We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at Al Anbat-Petra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alanbat Hotel 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alanbat Hotel 1 to your Saves list
Alanbat Hotel 1
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alanbat Street | Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at Al Anbat-Petra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for 3 nts-25th to 27 Dec 2013. Single room -very cosy overlooked the pool. Friends were in a Dbl-very large with a sitout overlooking the valley. Rooms were comfortable-with adequate heating. Breakfast and Dinner were buffets in the Restaurant which had large picture windows of the Petra valley . Great scenery and tasty food with a different menu everyday. Service was friendly . Had lost a garment in the laundry. They were able to trace it the next day. Also one of our suitcase lock malfunctioned. The front desk clerk went to his car,retrieved a spanner and broke the lock loose. That was going beyond the call of duty. Location -It is on an incline so walk to downtown was not a problem but to get back you need to cab it -2 JD. No hesitation in recommending Al-Anbat for a pleasant stay.Getting to and fro from Petra site to hotel was prearranged by our travel agent ( Friends Tours) but hotel has a shuttle.

Room Tip: The hotel is built downhill from the roadside.Level 6 in the elevator is actually ground/road level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanbatHotels R, General Manager at Alanbat Hotel 1, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Greetings from Alanbat Hotel
Thank you so much for the lovely review RJS, it was very nice of you to take the time to do that for us
It was a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best wishes
G.M
Raja Alnawafleh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    101
    34
    22
    17
See reviews for
42
85
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I arrived by transport supplied by the hotel, to be greeted by a smile and welcome from Mutaman in reception, also the Manager Raja. They are all multi lingual. That night heavy snow had fallen in the desert and it was freezing. I was offered a drink to warm me, and the smell of food being cooked by a Gourmet Chef, I was asked if I needed specialist foods. My room had a balcony and stunning view of the Petra Valley, snow, stars. The rooms are simply Jordanian, and beautiful.Many places to walk through and the views took my breath away.Christmas trees.Smiling faces of the staff. The spa and pool lit. That night stranded people were given rooms and the storm affected hotel, coped .Marble Walls, traditional seating, eclectic and modern.Roasted desert picnics.The rose gold City of Petra,candle lit evenings. Camels, horses, the Hashemite people the history of what was and is now so special a City.I met some of the family that own the hotel and made welcome.Usually a hot climate turned to snow. I wish to thank the staff all of them and hope you enjoy your holidays as I did,.regards Hilary Hughes..come.Ahlan..welcome.

Room Tip: Book ahead and ask for what you require, and need,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanbatHotels R, General Manager at Alanbat Hotel 1, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you very much for the review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again at some future date.

Kind Regards
G.M Raja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for nights as part of an arranged tour. The hotel has stunning views but is located on the edge of the town so you need transport if you don't want to be stranded there.
Unfortunately it was breezy outside and none of the rooms had any heating. With marble floors and plain walls we were all freezing all the time. We did get an extra blanket but I still slept in my PJs with a fleece and had to wear a hat just to be comfortable.
Some of our group went to use the Turkish bath facilities and it went further downhill from there.....they were left in the steam rom for 45 minutes with no instructions then when it came to the scrub and massage it was a limp affair on a cold marble slab with a window open next to them so a cold impersonal experience was had by all. In fact most of them cut it short as they were freezing (with 1 having an allergic reaction to the scrub) only to find the water pressure was very low so not even able to have a shower to warm up. Even if they had full power the heat of the water was very random so it went from very hot to luke warm in a matter of minutes!
While the food was OK the service was poor and nothing was ever topped up on the buffet without us prompting.
Our toe guide apologised to us for using the hotel and will not be taking any further groups there

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanbatHotels R, General Manager at Alanbat Hotel 1, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us on TripAdvisor or why we did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address these points internally and provide the best solution available to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

We can be in contact with you via email and or threw telephone to make our best attempt in regaining your confidence in our Hotel. In addition, we will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied Guest. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied guest and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed in this great hotel during our trip to Petra and enjoyed it very much.
The staff were warm and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
Our room was big and clean and had a wonderful view and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever had in a hotel!
The food was good and tasty.
We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanbatHotels R, General Manager at Alanbat Hotel 1, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review Rachel , it was very nice of you to take the time to do that for us It was a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel, very, very friendly and helpful staff, good clean rooms, VERY comfy beds, nice clean bathroom, great view over the valley from our room.
We had a Turkish bath at the hotel after our day in Petra and would recommend this to anyone, it's definitely worth it to ease aching muscles after hiking around the ruins. It starts off with 20mins or so in the jacuzzi, then the steam room, a wash/rub down and finally a massage and then jacuzzi again - worth every penny! The meals were excellent as well, we had a buffet one night and the amount and quality of food was first rate. The same goes for the breakfast, a buffet style which wasn't a typical 'English' breakfast, but then we didn't expect that, we were in Jordan after all and want to try a lot of local food and meals - that's one of the reasons for travelling right?

Room Tip: Yes it is out of town a bit, but as per the other reviews, they have a shuttle service. Definitely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanbatHotels R, General Manager at Alanbat Hotel 1, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again at some future date.
Kind Regards
G.M Raja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in Petra, nice swiminning pool, spa (you will enjoy the hammam and the massage) nice view on the city and service perfect... Very welcoming, friendly and helpful people... For sure you will enjoy your stay in this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanbatHotels R, General Manager at Alanbat Hotel 1, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again at some future date.
Kind Regards
G.M Raja Nawafleh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Out of all the hotels we stayed at on this trip, this one was the quietest. Probably helps that it's out of the town center.
The hotel is located up the hill on the main road and has beautiful views down below from the restaurant and balconies.
Very nice and helpful staff who helped us get the most out of our trip to Petra.
The Turkish bath is an excellent way to treat yourself after a long day on your feet exploring the ancient city.
When we first checked in around lunch time we were a little disappointed to find out the restaurant was closed because we really wanted to have our lunch staring at the incredible view. We had coffee instead. Other than that it was an excellent hotel and the best of our 5 days in Jordan.
Many thanks to Muhaman, Raja, and Mohamad

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanbatHotels R, General Manager at Alanbat Hotel 1, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again at some future date.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alanbat Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanbat Hotel 1

Address: Alanbat Street | Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alanbat Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What began as a name for the masters of the caravans more than 2000 years ago has grown into one of the best and most provisional hotel investments in Petra Region. "Alanbat" is the Arabic name of the Nabataeans, the people who carved Petra, early CBC. Settled in southern Jordan 500 BC, they were expert in water planning & carving. Alanbat Hotels Company was founded in the early 80s by Raja O. Alnawafleh and Brothers. As young men we developed a big area and a small building for a campsite and a hotel. We were the first family of local people of Wadi Mousa Town to invest in hotels company and services. We as hotel management have got more than 30 years of experience. Services start with average capacity of 20 poxes; nowadays we have three hotels: Alanbat I (our main location), Alanbat II and Alanbat III. All the new services have been done on our main location to make your visit to Petra and your stay at our hotels amazing and pleasurable. Alanbat hotels can provide you with experienced assistance in getting the most out of your visit to Petra. Our staffs are ready to help you in the soul of Jordanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alanbat Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alanbat Hotel Petra Wadi Musa
Alanbat Hotel 1 Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alanbat Hotel 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.