We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Paris, France
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Serviceable but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The concept of the hotel is good (a converted village) that is a 15 minute drive to Petra. There's nothing you can walk to. The rooms are spacious and clean but ours was very musty and the shower had luke warm water at best.

Dinner is a big buffet that is ok with plenty of options. Wifi only in the lobby. Room did have a safe. Note that the rooms are outfitted with British electrical outlets. There was just one European-style outlet in the bathroom that we could use to charge our phone/camera.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    140
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
78
151
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is an old village converted into a hotel. The rooms are large (since they were old houses). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, but somewhat limited. We just enjoyed walking around the property since it had a very old feel to it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This was one of three hotels booked by our travel agents while staying in Jordan. It was the one we were most looking forward to but turned out to be very mediocre. The staff didn't appear too concerned about much, especially not about the clients. Our first room was so cold, the wind gusting through both door and window, we were told it was repaired whilst we were out for the day. When we got to the room it was exactly the same, so we demanded another room. The man on reception just lied. The food was a huge disappointment, with very little taste, overcooked or just plain awful. There were no 'handicraft' shops, the Turkish bath was a fairly quick affair, in and out within 45minutes. This was obviously the place to be some years ago but not anymore.
It requires money being spent to upgrade the rooms to the 21st century (no tea/coffee making facilities is just one of the things that comes to mind. The whole place has a look of 'its seen better days. Such a shame ad it could have been really good

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The room we stayed in was not very comfortable, though it was fairly large. Beds were lumpy and old, bath was small, clean enough, but not great. The restaurant was better. We had good food at the buffet, lots of choices and helpful service. We were staying here before our visit to Petra, and as a quick layover, it wasn't terrible. I wouldn't want to say here for several days though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Taybet Zaman hotel. On the whole, the hotel is far from the 5 stars announced by Jordan Tourist agency...

Located 10km away from Petra site entrance, the hotel is not indicated in Petra. There is even a major mistake on Petra information boards with a wrong location. But Jordan nationals are very kind, friendly and guide you very well: to get there, take the road to Aqaba and it will be indicated on a very small sign ~2km after Mariott hotel. On the road, you have a very nice view of Petra site from near the Police station.

The environment of the hotel is nice (actually an old traditional village that was rehabilitated) in a quiet area. You sleep well.

The overall impression when you arrive is good. Employees look a bit "amateurs" but are smiling and friendly.

The standard room (124 Euros) is large, equipped with TV, safe box and minibar but no Wifi. The bathroom is average (actually very basic) and toilets were leaking.

Buffet diner (15 Euros) offers a good/very good starter, but average main courses. The least advise is to avoid the fish... Breakfast (included in room rate) is average. Staff in restaurant is confusing between the ones in uniform and the others in casual.. But everybody is smiling and kind.

Hamman (20 Euros each) is starting only upon request (30 minute wait) and is basic/average. Staff is smoking inside the hammam...

To conclude with, a bit disappointing despite a nice environment, and a bit expensive (~ 200 Euros per day) for what you get in the end.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had booked 2 rooms at Beit Zaman resort in Petra, Jordan, through Agoda, for the period from 29/dec/13 to 1/Jan/14 and had paid the whole amount.
However when we reached Beit Zaman hotel from Dead Sea on 29 Dec; our reservation vouchers were not honored, we were transferred to their sister concern hotel Taybet Zaman, which is far away from the city centre. Although the hotel claims to be 5 star category; it can not even be ranked as 3 star. The facilities are very basic -
1. The hotel is very far away from Petra; more than 10 km.
2. There is no shuttle service from hotel to Petra
3. There is no curtain inside the room.
4. The doors are old and rotten; the keys don't work properly
5. There is no variety of breakfast; for 3 days the breakfast was menu was same.
6. The service was poor; there was not even complimentary water available in the room. We had to repeatedly request the hotel reception to provide us Tea/Coffee maker in the room.
7. The bathtub did not have water stop.
8. The restaurant is far away, it is very inconvenient to reach the restaurant during winter night.
9. They presented a wrong bill while checking out; we had never used the Gala Dinner on New Year eve but were presented with the bill. Later they apologized by stating that it might be human error; this is not expected from a 5 Star hotel.
10. The staff at reception are inefficient; there was no coordination between the staff during change of shifts.
11. The toilets are cold.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel - Movenpick (opposite of Petra Gate), Petra Guest House, Crowne Plaza (onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks,Kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of our trip to Petra and Wadhi Musa. We arrived tried and footsore from the wonders of Petra to find our room was freezing cold, the door did not fit by about 3/4 inch all the way round and a howling gale was blowing. We booked to use the steam room for 5.30 turned up and was told it would not be ready until 6.00 we returned and the steam room was just about okay but the rest of hammam was freezing - there was five of us and we all got the briefest rub down and then sent back to the steam room, the water in the shower was tepid. We has supper which was nothing to right home about and retired to our room and went to bed because we were freezing. The next morning it was too cold to use the shower room and there was no heating and again the water was only tepid.

This could be a beautiful hotel with stunning views and it desperately needs money spending on it and facilities enhancing - would not recommend in the winter which is the best time to see Petra and its glories.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else - our excellent tours operators Eco Tours said they get more complaints about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Address: PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taybet Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Taybet Zaman Resort
Taybet Zaman Hotel And Resort Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.