relax after a long day in Petra.
Thank you for your review and recommendation.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.