We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private tour of Jordan with Wael Salih” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petra World Heritage Site

Petra World Heritage Site
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$456*
and up
3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and...
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A UNESCO World Heritage Site, Petra (ancient capital city of the Nabataean people) recently proclaimed as one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Private tour of Jordan with Wael Salih”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

If you want to see Petra and all that Jordan has to offer in between then Wael Salih, a highly experienced guide and driver is by far the best option. Wael draws on 20 years of tour know how and an extensive network of friends throughout Jordan to offer so much more than transport from A to B. If you want to really experience Jordan, rather than simply go there, this is it.
Wael is an absolute gentleman; courteous, thoughtful and respectful at all times. He is also extremely cheeky and had us laughing our way around his beautiful country.
Petra was obviously our must do item, however we experienced so many more highlights on the way there and back thanks to Wael, which only helped to augment our time in Petra.
I cannot recommend him highly enough. If he's not available when you plan to travel, then change your plans!
Ph: +962 79 6664834
www.waeltours.com
wael@waeltours.com

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,413
    455
    92
    53
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic, incredible - definitely go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The entire Petra site is fantastic. My suggestion is to pre-book a guide. My guide, Mamoun, has done a lot of work at the site on redefining the purpose for it - which has turned some of the long-time thinking upside down. His brother, Zaid, manages the family guiding business. Really worth it. I overheard other guides telling their customers the "old" story of Petra and not the "new" story that has been captured in recent documentaries. Fascinating.
Recommendation: the site opens early (7AM) and I went early so we were the first people into the site. It was great to be there when it was quiet and you could really appreciate it and get some photos that aren't full of strangers.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The best site ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The rocks of Petra are just breathtaking, they look like melted wax of colorful candles. And the silence at sunset when everything turns pink is a gift of nature

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Avoid Mazada Tours !! worst tour company ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We contracted with Mazada Tours for a day trip to Petra, Jordan, including air travel from Eilat to Tel Aviv. Both our tour vouchers and air voucher were messed up twice (wrong dates, wrong info). They quoted us one amount, but billed us over 20% higher (and are not responding to our repeated requests for a refund). Guide was knowledgeable, but didn't know how to control the group, and we ended up wasting about half our 3-hour tour waiting for others to take dozens of pictures or negotiate camel rides.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Petra - the Rose City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had great trip with our guide. We loved the history and majesty of the carvings.The bedouin elder we had tea with was a friendly wonderful man living alone in a cave on a mountain. The donkeys and camels make for some added fun rides....a wee bit hairy. Major dislike was the local carriage owners racing through the narrow siq with cruise ship passengers in a major hurry...Petra cannot be rushed

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petra World Heritage Site also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to Petra World Heritage Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra World Heritage Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.