We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting concept but not a good reality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Monroe, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting concept but not a good reality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The description is fascinating but the reality is disappointing. A walk around the hotel is nice because the rooms are all located along narrow walkways the meander around the property. I think there is potential but the downturn in tourism has hampered this hotel. The rooms are interesting but basic and the air conditioning is adequate if the temperatures are not too high. On the plus side the food at the restaurant was wonderful. Breakfast was a little hectic and the egg chef was having a hard time keeping up with the demand. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    139
    84
    40
    19
See reviews for
78
150
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Only thing really nice about the hotel was that it is built on the ruins of an old village - the exterior is beautiful (e.g. walkways, the interior of the restaurant) and because of that there is a nice ambience.
BUT, it is definitely NOT 5 star by any means (not the facilities, restaurant and definitely not our room) - compared to international standards, and even compared to the 5-star Movenpick at Petra where we stayed for 2 nights (after Taybet Zaman), or the 4-star Best Western Hotel in Madaba where we stayed for 3 nights.
The rooms are very basic (3star) and poorly (old - what you would find in a 3 star) decorated and bathrooms poorly maintained and equipped (1 shower didnt work and it was dirty). No water, no bar fridge, no kettle or tea/coffee facilities and wifi is poor and not available everywhere. The food (dinner and breakfast) was 3-star as well.
We stayed there because there was an over-booking at our hotel in Dana village and our driver recommended the place. I would not recommend it to our friends unless they downgrade their starts, or upgrade their food and rooms

Room Tip: If you book in advance ask for the best room and view of the mountains (back facing the street). If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Taybet Zaman was built on a ruins of an old village. Its a nice location but a bit away from the heart of Petra city. While we had only used the hotel for one nights sleep and had a driver to pick us up next early morning it was convenient.

Rooms- The rooms are typical village layout/setting. What we didnt like is that the toileteries like Shampoo/Body lotion etc were used and were not new.

Food - The food was simply amazing and the spread decent.

Service - We were up at 5 am and found that the tea/coffee maker in the room did not have a creamer.so we tried callign the reception desk and house keeping for almost over an hour but no one answered. Finally we went to the reception woke the reception guy and told him that we want the creamer. He was not very helpful and suggested politely that the breakfast starts at 630 am.

So we went to the breakfast area and the chef very promptly helped us with tea/milk. As it was almost 630 by then we also had breakfast. Service/attentiveness of staff other than the chef needs improvement in my opinion.

We were booked here as Beit Zaman (their group hotel in the Petra city was full). While i may not be able to comment on other hotels in Petra, the Taybet Zaman wasnt upto our expectation

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon and were enchanted by the layout of the resort. We went to our room to leave our luggage before exploring the resort and taking advantage of the sunset over the mountains. Our enchantment was soon lost as we heard the extremely noisy air conditioner. We went to the front desk with our complaint and were told an engineer would come and fix the problem. So, we proceeded to explore and loved what we saw. Upon returning to our room, the noise was not as loud. Our unit would not have been accommodating had we shown any signs of being handicapped as the interior floor followed the downward curve of the hill on which it sat. Upon entering, there was a couch. Steps wound up and around to the bed on the right and steps wound down and around the hill to the left to the bathroom. The bathroom was extremely pokey. If you turned the tap on full, the water shot out on to the floor. The toilet refilled with a loud prolonged whining sound.

We were impressed with the excellent buffet in the dining room and the alcoves set with the tables. A wonderful atmosphere, We went to bed looking forward to our next day in Petra. Well, like some other guests, I became very ill and spent the night listening to the loud whine of the toilet. ( I have travelled all over the world and this was my first time of falling ill). And, the air conditioner reverted to its noisy mode and finally stopped working altogether. Now the room was unbearably hot so we opened the porthole type windows but they caught little wind. A day in Petra was not looking good. Fortunately the second guest in the room was not afflicted.

It was not until later when I reviewed the hotel's website that I saw photos of units with beautiful flat floors and roomy bathrooms. This was not a five star resort based on our experience in our "room" full of stairs and with such a small noisy bathroom.

In retrospect we should have requested another room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was built on the ruins of an old village on the side of a mountain. Rooms were small cottages, some with private courtyards, all different configurations. Charming. Amazing sunset, romantic moon, and singing roosters to wake you in the am. All good.
Showed wear, but charm and good service won us over. Wish we could have stayed another night. We were on a Petra tour, and left after breakfast the next morning.
Our room was comfortable, clean, and large. Food was average, staff very friendly and helpful. But five stars for the opportunity to live on the mountain for a day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Taybet Zaman during Ramadan (by coincidence, not design) I was with my two children and some friends.

After a long HOT day at Petra (totally worth it - and the $10 beer I bought just outside the "park" was ice cold and, at the time, seemed like the best beer I had ever had) - Taybet Zaman was an inviting oasis. The hotel is laid out like an old walled city - one could get a little lost wandering around - which is OK, because there you will still be on the grounds of the hotel.

The rooms are HUGE - nice bonus. The bathroom is also large - the shower was a bit of a challenge - left water a bit all over - but the water was hot and the pressure was good. They also have a full range of bath products - including the obligatory dead sea cream. The view from our room was breathtaking. We went outside to watch the sunset - it was like something out of a movie - spectacular.

Staff was very friendly - food was decent - not fabulous. We celebrated my birthday there and had a bottle of surprisingly decent wine - made in Jordan.... then we had the obligatory Arak (sp?) Can't say it's tasty, but one must try :-)

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour. I liked my room which was very big. There was an excellent pool which looked very inviting and the staff was very friendly and efficient.

Unfortunately, I wasn't very well during my stay here and neither was a friend of mine. I'm not sure whether it was the cooking at the hotel but it was odd that we both fell ill after arriving here, having been perfectly well during our stay in Amman. I am not attributing our health to this hotel at all but am recording it in case other travellers felt the same.

Having said that, the breakfast buffet was extensive as was the evening meal buffet that we had.

Great news: Wifi was free in the lobby

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Address: PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taybet Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Taybet Zaman Resort
Taybet Zaman Hotel And Resort Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.