We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Panorama Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Petra Panorama Hotel to your Saves list
Petra Panorama Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Rania Street, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
College Place, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel has great views from most rooms, esp at sunrise and sunset--the higher, the better. It is older and "well used" but has been kept-up in fair condition, although it is over-due for a good re-do. The food is OK but nothing to write home about and they charge for internet. I was here 2 yrs ago and it has not changed much. It is out of town a mile or so which you have to go through to get to the Petra entrance.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the views and the closer to the dinning room and the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    106
    94
    37
    15
See reviews for
40
82
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a bit old and shabby but comes with a great view down on Petra. Food was subpar and drinks and extras at tourist level prices across the board,100% above normal rates in Jordan. Internet access is limited to one device and costs 10 dinars for a day. Reception laughed at us and told me he doubted my mother actually needed internet access anyway when we asked about multiple devices...this place was in a package and probably would avoid going there again if back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is in urgent need of full renovation. Although the location is beautiful, rooms,math rooms need to be redone.
Huge dining room, average food, no fruit for breakfast.
Other downside, you need to take 2 separate elevators to reach the rooms, a long walk.
The hotel is quite far from Petra.
Having said that the staff is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very disappointing hotel. They claim to have all rooms fronting the mountain but this a lie as some front... the swimming pool... with no mountain view at all! We had partly a mountain view fortunately. So I guess we were lucky... And for any unexplainable reason we had... 3 beds in a room for 2!

But the two nights we spent there with the group we found each evening a different cockroach in the bath!!! Cleanliness is a major trouble in this hotel. We remember of a sticky floor at the restaurant. They never clean the restaurant floor as my shoes were always sticky.

Besides, reception staff was completely incompetent telling us that towels were near the pool when there was not any and that we could have buffet dinner until 9:30 PM though the restaurant was open until 10:30 PM!

Restaurant staff was unfriendly and unefficient. I remember of empty dishes left like that more than 15 minutes making people angry. I personaly had an argument with a restaurant staff because he wanted to charge me for the little water from the restaurant I took in my small bottle! Easy business is easy business in Jordan.

I noticed that Jordanians love to "milk" the decreasing tourists they have since the syrian cival war making them losing lots of tourists. But "Petra Panorama Hotel" gave me 3 times this bad feeling! Too bad because casual Jordanians not working in the tourism business are not like that.

Do not believe the "3 stars" they gave to his hotel. "One star" european standards is fairly enough for this crapy place. It is totally run down. Better go to the "Möwenpick" hotel or another one around. They are not much more expensive than "Petra Panorama" but certainly much better worth your money!

Room Tip: No idea. And even though I do not recommend this place at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is built in a mountain slope. Lobby is in one of the top floors and rooms are beneath. The floor layout is very confusing! To get to your room you have to go down two floors, then walk a long sloping hallway to take another elevator that will take you down to your floor, then choose the right hallway to your room. You need some time to figure this out.

All rooms have a fantastic view of the desert.

The room had a strong cigarette smell. The staff sprayed it out, but it bacame worse. Had to open the window to clear it out. Desert dust came in.

The Dinner and breakfast buffets were good. For breakfast, the egg station took too long in preparing eggs to order, delaying many fellow passengers.

The hotel offers a lunch box option for those going to Petra for the day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Visiting Petra again, I wanted to stay in a hotel where I could get the best sunset and sunrise pictures. Petra Panorama was the right choice! You have a great view from your own balcony. Room was clean and quiet, breakfast and dinner were ok.

Room Tip: Room with an own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

After 14 days spent in Holy land I am able to compare hotels from Egipt, Jordanian and Israel. Ranking is a relative one, Petra Panorama was one of the best. Well organised, decent food, nice room with a magnificent view. It is not much to say. Great choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Panorama Hotel

Address: Queen Rania Street, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Panorama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Petra Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Panorama
Petra Panorama Wadi Musa
Petra Panorama Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.