We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A symphony in stone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petra World Heritage Site

Petra World Heritage Site
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$456*
and up
3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and...
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A UNESCO World Heritage Site, Petra (ancient capital city of the Nabataean people) recently proclaimed as one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A symphony in stone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

It is a place of grandeur and awe, the very concept of the vast monuments carved out of the mountainside with such artistry and precision is fabulous. From the walk through the textures and patterns of the Siq to the first vision of the treasury, Petra fascinates.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,429
    457
    92
    53
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Petra world heritage site in Jordan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My childhood dream my bucket list achieved on visiting Jordan.
We took a horse and carriage on a hair-raising ride , along a narrow twisting tortuous terrain, narrowly avoiding crowds of men,women, and children who walked about 3 miles, to get there.
What a magnificent sight to behold!!
A rose pink towering greco roman edifice majestically forming the entrance to " the Treasury "
Buildt by the Nabotheans, nomadic tribesman who were Arabs that taxed the passing traders along the silk route in the third century BC
The sunlight touching the columns was awe inspiring, due to the changing colours
This is a must on everybody's bucket list

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Petra is a must see. You need a full day at least, start early to beat the crowds. There are many things to see, but the standouts are the Treasury, the old village and even more spectacular was the Monastery at the top of the mountain, the climb is worthwhile. There shops on the way up for a drink and snack, or you can even take a donkey up the hill - if you are game.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must-See site but horrible cruelty to animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Petra ruins are a lot much better in quality of tombs, dimension of the whole site, and beauty of the natural canyon that you can expect, reading any guide or seeing any film. It is spectacular, incredible.

However we could not enjoy it as it deserves. Among the people who live there, bedouins in some way, there are very cruel teenagers: they love, really enjoy beating donkeys and feeling themselves "the masters"; specially if tourists are looking at them. It's even worse if you try to talk with them, asking for stopping. Then they beat the donkey as crazy, not matter that tourist police is just there...

Once we were talking with one young, maybe just 14 years old. He explained: "I am free, I am homeless. You can never rely on a donkey, you have to beat it: look at me! And he went away doing it once and again to show his freedom... his loneliness". What is the future of this young?

Those scenes and the general treatment: keeping them all day tied, with the tiniest rope, under the sun...even with their bloody feets tied... was horrible. We couldn't understand how people could want to ride them?!

We have been in a lot of countries in Asia and Africa with economic and social problems. Places where one can see that life is extremely difficult for people. Places where usually animals conditions are the last worry. However we are not talking about that; this was cruelty and spoiled our visit to Petra.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I highly recommend this site. I would like to go back and spend a few days exploring all the nooks and crannies of this amazing place. There is so much more than just the Treasury.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petra World Heritage Site also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to Petra World Heritage Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra World Heritage Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.