We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wi-fi and relatively close to Petra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
London
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Free wi-fi and relatively close to Petra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour. I liked my room which was very big. There was an excellent pool which looked very inviting and the staff was very friendly and efficient.

Unfortunately, I wasn't very well during my stay here and neither was a friend of mine. I'm not sure whether it was the cooking at the hotel but it was odd that we both fell ill after arriving here, having been perfectly well during our stay in Amman. I am not attributing our health to this hotel at all but am recording it in case other travellers felt the same.

Having said that, the breakfast buffet was extensive as was the evening meal buffet that we had.

Great news: Wifi was free in the lobby

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    148
    100
    43
    24
See reviews for
82
166
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at Taybet Zaman this past summer. The experience had the potential to be as wonderful as Petra, but, alas, was not. This is wholly and exclusively the fault of the front desk personnel at Taybet Zaman. We were there during a Muslim holiday, which we did not know when we planned our holiday, but which should not have mattered. Because of the holiday, the post offices were closed. Because of that, there were no postcard stamps at the facility. Unaware of this, our children had written over 20 postcards to send to friends and family. When we inquired about stamps, the front desk manager told us that there were none, and HE OFFERED to hold the postcards, take enough money for the stamps, and mail them for us as soon as the holiday ended. We accepted his offer IN JULY. To this day, and after multiple unanswered emails to the property, NOT ONE of the postcards has arrived. As I noted, they offered to do this, we did not force them to or even ask them to. We simply accepted their offer. This dishonesty is unfortunate because the property was lovely, the dinners delicious and the location great. But, there is no excuse for this and there is no excuse for not answering emails, for which I have "read receipts." So, this would have been a much better review, but for the dishonesty of the property personnel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very puzzling resort. We visited in what is substantially low season, so there were not many guests around. It is clear that, when this structure was built and thought out, it was very well designed. It is a really characterful place, a bit far away from Petra itself, but looking over some very scenic hills. Its restaurant is good and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are spacious, even the standard ones, and well presented. Unfortunately the decor is a bit outdated (including a list of phone numbers mentioning the USSR, for instance - not the time of timetravel you expect to do in Petra). But when there was an issue with our shower, the staff was very helpful and efficient in changing everything straight away.
Although the place is perhaps no longer a luxury hotel, it is certainly worth considering because of its location and style - have a look at the pictures and decide for yourself if you prefer yet another standard resort or if you want something a bit different.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is a short drive from the Rose Red City, but located above it. Driving there you can stop and view the city from above, although you may need someone who knows what they are looking for to point it out. The village hotel is magical, and the staff usually very. Helpful and friendly. Lovely small pool. The rooms are comfortable and unusual but may have some " quirks": these are all part of the experience, and need to be taken as such. Small interesting shopping mall, good food with plenty of variety. Fabulous sunset views, and also overlooks the pasture where the Petra horses come after a hard days's work. Highly recommended after four visits as group leaders with Biblical Pilgrimage Groups, and a fifth booked for 2014. Most of the group need to be able bodied to handle the variety of levels and steps.

Room Tip: Ask to be near Reception if you find steps difficult, but if not leave these rooms for the less abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The minute I arrived at the hotel, I felt relaxed. It is quiet, and had a village feel and has a warm and cozy atmosphere. I think it would be perfect for guests like myself who live in the city and want to get away from the maddening crowd. The rooms are spaciously laid out and plenty of cushions and sofa areas to chill out. I wished I could have stayed more than just one night that my group had for this trip. There is not much entertainment so if you are the type who needs a vibrant nightlife, then this is not for you. Most people would find this place picturesque and comfortable enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I do recommend staying here, purely for the unique aspect of the resort. The resort is beautiful and I loved that it was an old village turned into a hotel. The rooms are probably one of the most interesting I've stayed in and while nothing fancy they were comfortable and very clean. Overall the staff did their best to ensure you enjoyed your stay. However, I found the management team to be lazy and uninterested. One night I sat in the bar for 10 minutes before being waited on. I was the only person there and the manager watched me walk in. A few minutes later 2 other managers walked in and they proceeded to drink juice and walk Arab Idol. It's really sad, so much could be done with this resort to make it truly an amazing place but it seems the management would rather watch TV.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed there while visiting Petra, and we were very excited about it after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel is in an old village in a very beautiful location, although a good 20 minutes drive from Petra ruins and impossible to get to if you don't have a car... The rooms, in stone houses, are clean and big.
However, we were quite disappointed, as the hotel was a bit dead. There was not many people and the facilities were very tired, it was like being in a ghost town... We could feel the former glory of the hotel, and there are framed amazing reviews at reception which date back from the 90s, but it is now in serious need of updating! I think this was a Sofitel hotel at some point, but this is no longer the case...
The bathroom was in need of renovation and the swimming pool area (bar, gym, etc) , with broken umbrellas, dirty pool, closed. The food at the restaurant is not great either.
One man at reception was very helpful and gave us some great tips and advice about the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Address: PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taybet Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Taybet Zaman Resort
Taybet Zaman Hotel And Resort Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.