We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but accommodation is basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Petra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Petra Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 70, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
USA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but accommodation is basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed a night here. Nit is located next to the entrance to Petra. The room is big, but it is not kept clean. We had to change a pillow because the pillow case was dirty. Only one sink. No face towels. The room does not smell clean. Food is OK. We had dinner there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    178
    162
    62
    28
See reviews for
78
153
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nice pool, good Location, ok staff, ok breakfast, ok Price. Very average. We came here after an over priced night at their Partner's Rock Camp and were satisfied with what we paid for. However, to be on low season, in an underdeveloped Country, they should offer a bit more for what you pay.

Internet only in the Lobby.

Outside completely refurbished, inside would Need the same.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel happily accommodated an early check-in and helped with our special requests. The whole hotel is a bit tired and shabby, and musty smells abound, but with the AC on and a bed to sleep in, I wasn't going to complain for the good rates. The staff were all very friendly and the pools were great to use in the heat of the afternoon. Definitely recommend if you can't afford the more expensive Movenpick, and don't want to stay in the rather dodgy cheap hotels or hostels.

We had several issues what were quickly addressed (dirty shower curtain, broken toilet, broken sink), which we appreciated. Breakfast was sufficient, if unimaginative.

The big pro is close proximity to the entry gate to Petra and the Movenpick's ice cream cafe. :) Eat at the Red Cave Restaurant for cheap but tasty fare.

One big con is the haze of cigarette smoke you have to wade through to get to the elevators, but this is Jordan, so I get over it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the lower, heated pool, which is right off the dining room. A room off of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is a few minutes walk from the entrance to Petra. It has two swimming pools, which are wonderful after a long, hot day! Staff were helpful and friendly. There is free wifi in the lobby, but not in rooms. My pool facing room was clean, had obviously been "refreshed" recently, although the fittings were not new. The bed was very comfortable and the room provide everything one needs. Breakfast was varied and tasty. Above all, the hotel offers excellent value for money. do not expect 5 star luxury - this is a 3 star hotel, but is comfortable and adequate in all respects.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Strangely, the tour group aplogised for this hotel in advance, but it turned out to be the nicest I stayed in, in Jordan. It's close to the Petra entrance, and right near useful shops and eateries. I really liked the white decor after the very dark colours of the "posher" hotels. It's no more tired than any other place I stayed in, including a 4* hotel in Aqaba.

The breakfast was disappointing, but I found nice stuff in the small adjacent supermarket. The upstairs pool was COLD but I could look out of the bedroom and see it - made such a pleasant relaxing view.

Room Tip: The floor with the outdoor pool has the most relaxing view over the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring Petra. It was only 5 minutes walk to the entrance of Petra. There were numerous restaurants around and a few shops. The included breakfast was mediocre at best but it filled the need. The pool was nice - albeit cold - after a long day of exploring Petra. Hotel is in the shape of a horseshoe so all rooms overlook the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was one of four hotels we stayed in during our trip to Jordan - and ranks fourth !!! While the location is really good the hotel itself is tired and dated and in need of a good makeover. The staff do not make eye contact.- when you walk into the hotel, the staff on reception put their heads DOWN. Carpets in passage ways badly in need of replacing, as is pretty much everything else. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location, but just one little smile from a member of staff would have been very welcome !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Palace Hotel

Address: PO Box 70, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petra Palace is located on the main touristic road, 200 meters from the main entrance to the archeological site of the rose-red city of Petra. The hotel is classified as a three star deluxe hotel featuring 180 fully air-conditioned rooms, all with private bathrooms, bathtubs, hairdryer, free toiletries, mini bars, satellite television and a 24 hour movie channel. The rooms are warmly decorated and overlook either Petra mountains or the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Petra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Palace
Petra Palace Wadi Musa
Petra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.