We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Petra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Amra Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best value in Petra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We originally had booked a very cheap room (16JD/night) at the Mussa Springs Hotel. However, the hotel was unbearably smoky because the staff was chain smoking indoors. So, considering the recommendation of the Lonely Planet, we booked a room at Amra Palace. It was amazing!!! The price wasn't bad (48JD/night for 2 of us), the rooms were extremely comfortable (hot water, climate control, refined like hotels in the US), and were very clean and well decorated. An elaborate, free breakfast buffet was included in the rate as well as free wireless internet (which actually didn't work very well). This was by far our favorite hotel in Jordan; we stayed mostly in cramped budget hotels in Jordan, though did also stay in the Seven Wonders Hotel in Petra (more expensive but not as great a value as Amra). The staff was extremely friendly, but hey ... so was everyone in Jordan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    365
    124
    31
    9
See reviews for
171
404
83
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had three single females just staying one night and Amra Palace accommodated. Since we were only there to sleep (too much to see and do at Petra to spend time in hotel!) it was sufficient. The room was not fancy, but was clean and for the price, a great value. Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed there 2 nights and one day with my girlfriend. That was in mid-November.
Staff was very nice and give us a nice welcome and took care of are questions/requests.
The double room we had was good. It was a bit cold so we turned the AC to max, and view was not specially nice.
Breakfast & diner are buffet. Dishes are good except dessert.
The only bad side was the lunch box proposed to take away that is not good.
We didn't had time to try pool and sauna but it sounded delightful.
Not too far from the entrance of site (maybe 2km max, 20min by foot). Parking area migh be small but it was not an issue in November.

I'll definitively go there next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Amra Palace is wonderful. They staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly and genuinely want to help.

Rooms are small but very well appointed and spotless - very good value for the 48JD per night we paid.

The 13JD hamman was excellent, but go at 3:30 when it's not busy otherwise you can get rushed through. Also do go to breakfast and dinner, they put on a great spread for small money.

All in all, a great place to stay. Staying close to Petra's gate makes things expensive and you get stuck in the coach parties that ferry people in from the cruise ships; it's much more relaxing and pleasant at Amra.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Amra Palace last week and I have to say it was the best of the three places we stayed in Jordan, including Le Royal in Amman! The people went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed including having the bus drive us to the Movenpick and they arranged for it to pick us up as well. Breakfast was great and the bedding was super comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Nice turkish bath on site..it was very enjoyable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Can't really fault this place. Good food, a pleasant, bright and clean room, and friendly and helpful staff. It's located 15 minutes' walk from the entrance to Petra Siq, or 3JD and 3 minutes in a taxi. You might be tempted to jump in a taxi after a long day walking in the old city! It's perfectly located for a short stroll to the restaurants, bank, and shops.

If I was being really picky, the one (very minor) problem I had was that the wifi/Internet dropped out a couple of times.

I'd definitely go again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay in Petra was excellent - we felt wonderful at this hotel at any moment. After long walks across Petra we enjoyed the Jacuzzi to relax the mussels. Thanks to all the staff. Petra downtown (shops, restaurants) is within walking distance in case you like to discover the city.
The meals at Amra Palace were outstanding, a nice buffet for the eyes and for the mouth.
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.