We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalised service, very comfortable bed, great amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Personalised service, very comfortable bed, great amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great value for money. From now on, I will compare every hotel I stay at against Amra, it's hard to beat. The staff was great and cheery, the bed was very soft and the jacuzzi was a welcome bonus after a day of walking around Petra. One thing I would warn people against, if you are planning to take a trip to Wadi Rum, the guide that the hotel recommends, Saod, is not very good. I'm uncertain if AMRA Palace has received similar complaints about this particular guide but we were very disappointed with him. He speaks English but we were assigned to one of his employees who was nice enough but couldn't speak much English therefore there was no such thing as 'guided tour' of Wadi Rum. Saod himself barely spent any time with us, only at dinner time at the camp and that seemed more like an obligation to him. Find another guide at Wadi Rum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    328
    97
    24
    7
See reviews for
146
366
69
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Amra Palace hotel for 3 nights at the start of December 2012. We liked their style from the start, I emailed them with questions and they responded quickly which put our minds at ease, they even rang us to confirm details! They organised our pick up from the airport and drop off. On the trip back to the airport we took a tour which included the Dead Sea.
We found all the staff super nice and informative. Our room was comfortable and any problems we had was sorted quickly. The Hotel is located at the other end of town to the entrance of Petra, which was fine, we used their free shuttle service to get to Petra which was great. We'd say the best thing about this hotel is its great service. One thing they could improve on is hotter water in the shower, but we were there in winter so were feeling the cold more, in summer it would be a different story! We really enjoyed our stay at Amra and loved Petra and the Dead Sea!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Central location, close to everything that traveller need. Very friendly and helpful staff. I recommend eating there – excellent kitchen especially buffet dinners. It was easy to drive to Petra ruins but you can also use hotel’s shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff is great, trying to help you in any issue, always smiling and collaborative. 3 minutes far by taxy (2/ 3 jordan dinars, 2€) by Petra visitor center. It's a great price /quality choice, including very good buffet for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed in the Amra Palace Hotel in August 2012 for 2 nights. Before I arrived to the hotel, it was easy to arrange through the hotel a 2-hour taxi transfer from Aqaba. The hotel itself is in a great location and has an amazing patio with wonderful sunset views. This is where all meals were served and the buffet food we had for breakfast and dinner was excellent. The best part of the hotel (besides the well-functioning and very clean rooms) are the awesome front desk professionals who anticipated our every need and had great knowledge about visiting Petra and travel in Jordan, in general. I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel and it was a highlight of my one-month trip through the region.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was booked for us as part of a two day tour we booked to Petra and the Wadi Rum. Our first night was at a "3 Star" hotel in Al Aqaba (the Mina) - so the quality of that property (mediocre) set my expectations for this one. When we arrived at the Amra Palace for our second night, however, it was a different world.
Our room was clean and comfortable and since we were on the second floor, had no issues with the elevator. The bathroom was modern, clean and everything was in working order. Our stay included dinner and breakfast the next morning. Since it was new years eve, we were invited to take dinner as part of a new years eve party hosted around the indoor pool, complete with party hats and horns. What a great surprise. We needed to supply our own wine or champagne which we found about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. (--and of course paid $40 for a $5 bottle). Breakfast in teh AM was very good too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Far enough from Petra to distance yourself from the chaos and good enough for the price. The hotel was out of power when we arrived, but management worked to correct it and ended up being fine. Very nice hotel staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.