We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tetra Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tetra Tree Hotel to your Saves list
Tetra Tree Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

... the WiFi was down for 2 days. When you are travelling from here to there, you do want to have internet access to check bookings, maps, roads, etc... that was an inconvenience. I read some reviews and apparently it's happened before.

The location could be better. It is on top of a hill. Luckily we rented a car so it was OK. It is a 5 min drive down to Petra. Plenty of parking just in front of the hotel.

For the rest, our stay was very pleasant. Helpful staff, very comfortable beds, airco, breakfast, etc. I'd recommended it. Good price for value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel rooms were large and clean, but we experienced a couple of problems during our stay which reduced our rating.

1. The internet was down for three days during our stay, and it only appeared to affect the Tetra Tree Hotel and not others in the area. We kept asking when it would be sorted out, but the answers were evasive and non-apologetic. Wifi is important for us as we use it to communicate and make plans, so the length of the internet outage was very problematic for us.
2. While many of the staff were excellent, there were some exceptions. In particular, we didn't appreciate when Mouhannad who brought our bags to our room on arrival, decided not to return our change when we tipped him. We gave him a generous tip, and it really was not appreciated when he decided to keep the rest. He promised both in Arabic (to my wife) and English to me that he would return with it (so there was no misunderstanding.) The amount was not a huge deal, but I really don't enjoy such "tactics" when I have already given a more than adequate tip.

Having said that, I think the hotel is well situated towards the top of the hill. Yes, you do have to take a taxi down/up to avoid a 20/40 minute walk, but it is closer to the shopping district in Wadi Musa with a greater selection of restaurants. I would avoid the mini-market directly across the street as the prices are doubled for foreign tourists. A 1.5 litter bottle of water was 1JD, instead of .35 or .50 JD, as were other items which doubled in price. There is a nice small market down the hill from the hotel (to the right hand side) which clearly displayed all the prices and was five times as large, so I would recommend walking 300 meters down the hill. The breakfast was also good with eggs, breads, ham, turkey, yogurt, feta cheese, cucumbers, tomatoes, corn flakes, porridge, orange & lemon tang, coffee, tea, etc.

If the internet had been working properly and the staff more honest, I would (without doubt) have left a higher rating, so this hotel has potential.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva, Spain
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Although the building does not seem very inviting nor attractive, the inside of the hotel is tastefully decorated and brand new, with an ample lobby full of light and sofas where you can have dinner.
Rooms are decorated smartly and in some sort of modern international way. I weould like to point out the incredible big king size bed, enough to sleep in three people. Everything was ultra clean.
Tasty and plentiful breakfast consisting mainly of fresh products and fruit.
Good location in the center of Wadi Musa although as other reviewers have comented, a bit too far from Petra main entrance, actually we always took a taxi (3 dinars each way) to/from Petra since you will have plenty of walking there...
On the overall, for the price it did an excellent job and would recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room, much more beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The owner and staff of Tetra Tree demonstrated an extraordinary measure of hospitality by graciously accommodating my wife who became sick while on a recent tour of the Petra area. They went far beyond expectations in their concern and personal attention to us in our distressing situation.
I hope we have the opportunity to return to this hotel in the future. The hospitality was incredible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Actually, the Tetra Tree is a pretty nice hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean. Did have a problem with our camera charger though. It would only charge in one, and only one outlet in the entire room. Until we found that outlet, it was a near panic considering how many pictures we'd be taking in Petra.

Service was hit and miss. Some guys were really nice, some not as much. Breakfast was pretty good. The omelet station goes a long way to making that a success.

There is a small empty lot across the street for cars. And that actually brings about the biggest problem with the Tetra Tree. Only consider it if you have a rental car or if you don't mind spending 5 JD on taxis every time you leave the hotel. While not actually very far from downtown, after you spend all day walking in Petra (one day we put in 20 miles), the last thing you want to do is walk some more.

If I were going to Petra again, I would try to stay at one of the hotels close to the entrance to Petra. I thought it would be nothing but soulless hotels, there are actually a number of restaurants to keep the area lively, and without the traffic of downtown Wadi Musa. Again, the Tetra Tree is a fine hotel, but a bit too far away from the action for my tastes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel was ok; to be expected at that price. My sheets were dirty and the phone didnt work; but they changed them immediately and appologized (i guess the chambermaid didnt see that they werent well washed!) The wifi worked very well (actually the best connection in jordan!); breakfast was also completely ok. So actually good value for money; pity for the sheets-incident!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Nice hotel!
I stayed only one night and found it clean, mordem with big rooms overlooking the town, the breakfast was really good, friendly and helpful staff! Recommended! 2 JD for a taxi ride to Petra site.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#2 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott Petra Hotel
Marriott Petra Hotel
#12 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amra Palace Hotel
Amra Palace Hotel
#9 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tetra Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tetra Tree Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tetra Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tetra Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tetra Tree Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tetra Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.