We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Palestine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Taybet zaman has an aura that is rare to find in any hotel you go to. It is built in an old village style. Staying there separates you from reality and takes you back in time. At the same time, it is a clean hotel and I did not suffer from bugs which is what I would expect at such a warm location. The food is not that good but is ok. Two problems are the unavailability of spare keys and the far distances you need to walk to get to your room. The pool is indoor but there is an area to sunbath. I def recommend that people stay there whenever they are in the area.

Room Tip: I recommend to upgrade your rooms as the upgraded ones are not that expensive and are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    149
    100
    43
    24
See reviews for
82
167
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel and resort needs a good refurnishment. The staff were friendly and helpful.Food choice not of good standard.Very near petra so not too much travelling to the site.Not very good experience so low rating

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

At one time this may have been quite a wonderful place but it is now gritty and run-down. Someone told us that Sofitel had renovated the place a while back and it had been lovely but it has gone to seed. We had booked two nights and that would have okay but we got very sick (food poisoning?). We got out as fast as we could as staying there while ill would have been just too awful. On the up side, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially the wait staff in the dining room.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A very poor experience for a "hotel" / accommodation-offering of any type.
Could be a perfect experience if the attempt was going for "rustic" & "old-world" - BUT that does not mean it has to be totally unclean, inadequate, dilapidated & literally falling apart!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We visited this hotel in April 2014. The premises are tired, rooms are inadequately furnished, our room need some renovation (bathroom, wiring, wall sockets, etc.). In the restaurant we were not offered a la cart menu - looks like there is only buffet, the food choices could be upgraded towards more local variety. Staff requires better training at least in general politesse. Finally there is NO WiFi anywhere except in the reception and the restaurant. This does not constitute a five-star hotel by any measurement!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We heard so much of this place & as part of our Pilgrimage voyage, we spent a night here in this 100 year old cottage turned into a hotel. We had our first middle eastern cuisine underneath a rock restaurant & the place is already cold & need not have any air conditioning.
As we walked out to our single storey cottage - to our room, we have to wear thick clothings as
the cold night air can bite into your skin, The room is very large . Amenities & Facilities were good
& we have a good night sleep as we were dead tired after travelling non stop for about 24 hours without any sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place makes you travel away from all work pressure and life load. Great choicefor families and groups, you feel home in every spot in Tybet Zaman. Very friendly staff, and very close managent supervising. John Rick

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Address: PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taybet Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Taybet Zaman Resort
Taybet Zaman Hotel And Resort Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.