We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Day at Petra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Rashid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al Rashid Hotel to your Saves list
Al Rashid Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tourism Street, Petra - Wadi Musa petra 96, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
New Britain Ct USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Three Day at Petra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed three days at the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful, We left early one morning for Petra and we had a breakfast bag waiting for us at the desk. The room was clean but one day we had to ask for towels.There were no plugs for the bath tub. Any request was met in a reasonable time frame.The first floor not facing the street was requested and it was quiet and close to dining room. The breakfast was fine but no brewed coffee. There are good inexpensive eateries around the corner.Yes it is on a hill on around about but taxis were only two JD and sure was better than walking. Outside the park is new a restraurant TheThree Steps it is very good and the owner was very nice and provided a taxi to the Al Rashid Hotel free if you stay there.The hotel also found us a driver to Amman.Its not the Marriott but in the tourist areas its not inexpensive so I would say this is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laith_Tarabulsi, General Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear 991Traveler ;

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor .
One of our main aims to deliver personalized service to all of our guests.
We are pleased to hear positive feedback which lets us know that we are headed in the right direction.
It was a pleasure to have hosted you at our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best Regards ;
Laith Tarabuls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    92
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
113
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My stay at Al Rashid hotel couldn't have been any better.
For the ridiculous price you pay for a room you get so much more than a roof above your head.
It all starts much ahead of your check-in day when you promptly get contacted by the marvellous staff who's truly committed to provide you the best experience of Petra you can get.
They'll offer you a countless variety of choices that space from organised tours, transportation, tips on restaurants and shopping and they'll do their best to meet your preferences, budget or special needs.
All of this for free, just for their pleasure of making sure that your stay in Jordan will be as smooth and enjoyable as possible.
Needless to say that once at the hotel they'll really start giving their best to make you feel like home.
Just to give an example, when I asked them for some good tip to better experience the local food, they promptly run outside and went by themselves to buy me food in local places where local people grab their dinner.
Doing this they also avoided me to be over-charged for being a tourist. I paid respectively 4JOD and 6JOD for two excellent local meals.
They welcomed me at 5am in the morning and let me stay couple hours beyond the check-out time, and they also provided me a safe and economical ride back to Amman.
Basically they didn't provide me just of a room, they provided me a stunning experience of the beautiful country that Jordan is.
The structure itself is very enjoyable, extremely clean and well connected to the Petra site, WIFI work pretty well, the room is spacious and noises are non-existent.
I can't possibly see a single reason not to stay at this location.

Room Tip: be nice to the staff, explain them your need and your concerns and they'll be more than happy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laith_Tarabulsi, General Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Globetrotter,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel , Staff , Room and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Best Regards
Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Yes, yes, I know it's a one star hotel that costs practically nothing, but my wife and I stayed in similar places all over Turkey and Israel and had better experiences. I'll start with the good though: it's cheap and the staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. We needed a cab to Wadi Rum at 7:30am on a holiday and they came through on almost no notice. When the air conditioner stopped working, the guy at the desk came and worked on it for about 10 minutes to get it going again.

Now the less-than-good: the hotel appears to be very popular with people who like to smoke. The rooms are supposed to be non-smoking, and ours was pretty good, but you can tell that people break this rule constantly. The hallways always had a faint to moderate cigarette stink. Our bathroom also had a faint musty odor to it, which we were unable to pinpoint. The rooms are also not well soundproofed, so we were woken up at night by honking cars and early each morning by the pre-dawn call to prayer.

Finally, there is the location. Walking down to Petra in the morning isn't too bad, but the hike up the hill at the end of the day feels like you're climbing back up to the Monastery. The cabs cost almost nothing, so it's not a big deal, but the hotel is on a busy intersection so you get to listen to traffic all night.

If you are a sound sleeper and not sensitive to smoke, then this place is a fantastic value. We, on the other hand, will stay at the bottom of the hill next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were a group of 8 academics of various ages with various room requirements. The hotel staff accommodated us quickly and efficiently. The rooms were clean, the beds very comfortable with good qaulity bed-linen and we had clean towels each day. The staff could not have been more helpful - even sending a member of staff to buy our picnic lunches as we would have been charged more as tourists. This hotel is excellent value for money. Previously I have stayed in one of the big international hotels near the entrance to Petra - however, even given a much bigger budget, I would opt for this small friendly hotel over the bland anonimity of the more expensive options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laith_Tarabulsi, General Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Janechick ;

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor .
One of our main aims to deliver personalized service to all of our guests.
We are pleased to hear positive feedback which lets us know that we are headed in the right direction.
It was a pleasure to have hosted you at our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards ;
Laith Tarabuls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The staff were immensely helpful and kind. The hotel was clean and very good value for money, especially for a family of five with young and teenage children. I developed a chest infection while there and the staff were very concerned, even making a special tea from local herbs. The rooms were quiet, and far away from the crowds, but within a short taxi ride of the Petra site. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laith_Tarabulsi, General Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Richard E ,

Thank you so much for Strongly recommended which posting from you on TripAdvisor . We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel , Staff and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Regarding the location of our hotel , it is in midtown and far from Petra Gate around 1.5 Km . this location offer for the guests good Local restaurants , shops , Banks ( ATM ) , exchange office , Bakery ... etc and this affects on the price ( easy to get Local Price ) , any way the taxi costs to Petra Gate ( 1.5 ) JOD .

Thank you again and please accept our sincere appreciation

Best Regards
Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed for nights and days and felt at home from the first day. The meals were delicious, the service friendly and to the point. Next time in Jordan we are sure that Al Rashid is going to be on our travelagenda. Thank´s a lot!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laith_Tarabulsi, General Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jenny G,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor.
We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel , Staff , Location and services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Best Regards
Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked based on Trip Advisor reviews and agree that this hotel is great value! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It appears that the rooms/bathrooms were recently remodeled. Very clean, comfy bed, quiet, good breakfast, free Wifi, and cable TV. Five minute drive to entrance of Petra. I have no complaints and only great things to say about our stay at All Rashid!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laith_Tarabulsi, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Jenny G,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Best Regards
Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Rashid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Rashid Hotel

Address: Tourism Street, Petra - Wadi Musa petra 96, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Al Rashid Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Located in the heart of the city our guests can enjoy local Bedouine life and take a stroll through shopping venues, restaurants or cafés. Turkish bath it is only a 1 minute away and different banks, doctors and pharmacies are also just around the corner. • Al Rashid Hotel offers modern rooms with air-condition, heating and Satellite flat-screen TV. All rooms are fitted with comfortable nice furniture and functional private bathrooms with hot water for 24-hours, excellent water pressure, private towels and hairdryer. The rooms have recently been refurbished. • Free Internet Wi-Fi is available in the whole building and in all rooms. • Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner are served daily in our spacious restaurant. Enjoy our local and international meals. • The gate of Petra ruins is just a 10-15 minutes’ walk from the hotel. • Al Rashid offers transportation on low costs over whole Jordan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Al Rashid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Rashid Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Rashid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.