We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value if not looking for height of luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Rashid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Al Rashid Hotel to your Saves list
Al Rashid Hotel
Tourism Street, Petra - Wadi Musa petra 96, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Athens
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent value if not looking for height of luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

El Rashid is located at the heart of Wadi Musa village. Plenty of mini-markets and eateries around. Rooms are pretty basic (dining room up a few notches, breakfast very decent) but service is impeccable. We arrived in the afternoon and asked reception to book us tickets for Petra by Night (a unique experience but immensely popular!) which they did instantly. We stayed for 3 nights and on the second night we were upgraded to a larger room which was made available in the meantime (they moved all our stuff). They offered us a complimentary dinner (very good) and, when we left, they gave us 2 large bottles of water for the road (a fantastic gesture in this hot country - we were setting off on the long journey to Wadi Rum). They let us call our Petra guide on his mobile for free from the reception phone. Receptionists and waiters very friendly and polite, made us feel at home. Only drawbacks: a. It's a 30' walk up and downhill (or a 5' taxi ride) to the entrance of the Petra site (taxis are plentiful and cheap); b. They don't take Visa (only Mastercard): they hadn't told us from the beginning so at checkout we had to rush to the bank (right opposite) to change euros (banks were closing earlier that day, a close call but we finally made it!). Still, we left with the best impressions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    105
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
131
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I arrived at El Rashid without reservations at 3pm and as it was the end of the winter and during the low-season, I was quoted 20 Jordanian dinar per night bed and breakfast and ended up staying for two nights. There’s free wi-fi in the lobby and in the corridors and sometimes in the rooms but the latter’s more intermittent. Crucially, there’s heating during the night (use the air-con) and hot-water is available till 10pm and again in the morning. Very helpful English-speaking staff and they can help organise night tours of Petra and Little Petra (10-15 JD) including taxi hire.

The bathroom was ok though the TV didn’t always work. Good breakfast consists of hummus, ham, eggs and good jam. The bus station was an easy seven-minute walk away and the El Rashid is way preferable to the 12 JD Valentine's Inn up the hill which can be horribly cold and windy during the winter months there. Plenty of amenities nearby including supermarkets, ATM machines, mobile phone top-ups and little eateries and juice stands.

Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We want to tell you our hotel had renovated and upgrade to be 3* stars in JUN/2013 , also this pictures for the hotel before changing , all the service and facility upgrade , the hot water now is 24 Hours .
We look forward to your hospitality in our hotel next time , Welcome you in our hotel

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here for the same price I would get for staying in a hostel, so you really can't beat the price. I paid 30D (shared with another person) so that is only 15JD. My bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The staff are also very nice and the main lobby and dining hall is clean. I also had a free buffet breakfast and free wifi.

I would recommend this as a budget place to stay. It is very close to the shops, restaurants, banks and the 'bus' station. You could walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Views are terrible so you might as well stay on floors closer to the ground floor. I had the power g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

3 of us stayed 2 nights in a triple room. The single beds were big and the room and bathroom were spacious for the price. The room was clean and well air conditioned. The staff were EXTREMELY helpful, organising a free ride to petra visitor centre and giving us free water bottles and good advice on restaurants and Petra. Location is in the centre of town near lots of restaurants and super markets and a very walkable 15 minutes to Petra. Only complaint would be that the shower head couldn't attach to the wall so we had to hand hold it. Excellent value and as young travellers we would reccomend to anyone and will send our friends there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLYOKE, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel owner met me by name at the cab and had someone take in my bags. They worked hard to find an adapter for me since they still have the old style two-prong outlets. The breakfast was solid quality, the bed was firm but comfortable, and everything was very clean. They let me take a very late checkout so I could shower after hiking Petra. I didn't need the a/c, but it worked well. All in all, a surprising amount of quality for a lowly 20JD.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadi Rum, Jordan
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have been in this hotel two weeks ago after I walked around many hotels in the city centre , in fact it was the best one amongst hotels in the city centre located in the heart of the city centre . The rooms were very good , having private path with a/c control unit . I do recommend it for all kind of travellers !

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

You will meet an eclectic crowd at the lobby of this hotel. It is very well located, right at the busiest turnabout in Wadi Musa and the Petra site is one Jordanian dinar away in taxi. There are plenty of food, internet, atm options around and even a hammam closeby in this very sleepy town. The owner is particularly helpful with organizing tickets and trust worthy cab drivers on short notice just when you need them the most. However, the rooms are very ordinary, in fact a bit musty and the TV didn't work while I was there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Rashid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Rashid Hotel

Address: Tourism Street, Petra - Wadi Musa petra 96, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Located in the heart of the city our guests can enjoy local Bedouine life and take a stroll through shopping venues, restaurants or cafés. Turkish bath it is only a 1 minute away and different banks, doctors and pharmacies are also just around the corner. • Al Rashid Hotel offers modern rooms with air-condition, heating and Satellite flat-screen TV. All rooms are fitted with comfortable nice furniture and functional private bathrooms with hot water for 24-hours, excellent water pressure, private towels and hairdryer. The rooms have recently been refurbished. • Free Internet Wi-Fi is available in the whole building and in all rooms. • Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner are served daily in our spacious restaurant. Enjoy our local and international meals. • The gate of Petra ruins is just a 10-15 minutes’ walk from the hotel. • Al Rashid offers transportation on low costs over whole Jordan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Al Rashid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Rashid Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Rashid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.